One good-looking bowl

I was right- my oatmeal DID taste better this morning in this pretty bowl!

As an art teacher, I happen to have a few very talented co-workers that make and sell pottery. I have acquired a lot of mugs and bowls over the last few years and I use them every day!

My basic overnight oats mix includes:

1/4 c. oat bran (Bob’s Red Mill)

1/4 c. oats (Country Choice Organic Multigrain)

1/2 T chia

1/4 c. salt free 1% cottage cheese (Friendship brand)

1/4- 1/2  c. unsweetened Vanilla almond milk (this happened to be Trader Joe’s bran)

1/4-1/2 c. water

a little cinnamon, pure bourbon vanilla extract and stevia

a few slices of fruit (I used banana and peach)

Mix all ingredients together in a bowl. Cover and place in the fridge overnight.

In the morning, I usually hydrate the mix a little more (with either water or almond milk) so that it’s perfect by the time I get to work.

Toppings today included a bit of crumbled single-serving coconut/peanut flour protein (recipe to follow) muffin, along with a few slices of peach and banana, and of course, peanut flour sauce (equal parts peanut flour/almond milk). This keeps me full for a long time, which is great, because I don’t get a chance to eat again for almost 5 hours!

*********

I know that there are a million different versions of this recipe out there in the blog world, but this is how I do it (and I say “about” a lot, because I roughly measure everything:

Single-serve protein muffin

2 T any kind of flour (I used 1 T of Coconut and 1 T of Peanut flour)

1/2 T oat bran

1 T pumpkin puree or unsweetened applesauce

about 2-3 T egg whites

about 1-2 T milk (dairy or non-dairy)

about 1/2 tsp baking powder

tiny pinch of salt

sweetener of choice, if desired (I find that coconut flour and peanut flour don’t really need it)

Spray a tiny bowl or ramekin (about the size of a muffin) with canola oil and pour in the mixture. Microwave for 2 minutes.

Sometimes I mix in a few slice of strawberry or some blueberries, nuts… whatever. It’s also great to top these guys off with a little Greek yogurt and/or nut butter. And I must say- I LOVE coconut flour (I use Bob’s Red Mill). It makes the muffin so fluffy and tasty! I’m definitely on a coconut kick in general – whether it’s in the form of oil, butter, milk, ice cream, water, flour, or just plain. It’s highly underrated!

3 Comments on “One good-looking bowl”

  1. […] no idea for the Greek yogurt- something with silken tofu, maybe??), especially since I use it in my Overnight Oats every morning. I use crumbled firm tofu (Twin Oaks) all the time for different vegan salads, and […]

  2. […] the chocolate protein muffin, I followed the basic recipe that I always use, but added 1 T of cocoa powder and 1/2 T of dairy-free chocolate chips (Almond […]

  3. […] a BIG protein muffin (made with buckwheat and coconut flour- basically doubling the recipe) cut in half and stuffed with […]


I love hearing your feedback! Feel free to leave a comment. :)

