Weighing on my mind

Tuesdays are definitely love/hate for me. I hate getting up at 4:30 am, but I love teaching spin class!

I also love getting deep tissue massage every other Tuesday. While I was on the table, my mind wandered. Oddly enough (maybe because I was really hungry) I started thinking about making a strawberry protein muffin. When I got home, I got to work!

This is what I came up with- not a bad afternoon snack

(or breakfast for some people- it definitely wouldn’t fill me up though!)

Strawberry short(protein)cake

3 large frozen strawberries

2 T coconut flour

1/2 T oat flour

1/2 tsp baking powder

3 T egg whites

2 T water or almond milk

1 packet french vanilla stevia, divided

1/3 c 0% plain Greek yogurt

Thaw strawberries in the microwave in a bowl and mash with a fork, so that they are the consistency of jam. Stir the rest of the ingredients except for the yogurt and use only 1/2 of the stevia packet. Pour into a small bowl and microwave for 3 minutes, or until cooked through. Meanwhile, mix the remaining stevia with the yogurt. Slice cake in half (width-wise) and spread 1/2 of the yogurt on the bottom layer. Place the remaining cake on top of the yogurt layer and spread the remaining yogurt on top.

(This was 4 WW points)

**

My first WW weigh-in is tomorrow afternoon. I have to be honest- I’m very nervous! I have been pretty much “perfect” all week and have followed the program to a “T.” I have not mindlessly munched and have documented all of my foods (except for a few veggies- but they are zero points). I used 15 of my weekly points, and none of my activity points (I’d rather just not use them). So, we’ll see.

If I have a loss, I will be super happy- and super motivated to keep going. Losing weight is just something that is really hard for me, due to a number of different things. I’m really hopeful that this new journey I am on will work for me!

If I don’t have a loss, I’ll be honest- I’ll be crushed. I know that I should just keep going, but I have to say- I’ll be extremely frustrated. I really don’t think there is anything that I could have done better. So, we’ll see…

Hoping for the best!

 

 

10 Comments on “Weighing on my mind”

  1. Oh that snack looks delicious! thanks for posting the recipe!

  2. That protein muffin looks like the perfect post workout snack. Good luck tomorrow with your weigh in. Remember to take whatever comes your way in stride. You know that you are working hard and how you feel about yourself and your efforts is much more important than the number on the scale.

  3. Don’t stress about the weighin!! You feel much better if you don’t freak yourself out. You are worth more than that number on the scale!!

    • Lauren says:

      Yes- I really have to focus on NOT letting that stupid number dictate my mood! Well, if it’s “good” then it will definitely make me happy, though!

  4. Lovely little muffin!

    I’m sure you will have a loss. The problem I struggle with is beating myself up when I don’t write down one or two things on accident or maybe getting a little too cocky when you have several losses in a row. Rough rough.

    Good luck! Let us know how you do! Either way, you are doing some amazing things for yourself!

    • Lauren says:

      Thanks, Erin! It definitely helps to have support from other ladies that know exactly how I’m feeling!
      (oh- and I love that our birthdays are exactly one day apart!) ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Lauren, we are all here for you. If you are making good choices which it seems you are, you are bound to have a loss at some point. I feel like the most important factor with weight is being conscious about our choices. Your muffin looks great. Keep on doing what you’re doing.

  6. Sara R. says:

    You’ll do great! You did really well your first week, and I know it will show. And I am going to make that muffin just as soon as I can, it looks amazing!


I love hearing your feedback! Feel free to leave a comment. :)

