BP + BS

It was gray and rainy and icky on the way home from work. It would have been the perfect day to just take a nap.

BUT

I didn’t. I went to Body Pump! And I’m so glad I did! As I said earlier, it has been over a year since I’ve been to a body pump class, but took them several times a week for years. I had so many of the releases memorized- I could have done them in my sleep! I went back today to the Wednesday class that I used to always go to, and the regular instructor wasn’t there. Instead, my friend Jill was teaching! I really love Deanna, who usually teaches it, but Jill is just as great.

The launch for the new release is tomorrow, so she played a mix of songs from previous releases. The funny thing- I knew them all and could still remember the exact routine for each song. It’s like riding a bike I guess! This makes me want to go out and get certified so I can teach it even more now. Stay tuned to see if that actually happens.

My shoulders are already starting to feel sore. I have a feeling that I will be squatting like a 9-months pregnant lady to go to the bathroom tomorrow and that it will hurt my arms to even reach for the t.p. How’s that for a visual? ๐Ÿ˜‰

******************************************************

Greg and I made dinner after I got home. I couldn’t decide between swiss chard and brussels sprouts, so I made both! A note about brussels sprouts: If you think you don’t like them, try them roasted with a little olive oil, salt + pepper. It will change your mind, I promise! I brought a bunch of roasted sprouts to Thanksgiving last year to a family full of siblings that said they didn’t like brussels sprouts. After eating them roasted, they all changed their minds! And I didn’t do ANYTHING special- just the ingredients listed above + a little chopped up bacon. ๐Ÿ™‚

I planned on cutting up a piece of bacon to mix in with the sprouts while they were roasting, but we didn’t have any in the fridge. So, I used some tempeh bacon instead. It was pretty good- definitely got the job done! Clearly, the veggies were the main star of this dinner, but I had some roasted shrimp with garlic + pepper and a sweet tater I got from the farmers market.

Greg is weird about the texture of shrimp, so he had (yet another) Whole Foods sausage along with some local potatoes.

A glass of Chambourcin from Fabiolli vineyards (a local winery in NoVa)

…and a piece of Green + Black’s dark chocolate for dessert (and to go with the wine, of course). I ate the chocolate before I could photograph it. I’m not that patient.

5 Comments on “BP + BS”

  1. Jenny says:

    I keep hearing so much about this Body Pump, I want to try it out!

    • Lauren says:

      Do it, girl! Do you belong to a gym (and if so, do they have it)?
      Is there a Fitness First near you? They would have it- and I’m sure they would let you try it for free!

  2. Michelle says:

    I hear so much about body pump, but as far as I know, it is not offered up here. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Another good reason to move!

  3. Roasting b.sprouts= LOVE!!!!


I love hearing your feedback! Feel free to leave a comment. :)

