Guess what? I made enchiladas!

I think I’ve made enchiladas once in my life. And it was years ago- I don’t even remember how they turned out.

I do like enchiladas, but typically don’t order them because they’re not the healthiest thing on the menu. I’ve also had one too many soggy enchiladas from restaurants, and that leaves a bad taste in my mouth.

I was trying to do the whole dinner menu planning thing last Sunday with Greg and said “hey, how about enchiladas one night?” So last night, that’s what I made. I had a big bag of Masa in my pantry (because apparently it only comes in BIG BAGS) from the time that I attempted to make homemade tortillas (which did not turn out so well). This time I did a little researching beforehand about how I could perfect the art of tortilla making (since i don’t have a tortilla press-yet!) and the secret was using a resealable bag- but I’ll elaborate on that more later.

I didn’t follow any kind of recipe- I just kind of threw things together that I thought would work. I honestly didn’t even know how to assemble enchiladas and just winged it. Unfortunately, I didn’t take as many photos as I would have liked, because the pre-cooking process ended up taking more time that I anticipated (thanks to me wanting to make my own tortillas!)

I emailed Greg yesterday morning and (since he works from home) asked him to throw one chicken breast in our “little dipper” crockpot and let it cook all day. I figured that shredded chicken that has been slow-cooking all day would have a much nicer texture than anything I would cook up in the evening. (and it also saved me from having to do that one extra step!)

In the evening, I started by making the tortillas. I used 1 cup of masa with a little pinch of baking soda and just over 1/2 cup of water. The masa and water were mixed together and then formed into one big dough ball.

Then, the big ball was divided into eight little balls.

I placed the Masa dough balls (one at a time) inside of a gallon size resealable bag, and cut along the bottom and two sides, so that it was only attached on the top. I rolled a rolling pin over top of the bag to flatten them out and then placed each tortilla (one by one) into a hot skillet for about 30 seconds on each side. It was really difficult to get a perfect circular shape, but it actually really didn’t matter much in the end. If I had a cast iron skillet, I would have used that instead, but this nonstick one worked pretty well.

After getting the tortillas ready, I chopped up a bunch of vegetables and roasted them in the oven until they were soft and tender. The chicken was placed in a large bowl and shredded with a fork:

When the veggies were done, they were added to the bowl (along with a little enchilada sauce, salsa, garlic, black beans and cheese) to make the filling for the enchiladas.

I stuffed the tortillas with the filling and placed them in a pan (which had a thin layer of enchilada sauce on the bottom)

and topped them with more enchilada sauce and cheese, covered the pan with foil, and put it in the oven.

35 minutes later, I had a hot, sizzling pan of enchilada goodness

Here’s the nitty gritty:

Chicken and roasted veggie enchiladas

1 cooked chicken breast (about 5-6 oz.), shredded

1 can of enchilada sauce, divided

1/2 c cheddar cheese, divided (I used Rice Shreds)

1/4 c mozzarella cheese (I used Rice Shreds)

2 cups of diced roasted veggies (I used eggplant, green bell pepper, zucchini and onion)

2 big handfuls of fresh spinach, steamed and wilted down

2 T salsa

1/4 c black beans (Ideally I’d use more- but I only had 1/4 left in my fridge)

8 corn tortillas

Pre-heat oven to 400. In a large bowl, mix together the chicken, roasted veggies, spinach, garlic, salsa, 1/4 c. of enchilada sauce and 1/4 c of chedder cheese. Blend together well. Pour about 1/4 c of enchilada sauce  into a baking dish (about 3″ in height)- enough to coat the bottom. Fill each tortilla with the chicken/veggie mixture, wrap together, and place seam-side down into the baking dish. Pour the remaining enchilada sauce over the top of the tortillas, followed by the rest of cheddar and mozzarella cheese. Cover with foil and bake for 25 minutes. Remove foil and bake for an additional 10 minutes.

There are so many other variations that I can think of for this recipe. I think that each time I make it, I’ll just throw in whatever flavors I have on hand. I’m also thinking of trying a winter squash variety and using a (homemade) different type of sauce.

Two enchiladas (topped with a dollop of Greek yogurt) easily filled me up- and that’s saying a lot! They didn’t look so pretty and fell apart a little bit getting onto the plate:

But, man they tasted good! I gave myself a pat on the back.

This is definitely the perfect meal to warm up your insides when it’s chilly out!

**

So this is THE weekend of Bodypump training. I’m excited for it, but will be relieved when it’s over. I’ve put in so many hours of practice and my body just needs a rest. I’ll be gone from 6:30 am – 6:30 pm both Saturday and Sunday, so hopefully I’ll be able to squeeze a blog post in. If not, you’ll see me Monday with a full report!

Do you have any exciting weekend plans? And- have you ever made enchiladas? What do you put in them?

6 Comments on “Guess what? I made enchiladas!”

  1. i LOVE enchiladas!! SO does my husband, so that is a our go-to meal, for sure! I’ve never made my own tortialls though….GO you!

    Mexican is so delicious 🙂

  2. How ambitious of you to make your tortillas from scratch! These look amazing. I made tamales from scratch one. It took all day lol. Mexican food can be quite time consuming if you don’t take short cuts! Good luck at your BodyPump training this weekend.

  3. LOVE enchiladas, but the ones I’ve been making for years would probably make my points+ value for the day go through the roof, but they are delicious!!! I think I need to try your version, but I don’t have the patience to make my own tortillas 😉
    Good luck with the training this weekend!!!

  4. I love enchiladas and try not too make them so often since I think they’re really easy to make (sans tortilla making of course) I dont know what first compelled me to make them though since I’ve never ordered them at restaurants because of the soggy factor. I do different add ins each time like black beans, chicken, pork, spinach, etc, and if you make the meat ahead of time, it’s so quick to make–love it!

    Have fun getting your Bodypump on!

  5. Michelle says:

    That is so impressive you made your own tortillas!


I love hearing your feedback! Feel free to leave a comment. :)

