Vegan protein & Leftover stew

Happy Tuesday!

Hooray for my super-early-morning being out of the way for the week. I did 10 min of rowing and then 30 min of chest + back before teaching spin class this morning. All done by 6:20 am. Not bad!

Last night I posted a little preview of my new concoction, vegan pumpkin “cottage cheese.” It’s simple, really. And I’m sure there are other similar recipes out there on the interwebs, but I haven’t checked. I was giving my whole idea of doing another vegan cleanse (cleanse might be a bad word- but not eating any animal products for a specific amount of time) and one of the biggest challenges for me would be giving up dairy. Specifically, cottage cheese and greek yogurt.

I was thinking of a way to substitute the cottage cheese (still no idea for the Greek yogurt- something with silken tofu, maybe??), especially since I use it in my Overnight Oats every morning. I use crumbled firm tofu (Twin Oaks) all the time for different vegan salads, and the texture could be kind of similar to cottage cheese… right?

When I got home I started experimenting. I needed some kind of milky component to mix in, so I heated up 1/2 c of almond milk and stirred in 1/2 T of cornstarch and let it thicken in the fridge. It had almost a pudding-like consistency.

Here’s the end result (and recipe):

(Vegan) pumpkin “cottage cheese”

4 oz. almond milk

1/2 T corn starch

4 oz extra firm tofu (I recommend Twin Oaks Organic)

1/4 c pumpkin puree

sweetener of your choice, to taste (or 1 packet of stevia)

1 tsp pumpkin pie pie spice

1 tsp vanilla extract

raisins, dried cranberries and walnuts

Heat 4 oz almond milk over medium heat. When it starts to boil, stir in corn starch. Reduce heat to low and continue to cook for about 2 more minutes, stirring constantly. Remove from heat and place in a bowl and put into the fridge to cool off for about 30 minutes. Remove when it starts to firm up into a pudding-like consistency.

Meanwhile, crumble to the tofu into small pieces and place in a bowl. Stir in half of the almond milk+corn starch pudding, pumpkin puree, sweetener, spice, and vanilla until well-blended. If it seems to dry, add more of the almond milk pudding. Top with (or stir-in) raisins, cranberries and walnuts.

I subbed out the cottage cheese in my overnight oats with this recipe today- and it tasted almost exactly the same (maybe even better)! It also kept me full for hours- but maybe that was because of the handful of this that I put on top of the oats:

They were giving these samples away for free at the gym today, and I grabbed one on the way out. Way too many ingredients for my liking, but… it did taste good. Like Golden Grahams.

For lunch, I had leftover Butternut Sage Chicken Stew from Sunday’s dinner, topped with leftover greens from last night.

Seriously, crock pot leftovers seem to taste even better the day (or 2 days) after. This was no exception!

(very over-edited photo of) Honeycrisp apple to finish it off:

I have just one honeycrisp left in my fridge. Hope I can hold off buying any more until the farmers’ market on Saturday!

Question- Are any of you on FoodGawker? I can’t get them to accept a photo from me for my quinoa acorn squash recipe- they keep saying the lighting is too low, but it looks perfect! If it was any brighter, it would start looking too light. Are they just really, really picky?

5 Comments on “Vegan protein & Leftover stew”

  1. Maren says:

    Putting tofu in oats to sub dairy is such an awesome idea! I’m so glad I found your blog.

  2. I would have never in a million years thought to make vegan cottage cheese. I’m going to have to buy some more tofu to make this asap. I know I’m trying to eliminate processed food but I love tofu 🙂

  3. 1. love the vegan thing you’re going for, don’t know if could do it, but I think i’ll give it a try.
    2. foodgawker hasn’t accepted any of my pics but tastespotting has… so yeah i think they are a bit more picky. (try tastespotting!)
    3. love the blog!

    • Lauren says:

      Okay THAT makes me feel a lot better, because your photos are amazing! I will head right over to tastespotting. 🙂
      And I still can’t wrap my head around doing the 6-week vegan thing… man I wish I could JUST to see how my body would feel (and if I’d lose weight). I’d definitely have to be done by Thanksgiving though- which would mean I’m almost out of time. 🙂


I love hearing your feedback! Feel free to leave a comment. :)

