Meatless Monday: Quinoa “pizza” balls

Happy Meatless Monday!

I saw this recipe last week and couldn’t wait to make (and tweak it) for myself! As I’ve mentioned (er…gushed) before, I love experimenting with vegan cooking. I also love pairing quinoa with tomato, so this seemed perfect!

But, of course, being the non-conformist that I am, I tweaked and modified the recipe according to what I had in the house and what I was in the mood for.

The yogurt ranch dip sounds awesome, but I wanted to served the balls on top of marinara sauce instead. One of my co-workers has tomatoes coming out of her ears, thanks to her plentiful garden, and has been bringing them to me every other day. I stewed 2 large tomatoes in a pot with oregano, salt, pepper, garlic, basil and thyme. When they were nice and soft, I mashed them down with a potato masher and let them cook on low for another 30 minutes or so.

For the balls, I didn’t have any red kidney beans that were already cooked, but found a can of Northern (white) beans, so I used those instead. I also added a little chopped onion and mushroom and breadcrumbs (I didn’t drain the can of beans good enough and the mixture was a little too watery).

I also roasted some zucchini and eggplant, and mixed it into the marinara.

I started out with 9 balls on the cookie sheet.

But, about 15 minutes into cooking, I realized that they were too big and broke them all in half.

And 20 minutes later, dinner was served.

Hearty and delicious! And like most vegan-in-a-bowl meals I make, it was very filling!

The quinoa was all crunchy around the outside and slightly creamy on the inside- a perfect mix of textures.

Time to start preparing for bed- that alarm will be going off in 8.5 hours!

I love hearing your feedback! Feel free to leave a comment. :)

