That’s freekeh.

What a BEAUTIFUL afternoon! So happy to leave work today and see that the sun was out (I don’t have any windows in my classroom)!

I came home and dug into some Skyr. I don’t know if this is Whole Foods brand (it’s not 365) but I’ve only ever seen it there. It’s not as good as Siggi’s, but it’s a little cheaper in price.

Topped with some sliced banana and crumbled Go Raw Sunflower Flax Snax, empty container on the side.

I always buy plain yogurt because I think the flavored ones just taste way too sweet. I add in my own fruit or sweetener or both, and my favorite “flavor” is French vanilla-lemon-banana.

Ingredients:

Per 6-7 oz. container of yogurt or skyr, I mix in about 1/4 of mashed RIPE banana, one packet of french vanilla stevia (or maybe a little less depending on just how ripe the banana is) and a FEW drops of Lemon extract (it’s powerful- be careful!). I LOVE this combination!

After snack time I took Jackson for a 4.5 mile walk around the old neighborhood. He was such a good boy and it felt so good to be out in the sunny 80 degree weather!

********************************************

Tonight, meatless Monday made a comeback. I had planned on making Mediterranean Lentil Meatballs that I had seen in Mama Pea’s cookbook, but unfortunately I left the book at work. So, I winged it and just made Italian “meatballs” using lentils. They turned out pretty good- AND we finally got to eat dinner out on our patio!

(Taking advantage of decent natural light…)

Italian Lentil “Meatballs”

2 c. cooked lentils (I used french)

1 small onion

5 small white mushrooms

4 sun-dried tomatoes

1 clove chopped garlic

1/4 c oat bran

1/2 tsp sea salt + black pepper

1 T oregano

about 1 tsp of the following: onion powder, thyme, marjoram, red pepper flake

1/2 T nutritional yeast

2 T Veganaise

Pre-heat oven to 375. Cook onion and mushroom in a pan (or roast in oven) until soft. Combine with lentils sun-dried tomatoes and garlic clove in food processor until blended well. Transfer to a bowl and mix in the rest of the ingredients. Form into small balls (about the size of 2 T) and place on a cookie sheet (coated with spray). Bake for about 10 min, then turn, and bake for 10 more min or until cooked through (should be a little mushy in the middle and golden brown outside). 

I served these on top of FREEKEH (aka my new favorite grain!!), grilled squash and eggplant, marinara sauce, and topped it all of with mozzarella-style Almond milk cheese (which has rennet and is the only thing that kept this dish from being vegan).

It was AWESOME.

All plated up:

Served with some Celestial Seasonings Black Cherry Berry tea and good ol’ Virginia wine (’07 Fabiolli Reserve Cab). The wine begged to be paired with a few squares of Green & Black’s dark chocolate for dessert.

********************************************

I start teaching my new Tuesday morning spin class tomorrow (I traded it for my Friday 5:15 am class), which means I have to be up at 4:30 and outta the house about 10 min. later. Hope the stupid Bachelor Pad finale doesn’t suck me in!

One Comment on “That’s freekeh.”

  1. […] As I mentioned a few weeks ago, I recently discovered the grain freekeh. I noticed it popping up in the bulk bins at my co-op with a big “Try me I’m new!” sign, so of course I had to. At the risk of sounding like a total tool, I have to say: it was love at first bite. If you’re not familiar with freekeh yet, I’m sure you will be soon. I have a feeling that it will be the new black (or maybe I should say, the new quinoa). It’s got a texture similar to brown rice and a somewhat nutty flavor. It’s super high in fiber and protein and low in calories and everything else that you want a food to be low in. I’ve only had it in pure grain form, but apparently it’s also made into flour, burgers, crackers and all kinds of good things. Yes, I’m in love. […]


I love hearing your feedback! Feel free to leave a comment. :)

