I told ya so! (and pumpkin oats)

It’s October!!! I love everything about the month of October. In fact, I love the rest of the year, right up until January 1st. And then I just long for spring!

It was so nice to be able to sleep in a little bit this morning (well, until a little after 7:00 when the dogs woke us up). I think I got almost 9 hours of sleep last night. What a huge difference that makes!

I knew that I wanted to start the day with yoga, but wasn’t sure if I was going to go take a class or do one of my DVDs at home. I’ve been trying to get Greg to give yoga a try for years now, and he just has no interest. I knew that he would like it if he just gave it a try, but he has been resistant. I’m definitely not the kind of wife that needs or likes to do everything together, but since yoga is such an important thing in my life, I’d like him to at least see what it’s all about. And also- I’m sure most women can relate- he just needs to learn that the wife knows best. 🙂

So this morning, Greg finally agreed to give it a try. I moved the furniture in the family room to give us a wide open space and laid two mats down.

We did the Bob Harper Yoga for the Warrior dvd because it is my absolute favorite and I knew that Greg would definitely like it too. It’s an hour long and definitely very challenging for a beginner, but Greg did great! I was really shocked at some of the poses he was able to get into- he did way better than me when I first tried it! When it was over Greg turned to me and said “Wow, I really liked it!” See. I told you so.

I was starving by the time I showered and came back downstairs to make breakfast (I definitely can’t eat before yoga or it makes me feel sick). I was debating on a few different types of fruit to incorporate into my oatmeal and then noticed the pumpkin puree in the fridge. What better way to start the month of October than by making something with pumpkin in it?

Fifteen minutes later, coffee was brewing in the french press and pumpkin spice oatmeal (with pumpkin cream cheese frosting!) was ready:

These were really tasty and really filling. Almost two hours later, I’m still completely full.

Pumpkin spice oatmeal

2/3 c water

1/4 c rolled oats

1/4 c oat bran

1 tsp chia seeds

2 tsp pumpkin pie spice

1 tsp pure vanilla extract

1 packet stevia extract

pinch of salt

1/4 c egg whites

1/3 c unsweetened almond milk

1/4 c pumpkin puree

1/3 of a small ripe banana

Bring water to a boil in a small saucepan. Reduce heat to medium and add in all dry ingredients + vanilla and stir well. Add in egg whites and almond milk and stir for an additional 30 seconds. Stir in pumpkin and banana and eeduce heat to low. Continue to cook on low heat for 5 minutes. Put in a bowl and top with pumpkin cream cheese frosting (and any other toppings you want).

Pumpkin cream cheese frosting

1/2 T vegan cream cheese (or dairy- whatever you have on hand. You might want to nuke it for about 20 seconds so it mixes more easily.)

1/2 T pumpkin puree

1 1/2 T Plain Greek Yogurt

1/4 tsp stevia extract

1/4 tsp pumpkin spice

Mix all ingredients together. Drizzle over top of pumpkin spice oatmeal.

I also topped my oatmeal with dried cranberries, raisins and walnuts.

****************************************************

We’re off to Crate & Barrel and the new super-sized Whole Foods that opened on Rockville Pike. It kinda feels like we’re going to Disneyland twice!

I love hearing your feedback! Feel free to leave a comment. :)

