Wannabe Vegan

I love Vegan cooking. I love to make Vegan dishes and eat Vegan food. I would totally go Vegan if I didn’t like to eat meat, eggs and dairy so much. 🙂

I don’t know what it is about Vegan cooking that I love so much- I guess it’s the emphasis of using plant-based foods for everything that makes it so interesting to me. I love the colors and flavors and versatility of vegetables that really gets me. I also love legumes and everything that you can do with them. I feel like I’m so much more creative when I cook vegan- and my food turns out so pretty because of the fact that it’s plant-based.

I have a good friend named Brie that is Vegan. She tells me about all kinds of stuff- and we have those kinds of conversations about food that our eyes light up and we can’t talk fast enough. We swap recipes and tips and ideas. I love when her and her hubby come over for a pot-luck dinner, as she always makes some kind of creative meatless dish. And I love cooking for them- it’s just a fun challenge to see what you can come up with when you eliminate animal products. Brie introduced me to this book and I LOVE it! I have a number of great vegetarian/vegan cookbooks, but this is my go-to.

A few weeks ago, Brie invited my to go see Wicked! at the Kennedy Center with her because her hubby couldn’t go. What an AWESOME show! We were going to stop and grab lunch on the way and just eat it in the car (since it was about a 40 min drive to DC from where we met up in Gaithersburg), but of course, I seized the Vegan cooking opportunity and offered to make lunch. I had some Twin Oaks tofu in my fridge and thought that making some sort of wrap would be perfect for an “on-the-go” meal. I decided to turn the tofu into a Vegan tuna salad kind of thing. I didn’t have any Veganaise, but easily made my own (the recipe was also in the Vegan Substitutes book). It was really flavorful and had an awesome texture!

As I was debating what to pack last night for today’s lunch, I decided to make the same tofu salad. Instead of putting it in a wrap, I used a toasted Multigrain sandwich thin from Trader Joe’s. (I also had a big veggie salad that I didn’t photograph.)

You can add whatever you would normally put in tuna salad to this recipe, but this is what I used:

Vegan tuna salad (serves 2)

6 oz. firm tofu (crumbled)

2 T veganaise (or other mayo substitute)

about 1/4 c. plum tomato and onion, chopped

dill

garlic

salt

pepper

a squeeze of lemon juice

Combine all ingredients listed above.

 

My “something sweet” after lunch was a cup of this:

It’s cold in my classroom, so this was a great little warmer-upper! I loooove Teecino. The Vanilla Nut Flavor is my favorite, but the Chocolate is great, too (as well as Hazelnut). It’s a great coffee alternative and brews just like tea! And I brewed it in my awesome mug that I got in Vancouver during our honeymoon (I needed a mug big enough to fit my oats in while we were away!).

I love hearing your feedback! Feel free to leave a comment. :)

