Dinner decisions

I was too lazy and tired to blog last night. I actually fell asleep a little after 9:00, but somehow, I still feel tired this morning! I really think it’s the gray weather- I just feel so much more energy when it’s sunny out! This is all the more reason why I should move to Colorado- they get over 300 days of sunshine a year in Denver!

After work yesterday, the rain held off long enough for me to take a hike at my favorite local state park, Gambrill. It’s just a few miles from my house and takes about 10 minutes to get to by car. I know all of the trails like the back of my hand, and love to hike or run there, but it’s a little too technical to take the mountain bike out on (for me). The dogs love it too- they even know the trails by heart.

I met up with my friend Justin for a hike and to catch up, because I hadn’t really seen him since before summer. It was great to catch up. And I just love being in the woods, period. So quiet and peaceful.

We hiked and chatted for about an hour, but the time always seems to just fly by! We did a fairly easy hike- considering some of the trails that I regularly do have rapid changes in elevation and lots of “climbing.” But, it was just what I needed. It was my “rest day” after all.

We passed the overlook along the black trail where Greg and I (officially) got married two months ago:

A good friend of ours was ordained and performed the ceremony at our wedding. But, he was only certified in Maryland, and we got married in Virginia (which has very strict laws about legal stuff like that). So, he suggested that we do a small private ceremony at Gambrill, since it’s so meaningful to both of us, early in the morning of the wedding. It was perfect!

It was a little dark from the impending storm, but you the view was still fairly clear!

My house is somewhere down there. 🙂

****************************************************

After the hike, I came home and started making dinner. Greg’s had a crazy work schedule due to his building moving to a new location and has been working long hours, so I really didn’t know how late he’d be home. I had salmon cakes on my mind, but needed to use up some black beans in the fridge too. So, I made black bean & salmon burgers. I bought this can of canned salmon from Whole Foods the other day, and it actually tasted really good by itself!

I also roasted some butternut squash, greens and sweet potatoes. By the time I was done cooking, it was after 7, and Greg still wasn’t home (and hadn’t left work yet). I don’t know why- I just wasn’t in the mood for the whole dinner I cooked and prepared a plate for Greg for when he came home and stuck the rest in the fridge.

I ended up having a bowl of cereal (about 1  c. Millet Puffs and 1/4 c. of each:  Shredded Wheat, Kashi Go Lean and the Almond cereal I got from Whole Foods the other day) with almond milk and sliced some fruit on top of it. I always bulk up higher-calorie cereals with something like puffed millet or kamut, because it only has 50 calories per cup and adds more volume. It’s definitely all about volume for me!

I don’t know why- but when I know that I won’t be eating with  my husband, I just don’t want to make something that we would typically eat together. I almost always have “breakfast.” Luckily, I LOVE breakfast for dinner, so it’s totally fine with me. He’s working late again for the next week or so, because the move will be done by the end of the month. So that means, I’ll get to experiment with all kinds of different Breakfast for dinner options over the next few days. 🙂

Stay tuned!

I love hearing your feedback! Feel free to leave a comment. :)

