Freekeh awesome breakfast!

Yes. Freekeh awesome indeed.

I must say- the day has started out pretty well so far.

I highlighted my hair (myself) over the weekend, and this was the first day that I took the time to actually style it. I think it turned out pretty well!

(I’m not so good at taking the cell-phone self portraits. I haven’t gotten the whole coordination thing down with holding the phone steady and pushing the button at the same time.)

When I got to work this morning, my friend Georgia (who teaches ceramics, small sculpture and jewelry classes) was showing me a bowl that she made and wasn’t happy with. I told her that I thought it was beautiful (and was eyeing that it was the perfect size for oatmeal)- and she handed it right over to me! I LOVE when my potter friends make “reject” pieces. They love to give them away!

Okay. Onto the really good stuff….

 

As I mentioned a few weeks ago, I recently discovered the grain freekeh. I noticed it popping up in the bulk bins at my co-op with a big “Try me I’m new!” sign, so of course I had to. At the risk of sounding like a total tool, I have to say: it was love at first bite. If you’re not familiar with freekeh yet, I’m sure you will be soon. I have a feeling that it will be the new black (or maybe I should say, the new quinoa). It’s got a texture similar to brown rice and a somewhat nutty flavor. It’s super high in fiber and protein and low in calories and everything else that you want a food to be low in. I’ve only had it in pure grain form, but apparently it’s also made into flour, burgers, crackers and all kinds of good things. Yes, I’m in love.

I’ve been thinking about cooking freekeh for breakfast for a few days now, and finally cooked some up last night for my breakfast today. It took a little longer than oatmeal does, but the end result is totally worth the wait!

Freekeh awesome breakfast

1/3 c greenwheat freekeh

2/3 c water

1/2 c unsweetened almond milk

1/4 c egg whites

1/2 medium RIPE banana

1/2 T chia

1 tsp Indonesian vanilla extract

pinch of salt

cinnamon and sweetener of your choice (to taste)

2 sliced strawberries

Place freekeh and water in a small saucepan and bring to a boil. Reduce heat to medium low and stir in almond milk. Continue to stir well every 30 seconds or so for the next 2 minutes. Add egg whites, banana, salt, chia, cinnamon and sweetener and stir well. Reduce heat to low and continue to stir every minute for the next 10 minutes. Add more water if necessary. Cook until the freekeh is slightly soft and all the liquid is absorbed. Remove from heat stir in strawberries. Transfer to a bowl and add any additional toppings that you desire!

When I make this again, I will defintely add some chopped up walnuts. I think they would add an amazing texture and flavor to the freekeh. Now the true test is: will it keep me full until lunchtime? That is a big challenge that only oatmeal seems to satisfy. We’ll see.

I’m optimistic that the day will just get better and better as it goes on, despite the rainy forecast. We have off school for a Jewish holiday tomorrow, which means I can actually sleep in a little bit tomorrow (despite the fact that I scheduled a 7:30 am workout with Ken). And I have really FUN plans after that (seriously, not being sarcastic).

Hope everyone is having a great Wednesday!!

 

 


7 Comments on “Freekeh awesome breakfast!”

  1. Healthy Teen on a Mission says:

    that breakfast really does look freekeh awesome!

  2. ann says:

    You look great in that picture. And by the way.what do you make with coconut flour?

    Thanks!

    • Lauren says:

      Thanks! I use coconut flour in place of anything that I would use “regular” flour to bake with. It is AWESOME in pancakes (I had a link to a recipe in a post from a few weeks ago).

  3. Your hair looks great! I’ve tried to color mine myself…not a good idea!!

    I’ve never even heard of freekeh, but I’ll be looking for it now 🙂

  4. Your hair is super cute! I can never do my own highlights but I have no problem doing a standard dye job.

    I’ve never heard of freekah. I’ll have to look out for it!


I love hearing your feedback! Feel free to leave a comment. :)

