Smoothie Kind of Morning

Hard to believe it’s been 10 years since 9.11.01. Everyone remembers where they were when they found out about the twin towers and Pentagon. I was a senior in college and living on campus as an R.A. Not hard to believe at that time in my life, but I was actually asleep when it happened. I was woken up by my my calling on the phone and telling me to turn on the news. I remember the sense of community that everyone on campus had during that time and a big group of us driving to the Red Cross to donate blood, only to be turned away 5 hours later because there were too many volunteers. I know that on this day (and every day) it’s important to reflect back on whatever we learned from that day and be grateful for our freedom.

********************************************

Started off the morning teaching spin class, which I’m counting as one of my 3 days of intense workouts each week. When I teach, I actually work out a lot harder than I do when taking a class.

The workout this morning consisted of:

10 min. dynamic stretching, jumping jacks, etc. to warm up

2100 meter row (about 10 min.)

50 min. teaching spin

20 min. STRETCHING and FOAM-ROLLING (which I HATE)

Proud of myself for actually taking adequate time to stretch. I usually am in such a hurry that I take no more than 2 or 3 minutes. That is definitely changing!

When I came home, I was actually not in the mood for oatmeal, or anything hot for that matter. So, I made this:

Strawberry, rhubarb and spinach smoothie:

1 packet Jay Robb Strawberry protein powder

handful of frozen spinach

handful of frozen strawberries

handful of frozen rhubarb

about 1/4 frozen banana

water + ice

Blend away!

I rarely ever eat smoothies for breakfast because while they fill me up quickly, I don’t stay full for long (same goes for cereal)! Janetha had me thinking about a cereal-smoothie bowl from her blog post the other day, so that’s what I threw together.

I bought these dish towels/makeshift placemats for about $1 at Target yesterday. The other set has tomatoes- so cute!

Smoothie is topped with cereal, some of the PB Puffs from the other day, strawberries and a bit of almond butter. Vitamins on the side. 🙂

The dogs kept watch over the backyard while I ate.

It was delicious (and tart!), but two hours later, I’m already hungry again!! Hoping my coffee will tide me over until lunch time.

Time to go run more errands and enjoy this beautiful day!

I love hearing your feedback! Feel free to leave a comment. :)

