Everyone’s setting goals- why don’t I?

As I sit here reading over blog posts from the weekends from all of my favorite ladies- I see a common theme: Goal-setting!

What a great idea. I am a perpetual list-maker (aren’t all control freaks women?) so making a “goal-list” is right up my alley.

So, here it is: October’s Goals. Now, some of these goals are a continuation from changes that I implemented in my life during the month of September, but will continue or hopefully improve during this month.

10 GOALS FOR OCTOBER:

1. Practice yoga at least 3x a week.

I’ve been doing really well with my yoga practice, and some weeks have fit it in as much as 5x. But really, 3 is more realistic. Thanks to some wonderful yoga DVDs, I am able to fit it in around my own schedule (I prefer to do it directly after work and the studios near my house don’t have classes that early). That being said, I’d like to also attend at least one class a week to broaden my horizons a bit and learn more about the practice in general.

2. Get on track (and stay on track) with mindful eating… and lose some body fat.

In all honesty, I’m feeling really uncomfortable in my body right now. I am trying to accept where I’m at, but the truth is- I’ve gained a good 10 lbs. since my wedding and would feel a lot better with a little less pudge on my body in general. I just can’t seem to keep the motivation to stay on track- which is the only thing that works for me. I’ve screwed up my metabolism so much from over-exercising for so many years, that it is super-difficult-next-to-impossible for me to lose weight unless I am really mindful of what I eat, 100% of the time. Really- I just want to fit back into all of my cute clothes that I was wearing in 2007/2008. That’s not too much to ask- they’re only 1-2 sizes smaller than what I am currently in- but I felt a lot more confident about my body then. It’s not about a number for me- in fact, I don’t ever get on my scale. It’s about feeling comfortable and confident in my body.

3. Stay on track with the new cardio/hardcore workout (or lack thereof) plan

I have to say, I am pretty amazed at how easy it was for me to give up my over-exercising. I know it sounds weird to most people, but not exercising is really, really hard for me. I had a severe addiction and it was doing much more harm than good. I need to stay on the 3x/week of “hardcore” workouts track, and balance it out with plenty of recovery time.

4. Hike more

Hiking is my absolute favorite outdoor activity, but due to busy schedules and way too much rain, I wasn’t able to hike much in the month of September. I have tons of trails within a few miles of my house, and I know them well enough to hike alone. I need to get out and enjoy some hikes before the weather gets cold.

5. Spend some Q.T. with the husband- away from other distractions

Greg was completely over-worked and busy with his job during the month of September, due to his company moving to a new building. There were many days where I didn’t see him at all. When I actually did see him, he was so exhausted and didn’t have much energy to do anything more than sitting on the couch catching up on DVR together. Most of the time, I feel like we’re both so tired at the end of the day, that  it’s easier to just sit and watch tv. Even playing a board game (or Guitar Hero!) or something like that would be better, because at least we would be communicating. Greg and I are super passionate about spending time outdoors (hiking and biking more than anything else) away from distractions. We are planning a weekend getaway later this month to take some time to reconnect.  But, on a daily basis, we need to get back to taking the dogs on walks after dinner and just talking more.

6. Cook more vegan food

I’m debating on doing a week or 2-week “vegan cleanse” and eliminate any animal products to see how I feel. I did this a few years ago and loved it! To be honest though- it’s really hard for me to give up Greek Yogurt more than anything. It’s such an easy go-to high protein source. If there’s a good (similar) alternative that is comparable nutritionally, I’m all ears! But, for now, I’ll just say that I’m going to eat more meals based solely on grains, legumes and vegetables, and we’ll see if I can have a streak for a few days without animal products. Greg will not be jazzed about this, but he’ll get over it (or he can cook for himself). 🙂

Side note: I remember when Oprah did her Vegan challenge with her employees on her show last winter. Everyone was saying how great they felt and how easy it was- but I have to say- I found fault with it a bit. They were all glowing over different vegan foods that they ate each day- but many were things like Phoney Baloney and other highly-processed soy and sodium-laden products- is that really better than eating meat?? I think the whole point of eating a vegan diet (for me) is to eat food in it’s purest form, and focusing on proteins from grains and legumes more than anything else.

7. Spend more Q.T. with friends (more girl time!)

I am fortunate to have a great batch of girlfriends that I have known for years. Unfortunately, we don’t get together nearly as often as I would like. We are all busy with work, kids and life in general. As much as I want to spend time with some of my friends, it definitely takes effort. And honestly- most of the time I am too lazy or don’t prioritize that girl-time like I should. I want to take out my October calendar and book a date with some of my close friends- even if it’s weeks in advance- that way I know that we have a date scheduled and it will be a priority. I also need to do this with my family!

8. Get 8 hours of sleep each night

I’ve definitely been staying up too late and averaging around 7 hours of sleep. That extra hour makes all the difference in the world!

9. Think of new projects to inspire my students

I’ve been teaching photography for seven years now. I have taught some of the same lessons over and over again, and I need to re-vamp some of them. I have an amazing group of advanced photo kids this semester who are really passionate about creating artwork, so I need to embrace that and run with it. They are so creative and it’s really cool to see what they can do- but it’s my job to keep inspiring and encouraging them.

10. Keep up with blogging!

I can’t believe I’ve only had this little site going for less than a month! I really love blogging- it’s very theraputic for me! And, as an added bonus, I’ve networked (“met??”) some really awesome blogger friends (and look forward to “meeting” more!) I’ve just got to make sure that I don’t start to slack, but only blog about things that are interesting (to me, at least- and hopefully to others!)

 

So, there it is. 10 goals for the month. Think I’m expecting too much? Any insight to add? Here’s to a great month!


6 Comments on “Everyone’s setting goals- why don’t I?”

  1. Awesome goals!! You rock! I love your goals of spending some QT with your hubby and hiking. Where do you like to hike around this area? I’ve been wanting to go to great falls for some time now. Again, awesome goals!

    • Lauren says:

      Ashley- I usually hike around Frederick or northern Montgomery County (in Maryland).
      I LOVE hiking the Billy Goat trail at Great Falls- you have to try it! There’s a lot of scrambling/rock-climbing (so I’d recommend bringing gloves).
      Now that it’s on my mind, I might have to go there this weekend. It’s awesome this time of year.

  2. Great goals! I agree with your comment on Oprah’s vegan challenge. Why did they pick all that processed junk? When I was vegan I typically avoided all that processed junk and stuck with produce, beans, nuts, etc. I did miss my Greek yogurt which is one of the main reasons I’m not a vegan anymore!

  3. Hiking is amazing and is totally my favourite activity as well. It might be my first love. I’m trying to be a runner too, but I know I’ll always be a hiker. Glad you found my blog; I’m glad to find yours! 🙂

  4. […] the beginning of the month, I posted a list of goals for the month. Being that there is only a week left in October (seriously, where did the time go??), I wanted to […]

  5. […] looking back on it, October certainly fly right by! It seems like I was just making my October goals […]


I love hearing your feedback! Feel free to leave a comment. :)

