Dinner for one

Greg had his fantasy football draft tonight, so I was solo for dinner. I pretty much always make the same thing when I’m cooking dinner for just me: breakfast! And it almost always includes a frittata. I usually don’t crave savory breakfasts, but I LOVE savory breakfasts for dinner! And I made something sweet, too. šŸ™‚

 

(I actually took a bunch of photos outside since it stopped raining for all of 5 minutes, and then realized I didn’t have a memory card in the camera. NICE.)

I served the frittata on a bed of salad greens. The “sweet” was vegan bread pudding. I’ve never, ever made bread pudding before, and loosely based this off of a recipe I found on Whole Foods’ site (except that recipe used eggs instead of tofu). I had some silken firm tofu that had just expired (it was still good) so I wanted to use it up. It actually turned out to be delicious!

Mixed Vegetable Frittata

1 egg + 1 egg white

a splash of milk

2/3 c. assorted vegetables (I used zucchini, yellow squash, onion, mushroom, sun-dried tomatoes and heirloom tomato)

a pinch of garlic, salt, pepper and parmesan

cooking spray or olive oil

Preheat oven to 400. Chop up vegetables, sautee in a pan over medium heat. Meanwhile, whisk egg and egg white and add in a splash of milk, salt, pepper and garlic in a bowl. When vegetables start to brown slightly, add them to the egg mixture. Spray the pan with more cooking spray and pour the contents of the bowl into it. Sprinkle parmesan cheese on top, evenly. Place the pan in the oven and cook for about 10 minutes, or until cooked evenly all the way through (the middle will be firm).

I like to top mine with salsa or fresh herbs.

*********************************

Vegan Raisin Bread Pudding

3 oz Firm Silken Tofu (I used Mori-Nu brand “Lite”)

1 T pureed pumpkin

1 tsp vanilla extract

1/2 tsp cinnamon

sweetener of your choice (I used about 1/4 tsp stevia and about 1/2 tsp agave nectar)

2 slices of Ezekiel Cinnamon Raisin Bread

1 tsp chopped walnuts

Preheat oven to 375. Blend the first 5 ingredients in a food processor or blender until smooth. Cut the bread into cubes (about 12 cubes per piece). Mix the bread, tofu mixture and chopped walnuts into a bowl until evenly coated. Spray a small bowl or ramekin with cooking spray and transfer the bread mixture into it. Cover with aluminum foil and bake for 30 min. (I used my Cuisinart convection toaster oven and this temp/time worked perfectly).

I topped my bread pudding with a little almond butter and pear butter… and maybe a spoonful or two of vanilla ice cream. šŸ™‚

One Comment on “Dinner for one”

  1. janetha says:

    Yum! Both the sweet and savory components look delicious. Oh boy.. fantasy football šŸ˜‰


I love hearing your feedback! Feel free to leave a comment. :)

