Face your Fears! (and November goals)

Wow- looking back on it, October certainly fly right by! It seems like I was just making my October goals yesterday.

Since I just did a progress check of my October goals last week, I won’t take the time to run through them again. I will, however, add any missed goals from October to my November list.

This month is all about facing fears for me. It’s time to put my big girl pants on and stare what scares me right in the face and deal with it. I know that this might seem like such a small thing to some people, but I remember the first time I did yoga (after not having done it for over a year- and never doing it regularly), I started with my beloved Bob Harper Yoga for the Warrior dvd. It was so hard and I was sweating the whole way through- almost drenched when I was done. I remember looking at some of the poses and thinking “are you kidding me?” The one that scared me the most was the wheel pose. I just didn’t think that I’d be able to bend my hands back that way and didn’t trust lifting my body weight up. It took a few sessions, and lots of confidence, but within a week, I could do it.

(I set the timer on my camera to take this photo yesterday while doing yoga in my classroom after school. It’s so peaceful and quiet- I love it! Really, I just wanted to know what I looked like, since I never do yoga next to a mirror.)

With yoga, like anything else, I’ll continue to practice and improve. I’ll try to push my hands in closer towards my heels and lift my hips up higher, but I’m proud of where I’m at. Sometimes you just need a little taste of victory to boost your confidence and make you want to push further.

Without further a due:

NOVEMBER GOALS

1. Join Weight Watchers

Yes, for real. I don’t know why, but the idea of joining Weight Watchers scares the crap out of me. I’ve given this A LOT of thought, and even though in the past when I’ve done WW I’ve become quite obsessed with points and numbers, I’m going to give it another shot. I guess the idea of being accountable to something- or someone right now is what scares me. But, I NEED THIS STRUCTURE. What I’ve been trying is not working, and I’m hoping that joining WW gives me the structure I need. There’s a meeting tomorrow right after my Body Pump class in the same shopping center as my gym, so I kind of have no excuse not to go.

2. Get certified to teach Body Pump

Another thing that scares me a little bit. I’m not afraid of teaching or speaking in front of a group- I love it! It’s just the whole process that is a little frightening (fear of the unknown, maybe?). I registered for my initial training for Nov. 19 and 20. It’s two weeks of training from 8 am – 5 pm and I’m sure it will be hell. I have to go in knowing how to teach an assigned track, and then after the training I have to get filmed teaching an entire 60 minute class, which will be assessed by Les Mills in order for me to be certified. I’ve heard that it is really hard and that they are super critical of everything, but if you have a thick skin, you make it through okay (and it’s worth it in the end)! So, hopefully when I am reviewing these goals, all of that training will be behind me and I will be certified!

3. Cut my hair

I’m sure that most women can relate- chopping off your hair is scary! But, I’m going to do it. Yesterday it took me 20 minutes just to dry my hair, and I reached my breaking point. It takes SO much styling time just to look decent anymore, and the time is just not worth it. I can think of 100 things I’d rather do with the 30 minutes+ that I would save each day if my hair was shorter. Just how short? I’m not sure yet. No longer than shoulder-length, that’s all I know.

4. Go to bed earlier

Going to bed earlier does not scare me. This is a goal that I am carrying over from October, and it needs to be a priority. I really, really need to get 8 hours of sleep every single night. No exceptions.

5. Girl time

Another goal from October. I defintely did not get enough QT with my girlfriends last month. And trying to schedule more time with them over the next 2 months is going to be tough- my schedule is pretty full and everyone seems to be a bit nuts around the holidays. Regardless, it’s not that hard to take out an hour or two in your day once in a while to have coffee or dinner or even just a walk downtown with a girlfriend.

**

So, that’s it. 5 goals. That doesn’t seem so hard, right?

Are you setting any goals for November? What scares you- and how you can conquer it?

10 Comments on “Face your Fears! (and November goals)”

  1. Great goals!! Love ’em. Especially the BodyPUMP one, of course 😉 It is hard, I am not gonna lie, BUT it is do-able. SO have fun, work your butt off, and you’ll be certified in no time. Changed my life. Literally!

    Congrats on getting into that pose–that is hard stuff, girl!

    My goals are to enjoy every single day!, pray more often, have more patience, and get even stronger 🙂

  2. These sound like awesome goals! Good luck on your certification!!

    I think my goals are to keep up with the gym, yoga, and running, plan and go on vacation, de-clutter my apartment, and turn 31. 🙂

  3. Michelle says:

    My husband is on Weight Watchers for the accountability piece. He just uses it online.

    I am always surprised how difficult yoga is. I’m still sore from my practice on Sunday morning!

    • Lauren says:

      That’s great that your hubby is doing WW! I’ve actually heard of a lot of men doing the program lately.
      I’m always surprised by how hard yoga is too- it’s humbling! But as a runner, you know that it is SUCH a great balance with your routine.

  4. I like your list of goals. I always get 8 or 9 hours of sleep because I am no good if I don’t. When it comes to my hair I am super impulsive, which is not always the best, but it’s fun.

    Your list has inspired me and I think this month I want to be more organized and branch out with my cooking, always a work in progress.

  5. Gil says:

    I love this! We would miss out on so much just living within our comfort zones.
    I also love WW and haircuts…my only experience with Body Pump was bizarre, but maybe I should give it another shot.

    • Lauren says:

      Seriously- when I saw that you cut your hair, I was like “I HAVE TO CUT MINE TOO!” Yours is SO DARN CUTE!
      And yes- give Bodypump another shot!! It’s the best!

  6. Health Bee says:

    Great goals! Way to go!

  7. […] me track back to November 1st briefly and check out the goals I set for that month (and how I […]


I love hearing your feedback! Feel free to leave a comment. :)

