Whole Foods makes me broke

I love Whole Foods. I think it is the grocery store of grocery stores. There isn’t a single food item that I need that I can’t find there. The produce section is always beautiful, the meat and seafood section is of the highest quality and has so much variety and the cheese selection is awesome. The only problem is, there isn’t one in my town!

I probably go to Whole Foods every 2-4 weeks. It’s about a 50+ mile trip round-trip. So, when I do go, I spend a TON of money. I can’t make it out of there without spending at least $100. It’s just something I have to accept: when I go to Whole Foods, I will have to budget my money a little tighter. On another note, I made a smart decision and did NOT go to Trader Joe’s because I didn’t really need anything there. I would have gone in and easily blown at least $50 on nothing essential.

When I got to Whole Foods, I saw this bumper sticker on the car across from me in the parking lot:

How cute!

I looked for Greenwheat Freekeh in the bulk section, and they didn’t have it. I did find it with the other boxed/bagged grains, but it was insanely expensive:

Holy cow! I think I paid like $2/lb. from the bulk section at my co-op. Needless to say, I didn’t give this freekeh try.

Here are some of the things I DID buy today:

I have to say- although I LOVE chocolate (or more specifically, DARK chocolate) I’m not a big fan of chocolate ice cream or cake. But THIS tastes awesome. I’ve tried 4 flavors so far, and this one is the best.

Frontier has Vanilla from a few different countries, and each has a specific little description. I chose this one because it was “woody and robust.”

I thought this tissue box was pretty. And it was 99 cents. I bought two. 🙂

Unsweetened Almond Milk is my jam. The 365 brand is really good- almost as good as Trader Joe’s. And cheaper than Almond Breeze.

I shouldn’t even GO in the cereal aisle. There are so many cereals that are specially made for Whole Foods (by both Kashi and Arrowhead Mills). These were $2.50- I couldn’t resist. A little more sugar than I would like, but not too bad. And yes- it tastes awesome.

No explanation necessary.

This was half the price of Bob’s Red Mill coconut flour. And might even taste better… (I think Coconut Flour is one of the best things I’ve discovered in the last year.)

Ohhhh my goodness… I love this stuff. It tastes like a much less-sweet cream soda. But it’s perfect. It’s also $3 for a 10 oz. bottle, which is ridiculous.

And the best thing of all:

In-house ground almond butter. This is by far, the BEST ALMOND BUTTER IN THE WORLD. It’s just almonds- and you watch them grind into your container. I’ve tried making almond butter in my food processor at home, and it just doesn’t compare to this. I know that everyone in the blog community LOVES Barney Butter, but I have to say… it doesn’t hold a candle to this stuff.

Side note/ramble: I remember the first time I ever had almond butter from Whole Foods- it was three years ago at the Whole Foods in Golden, Colorado. I bought almond butter, a loaf of bread, and a bunch of bananas to have for breakfast for the week that we were out there. I ended up going and buying another tub of almond butter to take home. The rest is history.

******************************************************************

I bought turbot from the seafood counter to make for dinner tonight. Oooooohhhhhh man I love turbot. It’s so light and buttery and melts in your mouth. I sauteed it in a little olive oil, salt, pepper and garlic. I cut up some shallot, mushroom and squash to add to the mix.


The fish was served on top of leftover freekeh salad from last night (the flavors meshed perfectly)! I whipped up a little cold green bean salad on the side.


Cold Green Bean Salad

2 cups fresh green beans (stems cut off)

1/2 small red onion, chopped finely

2 tsp dill

2 tsp balsamic vinegar

1.5 tsp dijon mustard

1 tsp extra-virgin olive oil

salt and pepper to taste

Lightly steam the green beans so that they are still very crunchy. Remove from water and blanch in cold water. Whisk together the rest of the ingredients in a bowl until blended. Add the green beans and stir until coated. Let sit in the refrigerator for at least 30 minutes.

****************************

Another weekend gone. Can’t wait for the next one!

One Comment on “Whole Foods makes me broke”

  1. […] served them along with a Jewel sweet potato and cold green bean salad. Very simple and quick to […]


I love hearing your feedback! Feel free to leave a comment. :)

