DC Blogger Connection

I left the house this morning at exactly 4:42 and was greeted by sight of wet pavement and drizzle as my garage door lifted up. Ugh. Not the cheery view I want to start my day.

But, all was forgotten after a great, high-energy spin class filled with rock from the 90s! I went overboard with the cheesy pop music last week (according to me), so I decided to dedicate this morning to rock. And ya know what? By the time I got out of the gym, the rain was gone and the sun was peeking out of the clouds! Yay! I’m not quite sure what it’s doing now, because I don’t get to see a window between the hours of 7:00- 2:45.

Rewind for a sec: I planned to do yoga in my classroom after the kids left yesterday, but had completely forgotten that we had a staff meeting after school (which last about an hour). I figured I could do it when I got home, but as soon as I walked out the door, I was hugged by sunshine and warm weather. So, I grabbed Jackson as soon as I got home and took a nice 4-mile walk instead. I guess things happen for a reason sometimes- our walk was just what I needed to get some energy for the rest of the day.

(I didn’t take this picture yesterday, but we walked the exact same route as when this photo was taken)

**

Back to today. As you might notice, I’m experimenting with some different “looks” for my blog. I have never really taken the time to sit down and design a perfect header or play around too much with the themes, but plan to do that very soon (look out for my December goals!).

I want to take some time to acknowledge some of my fellow DC Metro area (I’m going to refer to this “DCMA”) Bloggers! There are quite a few blogs that I follow, and some that I read every single day. It just so happens that a big handful of those bloggers live in the DC area- which is just an added bonus to their already interesting blog content.

The very first DCMA blogger that I started following was Allie.

I loved her blog immediately! It’s very bright and cheery- everything from the color scheme to her amazing photos to her wonderful attitude. I’ll admit that sometimes I complain a little bit too much, and sometimes it’s nice to go look into a bit of someone’s life that is almost always positive. She’s young and is taking full-advantage of where she’s at (not too far out of college, has the flexibility to travel and do fun things). Plus, she’s just so darn cute!

Right around the time that I started my own blog, I discovered Beth, Sarah and Ashley.

Each of these three gals have used the WW program and often write about their experiences with weight loss, exercise and healthy eating. They all have very interesting backgrounds and have taken quite a journey to get where they are today. I love their blogs because I identify with each of them in different ways.

In the last month or two, I discovered the best-kept secret in blog-land: Jenny!

If you haven’t gathered from her blog header alone, this girl is hilarious. She’s currently on a weight-loss mission and updates her progress every Wednesday. I literally get excited when I see that she has a new post, because I LAUGH OUT LOUD (really) when I read through each one. She is candid, and she is real. Seriously- check out her blog, and start back at the beginning!

And one more blog that is new-to-me: Gretchen!

Gretchen is a transplant from Canada and is also on a weight-loss journey. She has seriously kicked butt so far- just check out her before-and-after photos! And speaking of photos- all of hers are stunning. And I’m not sure which of her photos I enjoy looking at more: the ones of her recipes or her dogs!

I look forward to discovering more bloggers in the DCMA and would love to do a meet-up sometime. Though I’ve never met any of these girls in person, I feel like I know them all pretty well! (And that will change- Ashley and I have a double-date later this week!)

I’ve never been to any type of nationwide blogger meet-up, but definitely look forward to getting in on that action in 2012 (well, if the world doesn’t end, that is).

**

Have you ever met bloggers that live in your hometown? Are you at all interested in turning “blog friends” into “real life friends?”

16 Comments on “DC Blogger Connection”

  1. Lee says:

    I’ve met a ton of Atlanta bloggers and 3 DC bloggers too when I was there for Thanksgiving last year (Super Sana, Erin from TravelEatRepeat and Emily from Daily Garnish but she doesn’t live in DC anymore).

  2. I love this post and I’m excited about Thursday! I’m also loving the new look of your blog!

  3. very cool!! I haven’t met any yet in my area, but this is a fun idea to get going on that!

  4. I think that your blog is adorable πŸ™‚ I’m totally lame when it comes to blog design. I need someone to design my blog for me…

    I went to a boot camp in early 2010 hosted by Liz from Liz Runs DC which was awesome to meet people from blogs I had and hadn’t read. I’m all for blogger meetups πŸ™‚ And turning blog friends into real life friends!

  5. Beth says:

    Aww thanks so much for the shoutout! I have met a lot of bloggers in the area, mostly through conferences at places OTHER than DC, of course since that makes so much sense and all. πŸ˜‰

    I’d love to do a meetup at some point!!

    • Lauren says:

      I know- and I’ve said something about planning one more than once, just haven’t gotten my butt motivated to actually put that plan to action! December just seems impossible to make any plans, because everyone is so busy with the holidays. Maybe it will be my new years resolution. πŸ™‚

  6. Jenny says:

    Lauren, you are the sweetest! Thank you so much! And yes, yes, yes to a meet up!

    • Lauren says:

      Ha- well it’s true! If I find something hilarious, I have to share it with the world!
      If you have any suggestions for a meet-up, I’m all ears! I personally think we should all go to the zoo. (Maybe that’s just an excuse because I want to go to the zoo.)

  7. I like the new header but adore the former one and the font it was in, just my two cents!

    Hooray for blogger meetups-they are the best! I am jealous because you have so many bloggers in the DC area, you will be meeting new ones all the time! I think I get really excited because I lived in Charlotte for 5 yrs and went to meetups but never really connected with the blogger clique there (I think I’m a bit too real for them) This past yr while traveling I stayed with bloggers in NYC, Boston and Chicago plus planned meetups in other cities I was going through. Some of the Denver bloggers have become real friends which I am grateful for πŸ™‚

  8. Your blog design looks great! And I agree, I love blogging for not only the obvious reasons (my weight loss, writing, catharsis haha) but because it’s led me to meet such awesome people! Thanks for including me in the list!! πŸ™‚

    • Lauren says:

      Thanks- but I am just NOT loving it. I love how clean and simple yours it- that’s kind of what I want to go for. I just feel like mine is very blah and dark (or at least was with the brown header from before).
      If you have any ideas or interest in a DC meet-up, let me know!

  9. A few of my fave bloggers and a few new to me bloggers in one post! I’m loving it. I’m off to check out Jenny!

  10. I love your new header, it is mouth watering. I think blogger meet ups are great but would probably never go to a conference because of those 3 kids I have to take care of. I love that you would do yoga in your classroom. I love even more how you took your dog on such a long walk. I take my little chihuahua running if you can believe that, he loves it.


I love hearing your feedback! Feel free to leave a comment. :)

