Sharing the [oat] love

Good morning!

Overnight oats tasted really good this morning- it’s been a few days since I’ve had them!

I sure do love an over-sized mug as a vessel for oatmeal eatin’. šŸ™‚

In the mix: 1/4 c. oat bran, 1/4 c. rolled oats, 1/4 c. salt free cottage cheese, 3/4ish c. unsweetened almond milk + water, 1/4 ripe banana (mashed), 1 tsp chia, 1 tsp Indonesian vanilla, dash of cinnamon and stevia; topped with sliced peach (there were still plenty at the Farmers’ Market!), banana and blueberry-coconut protein muffin crumbles.

Delish!

I was blabbing on about god-knows-what on Friday with Erica, who is teacher intern here and in her last semester of graduate school. She’s into good food and fitness, so naturally we jive! I was telling her about overnight oats and she admitted that she isn’t a big oatmeal fan (apparently she hasn’t ever had oatmeal that actually tasted “good”). So of course- I saw that as a challenge and told her I’d bring her breakfast today. I made an extra batch of overnight oats for her – and she loved them! Yay! Another fan converted.

I gotta say- I have such a passion for introducing people to new things that I love- I guess it’s the teacher in me. It just makes me happy. šŸ™‚

***********************************************************

On to another topic: yoga.

I’m very happy to say that I am pretty sure that I am totally head-over-heels in love with yoga. I have tried (many times in my life, unsuccessfully) to get “into” yoga and really enjoy it. I just never did. Maybe I’ve always been too ADD to slow down- or more importantly- to slow my mind down. I’ve had phases in my life before where I’ve gone to yoga classes for a few weeks, and just never really felt enjoyment for it, and ended up dropping out.

But recently, something clicked. I don’t know if it was my breakthrough with Ken and whatever wake-up call I got that I need to SLOW DOWN or what. But, I’m totally loving replacing my former hardcore beat-your-body-up-until-you-can’t-move-anymore cardio workouts with a nice, sweaty session of Vinyasa yoga. I also feel like it’s the biggest confidence builder in the world. Each time I do yoga, I can stretch a little further and get deeper into a pose that I couldn’t get into before. And I’m happy to say- I can actually move from this pose to this pose successfully now.

I have had this notion in my head that yoga isn’t a workout and you have beat your body to exhaustion in order to burn calories. Oh, boy- this yoga IS a workout- it’s just a different kind of workout. And then I think about why I work out in the first place: sure, burning calories is nice, but really- I love to exercise. It makes me feel good and energized. But I don’t like feeling tired, sore and run down all the time. Yoga doesn’t do that.

I feel like all of this slowing down has made my life feel simpler in general. When I practice yoga now, I don’t think about anything except how my body is feeling. My mind doesn’t seem to race anymore and I’m not anxious to be done so that I can tackle the next thing on my mile-long to-do list.

Seriously, I don’t know what happened, but I’m loving it and I hope it continues.

And I can’t wait practice yoga again tonight. šŸ™‚

One Comment on “Sharing the [oat] love”

  1. Erica says:

    The oatmeal truly was delicious and kept me full for hours. I hope to try to make it on my own! I’m so glad you posted the recipe here.

    As for your passion for introducing people to new things, I will gladly remain on the receiving end of that one. I’m looking forward to all of the new healthy meal options– Keep them coming, Lauren!


I love hearing your feedback! Feel free to leave a comment. :)

