Potato + Veggie Frittata

Happy hump day!

I was completely indecisive about what to make for dinner last night, but kept thinking about this Spanish Tortilla that I had made a while ago from Whole Foods’ recipe index. It’s a really great meal to throw together, because it contains ingredients that I always have on hand. It’s also easy to add/take away ingredients depending on availability and your mood!

A “Spanish Tortilla” is basically the exact same thing as a frittata, but it also includes potatoes. I almost always crave something sweet for breakfast, so if I ever make an omelet or frittata, it’s generally for dinner.

Potato + Veggie Frittata (serves 2)

1/2 T olive oil

1 medium to large-sized potato (I used 3 small) that will yield 1 cup when chopped

1/2 of a red bell pepper

1/3 of a medium-sized red onion

2 cloves of garlic

1 slice of nitrate-free bacon

2 big handfuls of fresh spinach

2 eggs

3/4 c egg whites

salt + pepper to taste

cooking spray

 

First, I heated up a nonstick skillet with a little bit of olive oil and chopped up the potatoes, garlic, onion, bell pepper and bacon.

Then I added the chopped ingredients to the skillet and let them cook for a bit, until the potatoes were slightly browned and the veggies were soft.

Then add in the spinach, and give it a good stir. It will wilt down in a minute or two.

In a large bowl, whisk the egg and egg whites together and add in salt + pepper. Add the ingredients from the skillet to the bowl and stir well. Wipe the skillet clean and apply cooking spray. Pour the egg mixture into the skillet place over medium heat.

Cover and cook for an addition 7-8 minutes, or until egg is cooked all the way through.

Slice the frittata into four sections for easy removal

And enjoy! (I enjoyed it with some kale. Note- Lacinato Kale does not roast well.)

This has a LOT of flavor! I think that adding that extra little piece of bacon helps. šŸ™‚

Oh! Check this out!

This was a wedding gift from my Massage Therapist! She also makes jewelry and sells it at various shows around the country. She happened to be at a show with this potter that I LOVE out of Missouri. I discovered his work years ago on a field trip that I took my students on to the Sugarloaf Craft Fair. I go back and buy a piece of his pottery every time I go to that show (several pieces have shown up on this blog in the past). Anyway, she bought this coffee set for Greg and me, and I literally squealed with delight when I opened the box! Hooray for beautiful pottery AND wedding gifts 4 months later!

Have a great Wednesday!

4 Comments on “Potato + Veggie Frittata”

  1. Gil says:

    Looks so good! Spain has certainly been calling my name again. Where else can 3 Euro buy a delicious glass of wine AND a wedge of tortilla?
    Also, I can never seems to get mine done as nicely as yours turned out without the flip…and the flip psyches me out. Is there a trick here?

  2. ooooh pretty pottery!!

    I love eggs on anything-so this sounds great (minus the bacon. hah).

  3. Kris says:

    Hello Gorgeous Frittata!!!!! This looks amazing!!

    I do love me some nice pottery, those are so cute!!

    xxoo

  4. […] fritatta. It was really delicious- the black beans added a great texture that was similar to the potato fritatta I made for dinner the other […]


I love hearing your feedback! Feel free to leave a comment. :)

