The annual holiday card (and a book review)

It’s that time of year again- time for me to get my butt in gear and send out my holiday cards!

I can’t think of a year when I didn’t mail out holiday cards, and for the past 5 years or so, I’ve made my own. I like to use photographs from throughout the year and make the layout in Adobe Illustrator (any excuse to put my graphic design degree to work! This year was very eventful, in that Greg and I got married in July, so the photos are from the wedding and our honeymoon (I love the one on the bottom left- that tree was HUGE!). And of course, I had to include a photo the pups.

Here is this year’s card:

What do you think? Is gray okay for the background? I wanted something a little more festive, but wanted to keep it pretty neutral because of all of the color in the photos. I thought about drawing antlers on the boys, but am being a slacker and don’t want to take the time to do it (I’m also a perfectionist and know that I would spend way too much time on this).

The photo on our card from last year was super cheesy,  but I loved it. We belong to a Golden Retriever Rescue organization and it was taken at their annual holiday (or Howl-i-day) party. I had to draw Jackson’s bandana on him in Photoshop, because I didn’t realize that it had turned backwards when the photo was taken. Oops!

Our friends and family definitely got a good laugh out of that card.

I like making holiday “postcards” because I just write the address and attach a stamp right on the back of the photo- no envelope needed. My mom always asks though- what are you supposed to do with the photo cards after the holidays are over? I told her “throw them away!” She feels bad doing that- and just keeps them in a box or drawer somewhere… I don’t get it. 🙂

**

On another note, I must give you my review of Mindy Kaling’s book Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (And Other Concerns).

I mentioned in previous posts that I got this book as an early Christmas book from Greg, mostly because he was already placing an order from Amazon.com and it qualified for free shipping- so it was a good time to buy! I started reading the book on the train up to NYC last Thursday and got about halfway through by the time we pulled into Penn Station. I took a few breaks to look up stuff on my ipad and to use the icky bathroom, but otherwise I was focused on the book. I read a little more during lunch on Friday, and then finished it on the train coming back home.  She had me hooked on the first page, and I was laughing (literally) every 30 seconds or so. Mindy writes with freedom and honesty and doesn’t filter too much. When I was reading the book, there were so many things that I identified with! I loved her stories about growing up and fitting in/not fitting in, how silly girl-friend relationships can be, and how awkward adolescence is.

One thing I did not know: she is a pretty important writer on The Office– did you know that? She’s written a ton of episodes, and directed some as well! Very cool!

Bottom line is, I loved this book. It was such an easy read and I love anything that makes me laugh.

I have been horrible about reading books lately, and honestly, I just don’t enjoy reading fiction. I like biographies, memoirs and books about health-related topics. That’s just my bag, baby.

I’ve got my eye on Chelsea Handler’s books (any recommendations for which to start with?) and Tina Fey’s Bossypants next. Hello, expanding Christmas list!

**

Do you send out holiday cards (and what do you do with those that you receive)?

What types of books do you enjoy reading?

 

 

12 Comments on “The annual holiday card (and a book review)”

  1. Liz says:

    I love both cards. This year’s is beautiful and last year’s is hilarious.
    I listened to Tina Fey’s book (audiobook while marathon training) and it was funny. It was much more about being a woman in the workplace and struggles associated with that then I expected, but that was interesting as a working woman.

    • Lauren says:

      Oh! Audiobooks! Brilliant!! Why do I always forget they exist?? And I never would have thought to listen to them while running- for some reason I think I’d get distracted I guess? Is that not the case?

  2. Laughed the whole way through it as well:) She writes just like people speak, too. Very talented lady!

  3. read chelsea handlers my horizontial life. a hilarious book full of one night stand stories.

  4. I love the gray border on your card, I think it does look festive and also very classy, especially with the beautiful wedding photo.

    I love Mindy K. from the office, she is hysterical. I did know that she was a writer, she is one smart and funny girl.

  5. Grace says:

    Definitely Chelsea Handler’s ‘Are You There Vodka It’s Me Chelsea’ is a good one to start with if you haven’t already read it. I believe this was her first, all about her life, growing up, etc. I listened to this as an audiobook too, which is a great way to go. 🙂

    I generally just like to read classic novels, travel books, or nonfiction of various sorts of topics.

  6. Sarah says:

    I really like both of your cards. Your wedding dress is gorgeous!

    I’ve been wanting to read MK’s book. I think she’s hilarious. I loved Chelsea Handler’s Are You There Vodka It’s Me Chelsea.

  7. I love your card! You look so beautiful — and your dogs are SO gorgeous! I want that Mindy Kaling book so bad. Hopefully someone got it for me for Christmaaaaas. 🙂

  8. I had no idea that Mindy wrote and directed a bunch of office episodes! I have never sent out my own cards but my mom sends out those picture postcards every year.


I love hearing your feedback! Feel free to leave a comment. :)

