Geekin’ out with Christmas media

First things first: I need your help!!

I’ve been asked “which” Vitamix I really want for Christmas, and I have no idea. There are so many different models… For anyone that owns one of these magical beauties, can you help me out? Is one type better than another? Do they perform different functions? Opinions are MUCH appreciated- especially if you can choose from what’s offered here. If there are better varieties than those offered at BB&B, I’d like to know that as well!

Now that the important question is out of the way,  I can focus on what I set out to post this morning: Christmas media!

I’ve been rocking out (okay, maybe not rocking, but there has been a lot of singing) to this Pandora station for the last few days:

I can’t get enough of Christmas music. As you can see, I tried out a few different Christmas stations, but eventually typed “90s pop Christmas music” and it led me to This Christmas Radio. It doesn’t just play 90s Christmas music (it’s playing Michael Buble’s version of “The Christmas Song” as we speak) but it’s all current stuff. And you better love the song “O Holy Night” because they play a different version of it just about every 15 minutes. Anyone else listening to Christmas music on Pandora all day long? 🙂

When I was a little kid, we used to actually sing carols from door-to-door in my neighborhood. It was awesome! Do people do that anymore?

My older brother and I used to also listen to this record every night during the weeks leading up to Christmas:

I loved Alvin and the Chipmunks growing up… but the new movies that have come out just kind of weird me out.

I can’t hear the song “All I Want for Christmas Is You” by Mariah Carey without suddenly getting an uncontrollable urge to watch this movie:

And speaking of movies, some of my favorites (from classics to dark comedies) and are mandatory to watch during this time of year are as follows:

I’m pretty sure I’ve seen A Christmas Story over 100 times in my life. It came out when I was a little kid, and was constantly played in our house all throughout my childhood (even when it wasn’t Christmas). It also made me afraid to ever stick my tongue onto any light pole during the winter (not sure why I would have anyway…).

One of the most quote-able movies of all time. I’d be willing to bet that I have the script memorized. Randy Quaid slays me in this movie.

Who doesn’t love Elf? I challenge you to find me one person!! Will Ferrell is a comedy genius!

There are very few movies that make me laugh like Bad Santa. If you’re not into dark comedies, or offended easily, don’t watch this. But, if that’s your thing- you’ll love it! Billy Bob Thornton is the best “bad” Santa ever!

My parents took me to see this movie in the theater when I was in 3rd grade. I thought I was SO big and bad, because it was PG13 (and I was eight). I remember even writing in my diary about how awesome I was that I got to see a PG13 movie in the theater. The movie has held special meaning ever since- and Bill  Murray is my favorite actor of all time (I can’t think of anything he’s done that I haven’t liked- wait, I take that back, I wasn’t overly crazy about The Life Aquatic…).

I also watch Charlie Brown, Home Alone (the first one!), Rudolph and Frosty if they’re on tv, but if I miss any of those one year, it’s not a big deal.As you can see, I didn’t list any of the classics here. I’m being honest- I don’t watch them! Maybe I should… but I think I have a pretty extensive rotation already. 🙂

**

What are your favorite Christmas songs/movies/shows, etc.?

7 Comments on “Geekin’ out with Christmas media”

  1. Sarah says:

    “Smiling’s my favorite!”

    I love Elf and Love Actually! And I can’t wait to watch them every year.

    Have you ever heard of Straight No Chaser? It’s an accapella band that started at IU and their Xmas CD is amazing. The best song: The Christmas Can Can (I’d youtube it).

  2. We have Elf DVR’d as I have yet to see it, the kids think it’s hysterical. We also DVR all the classics, Frosty, Santa Clause is coming to town etc. Love Actually, that show is awesome!

    Sorry I have no advice on the Vitamix. I have a really old model when there wasn’t all the options. Mine still works great though so I can verify it’s longevity.

  3. I took a look at the Vitamix’s (grammar??) on the BB&B page. I think I have the first one but I’m not sure. It’s all black and has the two dials and the one switch. I can look when I get home, but other than knowing what I have, I can’t tell you much about the other options. Sorry!

  4. Sara R. says:

    I make it a point to watch Love, Actually every year, and every year when it’s over I just have this huge grin on my face. Such a great movie! I also love The Muppet Christmas Carol, we used to watch that practically every day when I was young. I’ll have to check out that Pandora station…I’ve just been listening to Christmas songs on the radio and they play Christmas Shoes far too much for my liking. I’m sorry if you like it, but I consider it the worst song ever written EVER.

  5. Christmas is my favorite time of year! I have so many favorite movies, Elf is definitely on my top 5, but one of the newest I watch every year is The Holiday. I love it!!!

  6. I adore Scrooged and Xmas Vacation, I’m so old school I even remember seeing both in the theater! I was just thinking about the Chipmunks album today, I need to download some songs from that!

    Along with the movies, I love Dominick the Donkey, Feliz Navidad, Happy Xmas (War is Over) and of course, All I want for Xmas is You!


I love hearing your feedback! Feel free to leave a comment. :)

