So much reading material!

When I got home from work yesterday, I was pleased to find that my Bodypump training packet had arrived in the mail! These two guys will be a huge part of my life for the next few weeks.

I plan to set aside some time this weekend (which is already packed!) to read the manual cover-to-cover. Guess I’ll just have to multi-task that with a nice long soak in the tub at some point. šŸ™‚

I was really curious to see exactly what was on the DVD, so I popped it in my dvd player this morning. There’s a lot of different stuff, but obviously part of it is going through a Bodypump class for this particular release. I followed along (without weights) to the warm-up (it was all I had time for) and was happy about how much of the routine I already have memorized. I’m hoping that I can easily remember all of the counts and everything when it comes time for ME to be leading them! On another note, I’m SO SORE from yesterday’s bodypump class. This release is just killer!

**

My other reading material was given to me yesterday after Bodypump when I went to register for Weight Watchers.

I haven’t had a lot of time to look over it yet, but I have to say- it is definitely different than the last time that I joined Weight Watchers! I am really excited about the new Points Plus program- I think it will be totally easy for me to follow. I definitely like that fruits and veggies are zero points- but that being said- I’m not going to start eating 100 bananas a day because they’re “free.”

And I am REALLY digging the WW phone app!

It just makes things so much easier- especially since it is synced with the account that I made on the WW website. I plugged in my points for breakfast and lunch and a snack this morning, so it was already done. I made oatmeal this morning for breakfast, but have been making it without oat bran lately because while it does bulk it up, it makes the oats less chewy. And I love that chewy consistency of warm oats.

My bowl of oatmeal (1/2 c. rolled oats, 1 T walnuts, stevia, cinnamon and topped with some (warmed) frozen strawberries and 1/2 T of sunflower butter) is 6 pts.

Ideally, I’d like to eat a little more for breakfast so that I am using most of my points earlier in the day and eating a smaller dinner. I’d like to shoot for 8 next time.

I have 29 points to use each day (and I’m also glad that my points balance won’t drop as I lose weight- I remember that being challenging last time!) After breakfast, lunch and an after-school snack, I’m left with 10 points for the rest of the night. I guess that’s okay- but I’m thinking that I’d like to have less so that I’m not eating so many calories later in the day. If any of you readers are following the WW Points Plus plan, I’d love to know your take on this!

AND- this doesn’t include activity points. I’m doing an hour of flow yoga, which I think is supposed to add 4 points. I ran into a problem with activity points the last time I did WW. A 45-min spin class is supposed to be 8 or 9, but if I eat 8 or 9 points more each day- that is A LOT.

Getting on that scale yesterday was definitely a wake-up call. I need to gain control of my eating habits, and I woke up extremely optimistic today. This whole thing is really going to force me to look at what/when/why I eat. I also did the pre-paid thing for each month, so I’m kind of committed now, or I lose out on some major money!

I want to thank my new good friend Sara for going with me, too. šŸ™‚

Do you/have you ever done Weight Watchers? Any advice- things you like or have found helpful?

 

 

18 Comments on “So much reading material!”

  1. Jessica says:

    Hi Lauren,
    I can’t even remember how I found your blog but I’ve been a lurker for a few weeks so I figured it was time to chime in.
    I’m a spinning instructor up in NY/CT.
    I recently joined weight watchers as well. I wanted to lose a few pounds and quite frankly doing it on my own just wasn’t working because I gave myself too many passes. Like you, I had done it years ago and it was interesting to see the changes.
    I usually have about 6 points for breakfast and then try to leave myself about 10-13 for the evening. I’m doing it with my boyfriend (but he has 46 points to use!!) and since we eat dinner together this way I don’t have to eat something completely different than him.
    Obviously different things work for different people.
    I’m beyond obsessed with Julie from Peanut Butter Fingers’s Banana Bread Protein pancakes and was happy to learn that they’re only 6 points when made with ff cottage cheese and egg beaters. Yum!
    OK, enough rambling. Good luck with everything! I do blog a bit about this on my blog but due to a computer virus i’ve been unable to blog all week. šŸ˜¦
    And now I’ll stop…Have a great Thursday!

    • Lauren says:

      Hey Jessica!
      I looked at your blog and love the spin instructor perspective! Thanks for all the tips and your own insight- and I’ll have to check out Julie’s protein pancakes. I make really great ones with coconut flour and egg whites (I have a recipe link somewhere on my blog) that will probably only end up being about 3 or 4 pts… I’ll have to calculate it out! (But then of course, I’d have to add nut butter or something on the top!)
      Thanks for being a lurker AND a commenter- let me know how your WW progress goes!

  2. Yay!!! I’m on Weight Watchers too!!! I’ve been going about a month and love it šŸ™‚

  3. Gil says:

    I’m the exact opposite–I’ve always been a breakfast/lunch eater, but I still hoard the bulk of my points for dinner. I know its better to eat more earlier, but I feel like dinner is the meal that I can really relax and enjoy, so I want the points for it!

  4. Health Bee says:

    Great job! Keep up the good work.

  5. I’m a huge WW supporter! I think it’s one of the best programs for weight loss. I tend to hoard my points for the remainder of my day to account for my night eating. Unfortunately this isn’t the healthiest plan so I need to re-strategize my points. Just don’t stress yourself too much with over counting and obsessing because you’ll drive yourself crazy.

  6. You seem to be going about your health in a smart way. It is such a struggle but for me I can’t follow any numbers, it just isn’t for me. I try to make really smart choices and hope for the best. Good luck with Body Pump, that is awesome. I’ve never tried it but have heard great things about it.

    • Lauren says:

      I’ve tried everything and really hate to count calories and track ANY numbers, but I’m so frustrated, and I know that this program really works if you follow it. We’ll see how it goes!
      And Body Pump IS awesome!

  7. WAHOO!! You got the stuff for BodyPUMP in the mail. Can I please live vicariously through you?! I LOVED the whole training, and it seriously changed my attitude and outlook on life. Have fun going through the material!!

    Sounds like WW is going to be great for you!

    • Lauren says:

      I looooved the training for my spin instructor certification. It was only one full day, but I learned SO much! So, I’m thinking that BP will be the same.
      I am a little intimidated though- I have to go in knowing how to teach the whole 79 release and each of us was assigned two tracks to teach the rest of the class. I got Triceps and Lunges. I was really hoping for Back and Abs, but what can you do. šŸ™‚

  8. Michelle says:

    My husband is on WW, and he uses all of his daily points but usually doesn’t use all of his exercise and/or weekly points. He’s found this is the only way he can lose weight. (I hope this makes sense because I am just trying to remember what he’s told me.)

    • Lauren says:

      Yeah… I’m trying to figure out a balance. I went over my points a bit this weekend, but I exercised quite a bit and have those weekly points, so I’m hoping that it all balances out on the scale. Guess I’ll find out soon!

  9. YAY I’m so excited for you. I’ve been in Texas, so I’ve been a little MIA, but I’m excited for this next page in your journey! You’re a strong woman and I know you’re going to inspire many!


I love hearing your feedback! Feel free to leave a comment. :)

