Meatless Monday: Freekeh Burgers!

Happy Tuesday!

Yesterday was nice. I took a sick day (a.k.a. mental health day) and was able to catch up on a lot of errands and things I needed to do and keep putting off (like get my oil changed, car washed, etc.).

I started the day early with a 6:00 am Bodypump class. I debated about getting up that early on my day off, but I really wanted to check out the latest BP release. I have evening conferences tomorrow, so I won’t be able to attend my new regular 4:30 pm class, and then will be going out of town for the weekend. Also, it made it easier to wake up at the crack of dawn this morning to teach spin, since I was so tired the night before.

Anyway. The new release is awesome! The triceps, lunges and shoulder tracks burned the most for me. Actually, the biceps track was pretty hard too, but I think that may have been because I had a little too much weight on my bar. I was definitely struggling to get those last few bicep curls done! I am loving getting back into taking Bodypump again- now I just need to go get my butt certified to teach it so that I can start getting paid for it!

****************************************************************************

For meatless Monday, I really wanted to experiment with Quinoa burgers, because I’ve never made them before. Then I went to the pantry, there was a jar of greenwheat freekeh- staring me in the face. I chose to use it over quinoa, since I’m such a freekeh freak. šŸ™‚

I looked at some recipes listed on the Greenwheat Freekeh website and kind of modified the one for burgers a bit. It’s listed in metric measurements, and I was too lazy to make the conversion for some of the ingredients. I also wanted to add in some red kidney beans, because I had some in the fridge that needed to be used.

I’ve noticed that about 75% of my Meatless Monday meals are some variation of a veggie/grain burger. I guess that’s my thing- I’m still trying to find the perfect recipe!

These didn’t hold together perfectly- I’m not exactly sure why, or what I could use to bind them together a little better. But, it really didn’t matter, they were darn delicious! Normally I eat burgers just by themselves- no bun or condiments, but I wanted to eat these more like I would with a hamburger on a bun. I ate mine on top of a piece of toasted Ezekiel bread with lettuce and tomato.

And then dressed it up with a little ketchup and mustard and topped it off with some dill pickle chips.

Served with some roasted brussels sprouts and green beans on the side (from the farmers market)

The burgers had a lot of flavor and the crunch on the outside was really fantastic- great texture.

Freekeh burgers

1 c. cooked greenwheat freekeh

1/2 c red kidney beans

1 c breadcrumbs (or use 1/2 c oat bran in place of 1/2 c of breadcrumbs)

1 egg, beaten (you can use flax egg to make this Vegan)

1 stalk celery

1 large carrot

1/2 medium red onion

1 T nutritional yeast

1 tsp of each: garlic powder, onion powder, cumin, oregano

1/2 tsp coriander

Salt + Pepper to taste

Oil or nonstick spray (for skillet)

Place the cooked freekeh in a large bowl. Mash the kidney beans with a fork in a food processor, add to bowl. Finely dice the celery, carrot and onion (or use food processor) and cook in a nonstick skillet over medium heat until soft and fragrant (about 5 minutes). Add to bowl. Mix in the rest of the ingredients and stir with a wooden spoon (or use hands) until everything is well-incorporated. Form into 6 patties of equal size. Place patties into lightly oiled skillet over medium heat. Cook for 5 minutes, flip, and cook for an additional 5 minutes on the other side. Burgers should be crunchy on the outside and slightly soft in the middle.

Yesterday was also my 3-month wedding anniversary, which meant it was time to open up another mini-bottle of wine (from a basket the girls at my Bridal shower put together). Each bottle has a little message or words of wism attached. I knew by the handwriting, that this one was definitely from my friend Krista (and coincidentally, her birthday was yesterday, too!)

Cheers!

Have you done the latest Bodypump release yet? Which track do you think burns your muscles the most?

Do you make your own veggie burgers? If so, what’s your favorite type?



5 Comments on “Meatless Monday: Freekeh Burgers!”

  1. I love the new body pump release for the workout… but I am not a huge fan of all the remixed songs. I think the triceps track is the toughest for me. I just found a recipe for southwester veggie burgers on Whole Foods Website. It looks delicious. As do yours!

  2. Girl, you should TOTALLY do the cert!!! It is the best to get paid to workout so hard….oh wait, miss cycle instructor–you know all about that šŸ™‚ Seriously, best decision I ever made was to do that cert–and I had NO idea what I was getting myself into!

    I think the squats, triceps, and biceps burn the most for me in this 79 release–I actually love the music (except for the cool down–not a fan) of this release–it makes me excited to work out! (esp the chest track!

    I so need to make my own veggie burgers–and these look delish!

  3. I haven’t done body pump in ages!! I was going to get my cert to teach body step last year but my doctor stopped me because I was too underweight (not a problem now).

    Your freekeh burgers look amazing. I’m lazy and rarely ever make my own veggie burgers because I like boca vegan burgers. Did you season your Brussels sprouts before you roasted them? I sauteed mine today and they tasted disgusting so I’m looking for Brussels sprout tips.

  4. Kath says:

    Hope I can make these soon!!!

  5. […] just made my mouth water. I love making a variety of different forms of “burgers” (see here, here and here), but I don’t often use turkey as the main component. I started thinking about […]


I love hearing your feedback! Feel free to leave a comment. :)

