Staying the course

Hey, hey- it’s Thursday!

Last month, I was asked by Great Sage to do a guest-post for their blog. They asked that I make a veggie-friendly seasonal meal, which I happy obliged! Check out the post here if you have a moment. The recipe is really yummy, too!

**

Yesterday was my day to weigh in at WW. I tried not to get my hopes up too much, but also knew that I did everything correctly this week- I did not overeat, I used my points every day (and used a few extra, as I was told to do), so in the back of my mind, I was hoping for a much better loss. I figured that a bigger loss this week would outweigh the super crappy one from last week.

And…. I lose 0.8 lbs. For a grand total of 1 lb. over 2 weeks time.

1 down, 19 to go.

Definitely frustrating- but I didn’t let it defeat me this time. A loss is a loss, I know that. But when you are doing everything that you possibly could be and not getting the results, it’s hard to stay positive.

I still maintain the attitude that I am staying the course and will not quit. I mean, seriously, what’s the alternative?

I thought about possible reasons of why I am not losing weight:

– I don’t have a whole lot to lose, so it’s coming off painfully slow

– I have increased my weight-lifting a lot in the last few weeks due to my Body Pump training and certification process

– My metabolism is so damaged (from things I’ve done) that my body just tries to hold on to fat and has a hard time letting it go

I’ll elaborate on that last one in another post… sigh.

One last thing- I really need to do my weigh-ins in the morning (which could only be on a Saturday morning with my schedule) because I probably weigh LESS at that time and, then I get it overwith and don’t have to think about it all day. This evening weigh-in stuff is a bummer.

**

Anyway. On to happier things! I did successfully go through my whole Body Pump routine with minimal errors yesterday and nailed the counts and choreography! I am much more confident now going into training this weekend. And when I got home from the gym last night, my wonderful husband was working on dinner. Greg’s taken on the role of cooking dinner on Wednesday nights, since I get home so late. I was impressed last weekend when he put a plan together of what he was going to make for this week’s meal. He picked up some grass fed sirloin cubes from Hedgeapple and some veggies and other supplies from the grocery store to make kebabs!

He made a delicious marinade for the beef, too, and even threw a few shrimp on one of the skewers for me.

How many people are we feeding here?? Ten? No- seriously, Greg could easily polish off the whole plate by himself- the boy can eat.

I had some roasted broccoli and sweet potatoes on the side:

Definitely a tasty dinner. I told Greg that I might have to start assigning him dinner cooking duties 2 nights a week- except that means I have to clean up afterwards on those 2 nights… not sure if I’m willing to do that…

**

Have a great Thursday!

Who does the cooking in your house? Do you share kitchen duties?

14 Comments on “Staying the course”

  1. Good morning!

    My boyfriend does the cooking almost every night, which means that I have the pleasure of doing the dishes (argh!). Let’s just say he’s not a master of the one-pot meal. I love that he cooks but I really hate always (and I mean always) washing dishes.

    Guess that’s the general trade off, eh?

  2. Kerry Morton says:

    Hi. I’m new to your blog but have really enjoyed reading it. I too have done weight watchers in the past (the old and new program). I lost a significant amount of weight on the old plan and it seemed to work very well. I think the new plan is great because it focuses on more whole foods than processed but I also believe that the weight is slower to come off and that people that exercise a lot struggle to lose weight on the new plan. When I don’t work out on the new plan the weight tends to come off at a pretty good rate but to me that’s really not the point. When I exercise like normal (4 to 5 times a week) I either gained that week or only lost .something at a time. It was definitely frustrating. It may be something to talk to the leader about. I Just wanted to let you know that I wouldn’t be completely blaming yourself. You’re doing what’s healthy for you and I’m just not sure how structured this new plan is for people who regularly exercise quite a bit.

    • Lauren says:

      Hi Kerry- Thanks for posting this! It’s nice to know that I’m not the only one that seems to have this issue. I often wonder what would happen if I stopped exercising completely- if I would actually lose weight. Unfortunately, I can’t do that 100% because I teach several exercise classes a week!

  3. ann says:

    I think you are right about the weight training effecting your weight loss. Stick with it, be patient and I’ll bet you will see a bigger loss in a week or two. I know how hard it can be to stick to plan when you are not seeing great results.

  4. A pound lost is better than a pound gained!! I’d give it a couple of weeks then potentially speak to your doctor because your thyroid could be off. Though I’m guessing that your increased weight lifting has effected your weight loss. How do you feel? Do you feel good about yourself? Are you feeling stronger and how are your clothes fitting? Don’t stress too much about it! I always think you’ll do awesome at Body Pump training this weekend! I can’t wait to read about training!!

    • Lauren says:

      True, true. I’ve had my thyroid tested (and everything else) and the only thing that’s come back is that i have a super high level of cortisol, which makes it near impossible to lose weight (your body wants to hold on to fat any way it can).
      My clothes are not looser yet- but I’m waiting for that to happen! 🙂

  5. WAHOO!! 1 pound lost is great, girl! Nice work 🙂 Keep at it and it’ll be gone in no time!

    Great job on nailing the choreo–you’ll rock the training this weekend. I am SO excited for you–and I can’t wait to read all about it! Woot.

    • Lauren says:

      I’ll be sure to give you all the dirty details! You (and all of the BP instructors at my gym) have spoken so positively about the training- I’m optimistic that you’re right!

  6. I do the cooking but if my husband did he would make that much food as well, so funny. Your attitude will take you far. My attitude is slow and steady wins the race. Carry on and do what you’re doing, it will all click together soon.

    • Lauren says:

      Yes, my skinny husband eats twice as much as I do. Sigh.
      You are definitely right about the attitude- I’ve just got to keep it in check and look towards the goal!

  7. Do not get discouraged!!! You can’t control how your body reacts to the positive changes you’re making, but you can control whether you continue to be healthy and stay on course. Eventually it will have to catch up with you.
    Also, I miss Body Pump (my gym used to offer it but no more) and I’m super jealous of your husband cooking dinner on busy/late nights. Mine wouldn’t even think of that 😉 Good thing I like cooking!!

  8. […] if Greg cooks dinner for the two of us, it’s one of three things: hamburgers, salmon or kebabs. There’s also a fourth option, white wine chicken, which is what he made last […]


I love hearing your feedback! Feel free to leave a comment. :)

