Waking up in Maryland

There really is nothing like waking up in your own bed, especially if the hotel room you were staying in for the last two nights had two double beds. So much for romance!

I was up and at ’em bright and early to hit the gym at 7 am this morning. Before teaching my 8 am spin class, I do a solo bodypump routine. I downloaded tracks for each muscle group and went through the routine by myself in the aerobics room. I used to do this all the time, back when I was a 3-4x a week Bodypumper. But for now, I’m planning on doing a certification that’s offered in a few weeks, and I’ve got to learn and be able to teach the routine when I get there!

After BP and spin, I did a good 20 minutes of foam rolling + stretching.

When I got out of the gym, the temperature hadn’t even hit 50˚ yet- yikes! I had only one thing on my mind, of course.

Super-eggy oats! I always mix egg whites in my oatmeal while it’s cooking, but today I cooked up 2 egg whites first, and then mixed them in at the end. I LOVE the flavor that egg whites add to oatmeal- and the extra protein is a double bonus.

I also had a mug of Dandy Blend (mixed 50/50 with water and almond milk + a hint of stevia)- I looooove this stuff.

I’m not sure how the availability is around the country, I’ve only ever seen it at my local co-op. Oh, and I think the other organic grocery store in town may have started carrying it, too.

I topped the oats with banana and two of my C’ville finds:

The nut butter (from Great Harvest) actually doesn’t taste like Sunflower butter at all- but the flavor is super delicious anyway! And the Jam According to Daniel was from the farmers market. The guy that makes was really nice! And he had about 10 different flavors to sample- it was so hard to choose. But in the end, classic strawberry rhubarb won me over (I really wish I could have bought every single flavor!) I did a little Googling and found out that you can order the jam online… I might have to do that. It’s seriously amazing.

It’s cool out, bu the sun is shining, so I’m relatively happy to be heading out to run a ton of errands. I’m also thrilled that Greg’s friend Mike is here painting our foyer and living room to get rid of the god-awful faux- finishing that the previous owners did. Can’t wait to see it when it’s finished!

Have a great Sunday!

One Comment on “Waking up in Maryland”

  1. I always put at least a 1/2 cup of liquid eggs in my oats as well, it helps keep me full much longer than just plain carbs. The nut butter looks good, I haven’t been able to find that brand where I live but I keep looking.


I love hearing your feedback! Feel free to leave a comment. :)

