Billy Goat + kale salad

What a great Saturday! Everyone around DC was buzzing about how perfect the weather was today (and is supposed to be tomorrow). It was definitely a great day to be outside.

Greg and I planned on hiking at the Billy Goat trail in the afternoon, since we hadn’t been there in forever. I got him to do yoga with me this morning (two Saturdays in a row!) and then we went to the farmers’ market. About $40 later, I came back with all of this:

I got onions, garlic, black cherry tomatoes, cukes, green beans, brussels sprouts, sweet and gold potatoes, bell peppers, broccoli, zucchini + yellow squash, acorn + spaghetti squash, kale, chard, kohlrabi, and some pear butter (which is a gift for someone :))

We eat a lot of vegetables. (Actually, I won’t be able to go to the market next weekend so I had to stock up!)

I soaked some red kidney beans to make pumpkin chili tomorrow, and this is what they looked like after being under water for about 45 minutes:


After lunch, we headed to Great Falls to hike the Billy Goat. It’s a 1.5 mile walk to the trailhead (if you start at the far end) and you get a nice view along the way.

We always start at the far trail head because it’s a bit more challenging and more fun to go that route (plus there is a HUGE climb that is much better to climb UP rather than down- if you’ve been on the trail, you know exactly what I’m talking about).

A view from the trail:

There were a lot of kayakers and rock-climbers out today, which is no big surprise.

We both wore our Vibrams, which were great on some rocks, but horrible on others (very slippery on the smooth rocks!)

I couldn’t take too many photos along the hike because you end up using your hands just as much as your feet. It’s very technical- but really awesome- a big confidence booster. I wish we lived a little closer so that we could hike there more often and just keep improving and gaining confidence on some of the challenging parts. LOTS of rock climbing and balancing.

I set my camera on the backseat and used the self timer when we got back to Greg’s car. Eh.

Since we didn’t leave the house until after 2 (and it’s a 45-minute drive) it was already after 5:00 when we got back to the car. We made a quick stop to REI and other to Whole Foods (we have to take advantage when driving through by Rockville since we have horrible shopping in Frederick!) and planned to pick some kind of protein to throw on the grill really quick when we got home. We both had salmon on the brain, but it was really pricey, so we went with the trusty made-in-house sausages. I wanted the chicken + apple turkey sausage and Greg wanted the spicy pork sausage, so we got one of each.

I assembled a kale salad when we got home, because it literally takes 5 minutes to make and tastes delicious.

Kale Salad

measurements are approximate

A whole bunch of kale, chopped

1 carrot, shredded

1/4 c finely chopped red onion

Enough Bragg’s Liqiud Aminos to cover the kale

about 1/2 T extra virgin olive oil

Ground black pepper

Mix all ingredients together in a bowl. Let sit for 5 minutes before serving.

A total of 15 minutes after we got home, dinner was served (with some Sam Adams Pumpkin beer!).

I had about 2/3 of the apple sausage and a bite of the spicy pork. The apple was better. 🙂

Oh yeah. Check out the beans. 🙂

Goodnight!

5 Comments on “Billy Goat + kale salad”

  1. Great hike! I love the blue in the water, in the reflection of the sky. Technical hikes are the best, especially pretty technical hikes!

  2. YAY! I’m so glad y’all went. The weather was absolutely beautiful! Have a great Sunday!

    • Lauren says:

      I know- you have to go soon, Ashley! I was posting on Beth’s (bethsjourney) blog about doing a DC blogger meet-up and going hiking (although I think something a little less technical than Billy Goat might be better… maybe.) 😉

  3. […] threw some in my kale salad (sans carrots + tomato) that I had with lunch […]


I love hearing your feedback! Feel free to leave a comment. :)

