December Goals!

Holy cannoli- it’s December first! When did that happen?! Oh, today I guess. 🙂

Just a quick re-cap of yesterday afternoon… I taught my third bodypump class, and in my opinion, it was my worst performance. The previous two classes that I taught were in the morning, and I am most definitely a morning person. By 4:30 in the afternoon, I’ve already been up for 11 hours and am ready to be done talking for the day. Nothing went wrong- it was a good class, I just didn’t have as much energy and spunk.

I also went to my dreaded post-Thanksgiving weigh-in at WW. I gained a half a pound. When the receptionist told me that I let out big exhale. I can deal with a half of a pound- I was expecting much worse! Onward and upward from here.

Let me track back to November 1st briefly and check out the goals I set for that month (and how I did):

1. Join Weight Watchers

Check. I joined right in the beginning of November and have been faithful to the program. Though I have lost a little less than two whole lbs. since I started, that’s still 2 lbs less than I weighed a month ago! 2 down, 18 to go…

2. Get certified to teach Body Pump

Check. (Sort of) I went through Body Pump training, but have not been certfied yet. When I wrote this post, I didn’t realize how intense and long the certification process is. The hard part is over, which was the training. From here I have to submit a video or me teaching, and then it’s assessed to get my certification. I’m told it takes a good six weeks to get certified about the video is submitted. Patience, my friend.

3. Cut my hair

Nope. Haven’t done it. Chickened out. Maybe in the spring… I think I need my hair to keep me warm in the winter months…

4. Go to bed earlier

Check… most of the time. I would say that 5 out of 7 nights during the week I’ve been getting around 8 hours of sleep. That’s not too bad…

5. Girl time

Not so much. I really didn’t have much free time at all to spend with friends, period, due to all of the Bodypump practice/training/etc. That being said, it’s still something I should prioritize when I can!

And now on to…

DECEMBER GOALS (brace yourself- I have a much longer list this month!)

1. Film my video and send it off for Bodypump certification

I have this tentively scheduled for the weekend before Christmas, so hopefully that will work out!

2. Finish Christmas Shopping before Decemeber 24th

This is quite a lofty goal for me, as I generally put holiday shopping off until the very last minute. I should probably also take more advantage of shopping online, too…

3. Practice MINDFUL HOLIDAY EATING

I have a huge weakness for Christmas cookies, and they seem to be everywhere from here on out. I have a tendency to o.d. on sugar during the whole month of December, which leaves me feeling icky. I just have to remind myself to budget them into my calories and have one. Not five.

4. Deck the walls

Yes, that was cliche, but seriously. I need to hang up some artwork on my walls. We’ve lived in our home for over a year now and finally got the interior re-painted, but the walls are bare. Though I consider myself a creative person (with both a Bachelors and Masters degree in art, for crying out loud), I am completely ignorant when it comes to interior design!

5. Plan a holiday gathering

I really wanted to have an “Ugly Christmas Sweater” party this year, but don’t know if I’ll have to time or energy to throw it together. But, I do want to have some sort of small gathering, whether it’s around Christmas or New Years.

6. Get rid of STUFF

I have more than a week off from work at the end of the month, and at least some of that time needs to be devoted to purging any junk in my house that I don’t need (and making a hefty donation to Goodwill). I still haven’t unpacked my “office” since we moved and I bet that I don’t use or need more than half of the stuff in that room!

7. Find Greg a rockin’ birthday gift

Poor Greg. His birthday is New Year’s day (and – he’s a twin, so it’s his brother’s too!). Think about it- it really is the worst day to be born on! I feel like it gets overshadowed by all of the Christmas and New Year’s stuff and make a conscious effort to really make him feel special and celebrate properly on that day.

8. Catch up with friends, near and far

Since we graduated from college (back in ’02!), I have organized a reunion for my group of friends that I worked in Residential Life with, and it’s always one of the highlights of my winter break. (Yup, I was an RA in college and LOVED it!). It’s always been up to me to put this together, so I need to make sure that I keep the motivation going this year. I also need to catch up with many friends that live right near me, yet I rarely ever see!

9. Give Oatmeal after Spinning a facelift!

When I started this blog, I just basically chose a free WordPress template and threw something together. I took a few photos, but haven’t really ever been happy with the design. The truth is, I’ve never just sat down and devoted uninterrupted time to redesigning the blog. I’m also fairly ignorant when it comes to computer-speak and coding and all that jazz. Also, a lot of stuff seems to be geared towards PC’s and I’m a Mac girl through and through. If anyone has good suggestions for Mac-bloggers, please share!!

10. See the glass half-full

Is the season for optimisim- no reason to be mean, bitter or sad. I vow to spread holiday cheer!

What do you hope to accomplish this month?

5 Comments on “December Goals!”

  1. LOVE these goals!! ANd YES, BodyPUMP takes forever to be a legit instructor. Mine did at least–just because of the way it was launched at the gym, etc. I did the training in OCT 10, taught my 1st class end of NOV ’10 (because it wasn’t even a format at the gym yet), did my video right before Christams (’10) and sent it in right before New Years. Became ‘certified’ beginning of FEB ’11!! Crazy long. But I could still teach on my own during that time –I actually started teaching on my own before I even did the video! They just needed instructors right away, I guess!

    I have a Mac and I’ve never found it hard to blog! I actually love it!

    Good luck with the goals, you’ve got this, girl!! 🙂

  2. Lee says:

    What kind of suggestions do you need for a Mac? I use Mars Edit to blog, but other than that, just use the same old stuff that PC users use, I guess. Feel free to email me with any questions though.

    I have a degree in art too and am bad at decorating. How does this happen to us? Also, to add to the list of things that we have in common, I was also an RA in college.

  3. Awesome goals Lauren and your did a fantastic job with your November goals. I am going to post mine tomorrow 🙂

  4. Fantastic goals! I use to think that I was a horrible designer but I’ve started watching HGTV and feel like an interior design genius. I’d also recommend looking at different blogs like Young House Love or Apartment Therapy which helps with design. I’m a huge fan of the shabby chic look so I find blogs/books for inspiration. When I’m decorating I just remind myself that nobody has to like it but me 🙂

    I agree with the blog design. I’m slightly computer retarded and I’d like to give my blog a face lift as well!!

  5. Miz says:

    I neeeeed to accomplish staying calm and zen no matter what.

    *cough* inlaws *cough*


I love hearing your feedback! Feel free to leave a comment. :)

