5 lbs. makes that much of a difference? Pho sure!

When I came home from Body Pump last night, my husband had dinner waiting for me!

Alright, he didn’t actually cook dinner- he just picked it up from the Vietnamese place down the street. But that’s okay with me- I don’t think I had enough muscle left to even hold a knife to chop anything after last night’s class!

Greg and I are big fans of pho (which is actually pronounced more like Fuh- hard to type phonetically…)- it’s our standard cold, rainy night dinner (even though it wasn’t rainy last night- it was chilly) and we get it at least every other week in the winter months. And I always get the same thing- Pho Ga, which is basically just Vietnamese chicken noodle soup with a side order of steamed broccoli (which I add into my Pho). Greg gets some variety of beef (although I think he’s always missing out- the chicken is just way better). We also usually get an order of Summer Rolls, which are vermicelli noodles, lettuce, mint leaves, pork and shrimp wrapped in a rice paper roll (and they come with a delicious peanut dipping sauce).

When you order pho (at least for carry-out), it comes deconstructed and you put it together. There’s a pile of rice noodles and whatever your chosen meat is along with a few garnishes. At the place we go to, they include mung bean sprouts, thinly sliced jalepenos, scallions, lime, thai basil and a side of chili sauce. You also get a big container of broth, which is what makes the pho taste so darn good.

A big bowl of pho makes me very happy.

Rewind a little bit to BEFORE last night’s dinner: Let’s talk about Body Pump. My life is kind of revolved around Body Pump right now, since I have my initial training in just over 3 weeks! Since I took a year plus hiatus from taking the classes, I have a lot to catch up on. I’m trying to take 3 classes a week and really perfect my form and build a little more strength.

I talked to my friend Jill the other day (who is also the aerobics coordinator at the gym that I teach at) and she gave me some great tips onΒ  how to do well in the training and pass the certification. Apparently they are pretty picky over at Les Mills and really want their instructors to be perfect role models for the rest of the class (can’t say I blame ’em!). One of the things that she told me was to LOAD UP on the weight. So last night, that’s exactly what I did. I just added two 2 1/2 lb. plates onto my bar for each track, so my bar was a total of 5 lbs. heavier. Holy heck- I might as well have added 100 lbs.! I definitely felt the extra weight- and it’s so crazy how those little plates make SUCH a difference! I was literally shaking at the end of each track and completely fatigued every muscle in my body. It hurt of course, but it felt great!

I’m (obviously) sore today- but that’s a good thing- it’s nice to know that it’s doing something! It’s always good to mix it up- and that might be why it was good for me to take a break from BP for a while and come back now.

Have a wonderful Thursday- anyone else feel like this is the longest week in history??!!

Do you ever eat Pho? Do you take Bodypump- and if so- how often do you add more weight?

13 Comments on “5 lbs. makes that much of a difference? Pho sure!”

  1. Ella, RD says:

    First time commenter and I had to leave one because I love pho too!! Growing up near Seattle, it’s everywhere! The ideal rainy day food πŸ™‚

    • Lauren says:

      Hi Ella- thanks for commenting. πŸ™‚
      I’m so jealous that you grew up near Seattle- I went there during my honeymoon and loved it! Can’t wait to go back for a longer visit next time!

  2. This week is flying by, I can’t believe it’s Thursday already!!!! I’ve never had Pho, but that may have to change because it looks awesome and comforting πŸ™‚

  3. Gil says:

    If you could only have one Asian cuisine, what would it be?
    I like to play this game with myself, but I can never decide…

    • Lauren says:

      Ya know- I like Asian cuisine, but it’s not my favorite by far. I guess if I had to pick which I liked best I’d probably go with Japanese. Or Thai… Of course, you’re the authority on Chinese (and not Americanized Chinese- REAL Chinese food!)

      • Gil says:

        Real Chinese is so good that I can’t understand why “we” changed it…I can’t ever decide between them….I love Asia as a food region BUT, if I could only choose one country in the world…definitely Spain!

  4. Sara R. says:

    Where did you get your Pho? I’ve never had it before but if I can find that out, then the answer will soon be yes, I eat Pho! It looks amazing. I try to go up a bit on SOMETHING every other week or so in Body Pump but I do it on a track-by-track basis. Today I went up on chest and triceps, next week I will probably go up a bit on back.

    • Lauren says:

      We go to Viet Gourmet on Rosemont. It’s right on the way to my house, so it’s super convenient to stop by there. A lot of people swear by Lucky Corner, but I think Viet Gourmet is way better. Plus, I think it’s $7 for a giant bowl of Pho. GO GET SOME!

  5. I love love love love pho. I used to eat it all the time when I lived right next door to a place. Now I have to travel for it, but it is so worth it. I love all the yummy components. So unique and unlike any other dish!

  6. Will R says:

    I should try and eat more faux.

    Also, this week is flying by but could not be over fast enough! I say, good riddance!

  7. Kath says:

    Load up that weight girl!


I love hearing your feedback! Feel free to leave a comment. :)

