It’s all about texture

Yesterday I visited the mini farmers’ market that gets set up downtown on Thursdays. It was rainy and there weren’t a lot of vendors there, but I really only needed one thing: eggs. Hmmm…. do you really think that I left there only buying eggs? Of course not! For less than $20, I got this:

arugula, bell pepper, tomato, pasture-raised chicken breasts, organic 95% lean grass-fed beef patties and cage-free organic eggs

I had planned on doing something with chicken for dinner- some type of salad- but couldn’t decide between a warm or cold salad. I also had this cute delicata squash that I got a few weeks ago that I wanted to roast.

The boys thought that I was holding a toy for them- they showed such great restraint when I lowered it down in front of their faces (Lance licked it a moment later).

In the end, a cold salad sound more appealing. It was also a way to use up one of the 10,000 apples that we have in the fridge.

This salad had a lot going on. I used mixed greens, romaine, roasted delicata squash and onion, chopped apple and kohlrabi (I’ll be talking about that awesome veggie later!), dried cranberries, manchego cheese, and a few toasted squash seeds on the top. I made some farro and then toasted it in the oven for a crunchy topping- which added the BEST texture! I’m definitely going to make a habit of doing that. I also made a quick vinaigrette with some apple, fig balsmic vinegar, almond milk, extra virgin olive oil, basil, thyme, salt + pepper.

There were do many dimensions of crunch in this salad, it was unreal! The chicken was good too- but the toasted farro seeds trumped everything else.

The delicata squash was okay- definitely not as good as butternut, acorn or pumpkin. I read that it was supposed to be the sweetest of the squashes- not true. Maybe I just got a bad one?

What’s your favorite squash? And what’s your favorite “crunch” element to put on a salad?

Happy Friday!!

7 Comments on “It’s all about texture”

  1. I have to have some type of crunch in my salad. Usually I get mine through peppers of some sort. I like the idea of nuts or seeds though too. My delicata squash from my csa didn’t have much flavor at all. I wonder if this just isn’t the year for them? My fave squash is butternut. I can’t have too much of it though or I get tired of it quickly.

  2. Oh my goodness, now this is a salad! I love adding fruit to a salad because I think it adds a whole new flavor.

    I’ve never had delicata squash before but I have heard that it is one of the sweet squashes.

  3. I love acorn squash and long neck pumpkin!

  4. Your dogs are so beautiful!

    My favourite crunch on a salad is tortilla chips. When we get to the end of the bag, I sprinkle the crushed bits on my salad. We get unsalted chips, so it’s not just a pile of salt at the end either. 🙂

  5. I loveee butternut squash!

    I don’t usually put something crunchy on my salad. For some reason it creeps me out? Haha. But I love saltine crackers on the side!

  6. Ashley says:

    OMG – love the look on the dogs faces! Feel bad for them though- because it looks like they definitely thought it was going to be a treat for them.

  7. Kristin says:

    I love going to the farmers’ market as well and it looks like you found great vegetables from it! Your salad looks fabulous! The squash you added was a good idea. I’m excited to try adding it to my next salad!


I love hearing your feedback! Feel free to leave a comment. :)

