Meatless Monday recap: It tastes like chicken!

I made another attempt at the recipe that I found on PPK’s site last week (which resulted in sweet potato + chickpea cakes) for our Meatless Monday dinner last night. And I must say- this one is a WINNER! (or should I say winner, winner, chicken dinner!)

Hello, chicken/chickpea cutlets!

Please forgive all of my horrible lighting + shadows lately. We eat dinner too late to use much natural light anymore.

MAN these were good! And really easy to make, too! I made sure to have all the right ingredients this time (including the wheat gluten!) and whipped these up in about 10 minutes (plus more time for baking). I doctored the PPK recipe a bit (of course), but the end result was just awesome. And they really did taste like chicken! Well, same flavors anyway. 🙂

Let me get back to the beginning. Here’s the recipe:

Chickpea “Chicken” Cutlets

(a modified version of this recipe from PPK)

1 c chickpeas

1 T  extra virgin olive oil (I used mushroom + sage infused)

1 T pumpkin puree (you could also use an additional T of olive oil instead)

2/3 c vital wheat gluten

1/3 plain breadcrumbs ( i used panko)

1/3 c oat bran

1/3 cup low-sodium vegetable broth

2 T Bragg’s liquid aminos

1 tsp dried thyme

1 tsp paprika

1 tsp dried sage

1/2 tsp garlic powder

1/2 tsp onion powder

salt + pepper (a few grinds of each)

Pre-heat oven to 350. Mash the chickpeas along with the olive oil and pumpkin with a potato masher, or put in a food processor until they are chopped up well- but not pureed like hummus. Transfer into a bowl and mix in the remaining in ingredients. Knead together for about 2 – 3 minutes (you will notice that the dough gets flexible and little strings form from the gluten – very cool!). Form the dough into a ball and place onto a cutting board. Use a knife to cut off portions of the dough (I cut mine into 8 equal portions). Flatten each of the portions out and form each into a “cutlet” shape. Arrange the cutlets on a lightly sprayed cookie sheet and bake in the oven for 10 minutes, flipping over halfway through. Remove from oven and heat a large nonstick skillet over medium heat. Lightly spray with olive oil (this is where a Misto comes in handy!) and arrange the cutlets in the pan. Cook for about 3 minutes on each side, or until a golden brown crust is formed.

I had a baked japanese sweet potato (yum!) and some roasted kale along with mine. (Greg had a russet potato and kale.)

I put two different kinds of bbq sauce (Annie’s and one that was made locally around here) in some dipping bowls, along with ketchup- but didn’t really end up using them. The flavor of the cutlet was so good that I didn’t want to mask it with anything else!

Greg, of course, tried out two kinds of Frank’s hot sauce. (And had a Flying Dog harvest ale on the side)

He also agreed- they really didn’t need anything. But, the man loves him some hot sauce, so he used it anyway.

I will definitely be making these again. I ended up bringing two for lunch today and plan to have them in a wrap with some veggies. I actually have a ton of ideas of what you could do with leftover cutlets, so I will probably be making a few batches of these and freezing them to grab for lunches. Much cheaper than buying “chik’n” patties from the store (and far less sodium and other ingredients). Winning!

I love it when a recipe comes together like this.

****************************************************************

Tuesday morning means early wake up call and early workout. I was at the gym by 4:50 this morning did the following:

10 min dynamic stretching

20 min elliptical (I had a good magazine)

50 min teaching spin

5 min cooldown… minimal stretching (luckily I have a deep tissue massage later, which will help with muscle recovery!)

Class was great, it usually is! I just love my regulars- it’s so nice to see familiar faces each week. I generally try to make my rides feel like it would if you were out riding on the road- it’s one long ride with hills, flats, and downhills where you go really fast. I don’t like to use gimmicks or do things that you normally wouldn’t do on a bike outside. But, you also gotta have fun.  I played “Moves Like Jagger” near the end of class, which is always great for a big energy boost. I’m a total goofball when I teach and was talking about how it just makes we want to dance on the bike- I can’t help myself with fun, upbeat music like that.

I opted out of lifting today because I’m thinking about going back to Bodypump after work tomorrow. I used to go religiously, but haven’t in over a year (I just needed a change). I’m sure I’ll be mega sore after class- you end up using muscles that you didn’t know you had!

Thinking about THIS got me through my early morning workout today:

OH yes. That’s right. It’s one of those magical days that only comes along every few months- Oatmeal in a Jar day! (If you get it, you get it.)

I was first turned on to overnight oats last spring, and saw Kath post about making them in a nearly empty nut butter jar and gush about how amazing it was. This is the third time I’ve had my oatmeal this way, and it didn’t disappoint! I wait until there’s barely any nut butter left in the jar (about 1/2 T total) and put all the ingredients for overnight oats in there, just like I would in a bowl. The oatmeal absorbs all the flavor of the nut butter and just takes on this whole different, awesome flavor.

This was after about 3 hours of sitting in the fridge mixed up. I put a little blob of fig butter on the top (took these photos last night because I knew I wouldn’t want to wait to dig in this morning).

Now I’m full and happy. 🙂

***************************************************************

Just want to say thanks for everyone’s comments on yesterday’s post. Having the support of all of you amazing women really helps- just another reason why I love the blogging community so much!

4 Comments on “Meatless Monday recap: It tastes like chicken!”

  1. Wow. The “chicken” cutlets look so good, I will have to try that! Oats in a jar are legendary, I was a little resistant to try them at first, but WOW. So good!!!

  2. WHoa. This recipe DOES look like a winner!

    I’ve tried oats in a jar, and they are pretty tasty. Have FUN at your massage….that sounds amazing right about NOW 🙂

  3. Those chickpea cutlets look delicious! I have a vegan crush on Isa Chandra Moskowitz…

  4. […] by the way, the salad was AWESOME. I made chickpea cutlets again and put them on top of a bed of romaine, spinach and arugala, topped with apples, goat cheese […]


I love hearing your feedback! Feel free to leave a comment. :)

