The word of the day is: Pumpkin

Happy Halloween!

Greg and I decided to dedicate Sunday evening to everything pumpkin. We set out to carve the pumpkins that we picked last weekend, so that we could light them up tonight for trick-or-treaters. Usually, Greg and I get really into pumpkin carving. He leaves it to me to choose a theme and find or make a design for each of us, but I never got around to it this year. So, when it was about 5:00 yesterday and I still hadn’t chosen anything, I wasn’t feeling too creative. Since we were watching football, I just decided to go with our football teams logos this year- Ravens for me and Patriots for Greg.  (I’m pretty disappointed in my lack of creativity this year, but there’s always next Halloween!) I printed out a picture of each and we attacked the pumpkins.

I always cut the bottom off my pumpkin rather than the top. It’s MUCH EASIER this way! You don’t have to worry about the top fitting back in, and it just looks neater overall (in my opinion!). When it’s time to light the pumpkin, you just sit in right on top of a lit candle- it works perfectly.

Oh- and pumpkin carving is even more fun with pumpkin beer (of which we still have plenty of!).


Greg and I each drew the designs of our team’s logos onto the pumpkins, while the pups kept us company under the table.

In hindsight, maybe I should have found a pattern and traced it on. In the end, I made one wrong cut, and it completely ruined the design. I have a deformed Ravens logo now. Greg’s looked pretty good, though!

We had fun anyway- we’ll see how they look tonight all lit up!

After pumpkin carving, Greg was in charge of separating the seeds from the pulp while I got started on dinner. Janetha from Meals and Moves posted this recipe on her blog last week, and I knew it would only be a matter of days before I made it myself. Pumpkin Sage Pasta Sauce- doesn’t that just sound amazing? I can tell you, it was. And pretty easy to make, too.

I scaled down her recipe, since there were just two of us. I pretty much followed it exactly, but didn’t have any pre-seasoned ground turkey, so I just sprinkled some italian seasonings in while it was browning. I also added some mushrooms and spinach to the sauce. And I put it over top of 365 brand Fettuccine noodles, because that’s what we had on hand. I also had some black bean pasta, which I think would have been really good- not sure Greg would have liked it as much, though.

This recipe was a WINNER! One I will definitely have to make again, many more times!

Tonight will be the first time Greg and I have ever given out candy. When we lived in our townhouse, it would have been a kind of a pain to constantly run downstairs all night, so we just didn’t do it. But now with our new house, there’s really no excuse. Plus, I always think it’s so cute to see the kiddos all dressed up. It’s going to be COLD though- glad I won’t be out walking around!

What’s your favorite pumpkin recipe? Are you doing anything for Halloween tonight?

 

 

7 Comments on “The word of the day is: Pumpkin”

  1. What a fun pumpkin themed night. I love that Greg matched his pumpkin! I have the same meals and moves recipe bookmarked:) enjoy giving out candy tonight. It’s my first night to give out candy too.

    • Lauren says:

      If you make it- you definitely have to post it! I’d be curious to see if everyone loves it as much as I do!
      Greg always wears a Pats shirt or jersey on game day… always. That’s my fashionable hubby for ya!

  2. Erika says:

    Bryce ate raw pumpkin the other night while we were carving. Said it was good. I’ll take his word for it.

  3. Of course we’re celebrating tonight! I have 3 kids who are chomping at the bit to go trick or treating. They will be running from house to house. I would love to try that pasta sauce, not sure if my family will go for it but they might.

  4. Michelle says:

    I love the idea of cutting out the bottom of the pumpkin instead of the top! I’ll have to remember that!

    My grand plans for tonight: run an errand, go to the gym, make homemade pizza, and then get ready for the next day.

  5. Gil says:

    In honor of Halloween, I had pumpkin for every meal today! But no candy…


I love hearing your feedback! Feel free to leave a comment. :)

