Sage inspiration

I was watching the Voltaggio Brothers’ Thanksgiving special last week, and Michael V. said the best quote:

“Recipes are a guidemap- not a contract.

While blog surfing a week or two ago, I came across this recipe from Jenna Eat, Live, Run. Looking at the photo just made my mouth water. I love making a variety of different forms of “burgers” (see here, here and here), but I don’t often use turkey as the main component. I started thinking about some ingredients that I could throw together to create an outstandingly delicious turkey burger. I knew I wanted to use herbs and cheese, but didn’t know exactly which types of each. As I often do, I looked in my fridge for inspiration. I decided to use sage and cottage cheese. It sounds weird, I know- but it tasted sooooo goooooood.

I mean, check out these patties, they were raw and still looked delicious!

I was so excited to see how they’d turn out, I could barely wait to cook them up.

The cooked version:

Sage + spinach turkey burgers (makes 3 patties)

1/2 lb. extra-lean ground turkey breast

1 large handful of spinach, steamed and wilted down

1/3 c. no salt added 1% cottage cheese

2 T of sage, chopped

1/4 of a small onion, finely chopped

2 medium-sized crimini mushrooms, finely chopped

1 T Bragg’s liquid aminos

1 tsp garlic powder

salt + pepper to taste (about 1/2 tsp of each)

1 slice of Ezekiel bread, ground up in a food processor or blender to make breadcrumbs

Mix all of the ingredients together in a large bowl, and form into 3 equal-size patties (mine were each exactly 5 1/2 oz.) You can cook the burgers by using your method of choice- I used a sautee pan and cooked them over medium heat on each side for a few minutes, and then popped them into a 350-degree oven until they were cooked all the way through.

I served them on top of a little bed of Freekeh, with a slice of roasted eggplant in between.

Though I generally prefer to eat a burger without a bun (so that I can really taste the flavor of the burger- I’d rather eat bread on its own, too), this would be really great with some lettuce and tomato on a bun.

Also of note: When I plugged the ingredients into the WW recipe builder, it calculated it to 3 pts. YES. That’s right, fellow WW followers- I said 3!

I put the same flavors into the freekeh (onions, shrooms, sage, spinach, Bragg’s, salt + pepper), which also turned out wonderfully.

And one more side made it onto the plate…

I just can’t get enough kale. Seriously. There are a lot of worse addictions I could have. 🙂

For dessert, I cracked open one of these.

And it really was “So Yummy!” Rich and chocolatey- not “soy tasting” like I expected.

Oh, and hey- check this out:

I love Better ‘N Peanut butter. I’ve been buying it for years– from way back when I could only find it at Trader Joe’s. I’ve had the chocolate variety, but saw the banana flavor for the first time yesterday when I stopped at Wegmans’. It’s okay… not overly-banana-y… not bad, but not great either.

Have a great Wednesday- hope it’s not rainy where you are!

What’s your favorite kind of burger?

 

 

7 Comments on “Sage inspiration”

  1. Sinead says:

    These look good! I will try out your recipe tonight!

  2. Those burgers look SO GOOD. Also the way you served them up so fancy, nice touch. I could never soley be a food blogger because I love hot food and don’t have the patience to photograph before I scarf it all down.

    It makes sense that the cottage cheese would make them nice and moist, can’t wait to try them out.

    All your cooking looks so good I wish I was your annoying neighbor who came over every night oddly enough right around dinner time.

  3. I love black bean chipotle burgers–SO tasty.

    These look good too! Yumm.

  4. Michelle says:

    I’ve made Jenna’s Spinach Feta Burgers before, and they were delicious! I like regular hamburgers too, but I have also made some really good vegan burgers.

  5. Those burgers look delicious! I love using ground turkey to make burgers even if it’s super sticky. I’m going to have to try freekah one of these days 🙂

    I’m a huge Better N’Peanut Butter fan but I dislike the chocolate and banana flavors.

    • Lauren says:

      Yes- I’m on a mission to introduce freekeh to the masses!
      These burgers were not sticky at all, surprisingly. I think it was the bread crumbs that kept that from happening.


I love hearing your feedback! Feel free to leave a comment. :)

