Banana-egg and Slow-cooker (whole) chicken

Hi!

So, I still need suggestions for a Vitamix- of which model to get. Again, any help is super appreciated- I value your opinions, my friends! Greg pulled up the website for me to look at last night, and we’re thinking that this model is best (of course it’s also on the higher end of the price scale)- but I firmly believe that you get what you pay for! It also seems to come with the most accessories, so they wouldn’t have to be purchased later on down the road. But, if there’s a different model that is more bang for the buck- I want to know!

**

Yesterday I came home again to a house filled with the wonderful smell of slow-cooker goodness. When I peeked into the crockpot, I saw this:

I don’t know exactly what (or how much of everything) was in there, but this is exactly what I emailed to Greg when he asked me what he should put in there:

Rub the whole chicken with salt, pepper, onion powder (theres a new thing of it probably on the back of the 2nd shelf) and paprika.
Then chop up a few carrots (use the new ones I got yesterday), the rest of the celery, half a yellow onion and a few leaves of the kale. Put that in the pot with the chicken and about 2 cups of chicken broth and a cup of water. The chicken doesn’t need to be completely covered- just like 1/2 to 2/3 would be fine.
Also throw in a bay leaf, some sage, rosemary and thyme (I don’t know if there’s sage actually, but there should still be fresh thyme in the fridge. And dried rosemary is okay. )
Oh, and put in 1/4 c of dry quinoa too. 🙂

I don’t know why- but I have never bought a whole chicken in my life! I saw a recipe from The Talking Kitchen for a slow-cooked whole chicken, and I was intrigued. More on that in a little bit.

**

I went to the gym after work and got in a fantastic workout. I haven’t been running much lately, but decided to do a treadmill warm-up. I’m no speed demon, and typically a 6.0-6.5 mph on a “2” incline” is a pretty comfortable pace for me. For some reason, that seemed too slow to me, and I cranked it up to 7.0 mph. And it felt great! It’s weird though- running 7.0mph seems so much easier outside than it does on the tredmill (my 5k pace is usually a little below an 8-minute mile and 9-minutes for longer runs).  Does anyone else feel that way?

After a 15-minute warm-up, I went through my whole Bodypump routine and added weight for each track (except biceps- ugh!). That extra 5 lbs. KILLED me- it might as well have been 100! When I was done, I did my typical “reward” cooldown of some elliptical + gossip mags. Good way to zone out at the end. 🙂

When I got home I was craving some protein, but also wanted something warm. I remember seeing a banana-egg recipe on someone’s blog a long time ago (but couldn’t find it for the life of me), so I tried that out. I nuked 2/3 of a frozen banana in the microwave until it was soft and mashed it down. Then I added 1/2 c. liquid egg whites, a dash of cinnamon and vanilla and mixed it up.

Doesn’t that look appetizing?

I tried to make it an omelet, but lost it mid-flip. So, it ended up being a scramble.

I topped it with a little peanut-flour-butter (peanut flour + almond milk) and a sprinkling of Cville Cluster Granola that I bought when we were in Charlottesville.  I know the combo of banana and egg might sound weird at first, but trust me- it is delicious!

Later, when it was time for dinner, I pulled everything out of the crockpot and put it on a platter. I can’t believe how much food was there- after all, this was a teeny-tiny chicken!

All of the meat completely fell off the bone and the flavors were nicely mixed together. And there was so much food leftover!

I baked some kale and salt + vinegar potatoes (one yukon gold potato diced and boiled in white vinegar for 10 minutes, and then baked in the oven) to accompany the chicken.

My plate:

Everything tasted so good! The salt + vinegar potatoes have so much flavor- I’m glad that I finally learned that the secret to that is actually boiling them IN white vinegar, rather than just tossing vinegar on before they bake. I absolutely loved baked kale, but the kale in the slow cooker definitely gave the baked a run for its’ money!

After dinner, we retired to the living room to watch Survivor (don’t make fun- I love that show!). This is pretty much a typical evening in our house:

Greg playing games on his ipad and half-paying attention to the tv and dogs laid out all over the place. I made a rule of “no dogs on furniture” when we moved into our house and bought new furniture, but you can see that it hasn’t stuck.

Just look at this ridiculous dog.

Have a happy Thursday!

Have you broken out your slow-cooker yet? What’s your favorite thing to make in it?

 

 

14 Comments on “Banana-egg and Slow-cooker (whole) chicken”

  1. You’re dogs are too cute. Oh my gosh I cook liquid eggs all the time with either banana or pumkin. I cook it in a small pan just like I would oatmeal. Sometimes I add cottage cheese at the end and some almond milk so it’s more pudding like than yours turned out. I top it with almond butter, so good!

    I don’t watch every season of Survivor but I happen to this year and I love it. Hope Ozzy wins.

    • Lauren says:

      pumpkin and egg… hmm! I’ll try it! And adding cottage cheese sounds great!
      I watched Survivor when it first started, but then stopped. When I met my husband, he was addicted to it, and got me hooked again. 😦
      I am pretty sure Ozzy will win!

  2. Just checked, I have the 5200 which is the one you linked to. However, it didn’t come with the extra containers or some of the other stuff. It came with a recipe book, the black push down thing and the large container.

    I think it’s great. It hasn’t met anything it couldn’t handle and the bf has made soup in it too.

    One thing to mention is that the first time the bf made soup, he used cilantro which prompty tinted the whole container green. I freaked out a bit since it was new, but it went away and is fine now.

    I hope this helps!

  3. Lee says:

    Murphy lies on the couch like that too. I wonder if it’s a golden thing.

  4. Sara R. says:

    I have 2 crock pots and I use ’em all the time! My favorite things to do with them are to make broth (I cook a chicken in the oven and then throw all the skin, bones etc. in the crock pot along with veggie scraps I save in the freezer and water) and applesauce. I also make yogurt in there (http://crockpot365.blogspot.com/2008/10/you-can-make-yogurt-in-your-crockpot.html) and I occasionally use it for real dinners 🙂

    I think I’m going to try that salt and vinegar potato trick tonight! Doesn’t boiling vinegar make you cough though? When it gets in the air it always tickles my throat!

  5. That sounds like a pretty legit scrammble!

    And GOOD for you on adding wieght to your bar–that rocks!

  6. Gil says:

    I love my slow cooker! I use it for everything, especially now with less time to cook. Did you know you can even make things like stuffing or paella in there? Its like magic. My biggest appliance dream is for a standing mixer…its been on the wishlist for a few years and I am always eyeing them longingly in the store. Also, a really good food processor…One day!

  7. glad to see you finally got your first whole chicken! aren’t slow cookers are the best, all that food from just one super easy meal!

  8. OMG, your dogs are killing me. Who can refuse faces like theirs?? I kinda want to make the last picture the background on my computer haha.

    As for the crock pot, I can’t live without it but havent used it as much as I normally do. I’ve made some chili and bbq chicken but want to start using it more for different soup and casserole recipes (I’ve never tried a casserole in a crock pot but I’m interested to see how it turns out!)

    • Lauren says:

      I know- getting that shot of Lance was pure luck. I’m sure he was in the middle of licking the air or something (he is a constant licker!).
      I want to try a dessert recipe in the crockpot- haven’t done that yet!

  9. Simply Life says:

    I just used my slow cooker today and love how it does all the work for you!


I love hearing your feedback! Feel free to leave a comment. :)

