Comfort.

Can you think of anything more comforting that a warm bowl of homemade soup?

Okay, maybe these two puppy faces might be a little more comforting to me… especially when they just lay down and pose like this as soon as I grab the camera. šŸ™‚

Anyway, back to the soup.

I’m sure that blog-land is going crazy with posting recipes for turkey soup, but I thought I’d add one more.

I love making a big batch of soup, so that we have it for lunches all week. When Greg and I carved our turkey, we saved the carcass (ugh- that sounds so barbaric!) and put it in the freezer for whenever I’d get around to making some soup. Last night ended up being the perfect occasion for that!

I didn’t follow any recipes or anything and really had no idea what I was doing (I usually take the lazy way out and use pre-made stock). But, it ended up turning out amazingly good- way better than I would have expected!

I put the turkey carcass in a huge pot of water and let it boil for an hour. The meat that was left mostly fell off the bones, and then we picked off the rest. The carcass was discarded and the following items were added to the water:

– a little more turkey (from leftovers)

– diced celery, onion, carrots, sweet potato

– 2 bay leaves

– chopped up collard greens

– a bunch of sage

– salt + pepper

– seasoning salt

I let it cook for another hour or so, until the veggies were soft. For the last few minutes, I threw in a handful of frozen corn.

Pure delciousness.

And now our fridge is literally stuffed with leftover soup! Can’t complain about that.

What’s your favorite way to re-purpose leftovers?

7 Comments on “Comfort.”

  1. With all of my company by Friday we had no more leftovers. But I did make soup last night for dinner. I do it your style with no recipe. Veggies, beans, spices, it always works.

  2. Lee says:

    I love that the dogs just pose like that. I usually have to hold a piece of food in my hand to get my dog to look at the camera!

    I’m not great at repurposing leftovers. I usually just eat them as they were originally prepared.

  3. I love soups too–sooo comforting and delish!! This looks tasty!

  4. blogitness says:

    Looks delicious! Your dogs are adorable!

  5. I love soup šŸ™‚ I’m the same as Lee: not so great at repurposing leftovers. I’m not as skilled as you in the kitchen! The pups are super adorable.

  6. […] The very first DCMA blogger that I started following was Allie. […]

  7. […] Turkey or Chicken? I absolutely love turkey. Especially leftover from Thanksgiving in the form of a sandwich with cranberries and stuffing or in soup. […]


I love hearing your feedback! Feel free to leave a comment. :)

