Getting a head start on a New Year’s resolution

I think New Year’s resolutions are a great idea. Let me clarify that- I think they’re great if you resolve to improve something that will not only improve some aspect of your life, but is also attainable. The most common resolution that I hear others make is to “lose weight” or “get healthy,” which is a very broad statement. It’s definitely a wonderful idea to improve your overall health, but that is a very broad statement. Breaking it down into one small attainable goal will be more likely to ensure success. So, something like “I’m going to try out a new group exercise class” might be a little more realistic.

I’ve been a member of the same gym for eight years, and a group exercise instructor there for three years. I see the same cycle each year- we call it “The Resolution crowd.” The first two weeks of January are nuts at the gym! You can’t find a parking spot or a cardio machine between the peak hours, and the group exercise classes are packed to the max. And for some reason, by the beginning of February, things are back to normal, and the resolution crowd goes into hibernation until the following January.

Why do they stop coming? Why do they lose momentum? Were their goals unrealistic? Did they take on too much too fast? Or are they just simply not ready to make time for exercise?

My resolutions are small and realistic. The best resolution I ever made was to floss every night before I went to bed. I made this resolution in 2000, and have probably gone to bed a total of 5 times since then without flossing. It’s a very small thing that takes about 1 minute out of my day, but it makes a difference. My dentist remarks how “strong” my gums are each time I go in for my 6-month check-up.

I have up caffeine one year too- and that lasted for a year and half. But, I picked my coffee habit back up again last summer (and limit it to 1 cup in the morning, and that’s it.)

I’ve already decided what my resolution will be this year, and I’ve gotten a head start! It is simple: to drink more water!

I am chronically dehydrated. My skin is extremely dry (even in the summer) and I’m wondering if my lack of adequate water consumption has anything to do with this. I’m also really curious to know if it will speed up my body’s ability to burn fat more efficiently. If any of you readers know anything about water and weight loss (and other benefits)- please share!!

I bought myself a Camelbak Groove bottle at the beginning of last summer and am obsessed with this thing. I take it everywhere and it is the best accessory to have when you are traveling!

Not only does the reusable bottle make my inner tree-hugger extremely happy, but is also performs an amazing task: it filters water as you drink it! And it really does work- I fill it with my nasty-tasting tap water every morning and it tastes clean and pure by the time it gets to my mouth! I love the fact that I can take my empty bottle anywhere (to airports, ahem) and fill it up at any water fountain or sink, and I can get good-tasting water. Several people on my gift list will be getting these for Christmas this year. šŸ™‚

What I’ve been doing this week is filling up a pitcher in the morning (and keeping it in my little fridge by my desk).

This holds 60 oz of water, so I can refill my bottle 3 times. I typically drink about two and a half bottles during the work day, and try to drink one and a half more by the end of the day. That’s a total of 80 oz. (and for days when I’m teaching spin or doing a super sweaty workout, I drink at least one more bottle).

I know that you can also over-hydrate, which is very bad… but again, I don’t know too much on the subject. I will have to research what is considered “too much.”

The only downside to drinking all this water is of course, getting rid of it. As a teacher, it’s not the easiest task to run to the bathroom several times each day. šŸ™‚

**

One last little tid-bit: just have to share a photo of my dinner last night. I threw together a stir-fry using up stuff we had in the fridge, and used Beth’s suggestion of adding peanut flour to the sauce (thanks, Beth!).

For this stir-fry, I chopped up extra-firm tofu, broccoli, crimini mushrooms and kabocha squash (the squash was cut up and roasted separately). I sauteed some chopped garlic in a little oil (canola mixed with sesame) and then added the tofu. The rest of the veggies were added in, along with some Bragg’s liquid aminos, rice wine vinegar and peanut flour. I topped with with some chopped up peanuts. This was delicious! Two meatless dinners in a week- did Christmas come early?!

**

Do you drink a lot of water each day? Are you a reusable or plastic bottle user?

12 Comments on “Getting a head start on a New Year’s resolution”

  1. I am constantly trying to be aware of drinking more water. I know it’s good for both my health and my skin. I like it room temp, no ice, it just seems easier to get down. When I wake up I pour myself a tall glass and just keep trying to refill.

    I agree with the attainable resolutions. Anything too strict is a recipe for failure for me.

  2. Lee says:

    That’s a good resolution. I have one of those metal water bottles but I really have to force myself to drink out of it all day long.

  3. Sara R. says:

    Oooh, good to know about that bottle! I’ve been looking for one with a filter for when I’m traveling. I always start out with the best of intentions in the morning with a full water bottle, but then I don’t think about it until dinnertime when I notice the original bottle is still half-full. I need to set reminders on my phone or something. And I think it’s pretty tough to over-hydrate yourself…my chemistry teacher did that in high school by accident but she was TINY and drank gallons and gallons of water (she had the flu and was trying to keep hydrated).

  4. haha I know what you mean. I am an instructor at the gym too & we refer to those resolution peeps as “Januarians”.

    My coworker bought me one of those eco friendly water bottles and I have made a habit out of filling it up a few times while at work.

  5. ‘Tis true–drinking more water does aide in weight loss–the effect may be minimal, but it is still there. Each cell in your body needs water, and when that water is not there, those cells do not function properly. The body goes into headachey, need mode, and usually a person will reach for food to fix it. This only exacerbates the problem. Water is SO important to a healthy body and lifestyle. SO great job on the resolution!!

  6. Gil says:

    I love the dental floss resolution–maybe that should be mine for 2012 and beyond. I made a similar one to wear sunscreen every single day (waterproof spf 30…none of this lotion with spf 8 business!) and I have been almost 100% faithful to it for the last 4 years. So maybe I would also have success in the flossing department…

  7. Gil says:

    Also, I know many high schools have promoted this video. Do they show it at Linganore?
    http://www.storyofstuff.org/movies-all/story-of-bottled-water/

  8. emily says:

    I got that water bottle, only without the filter for my birthday in novemeber, and I dont go ANYWHERE without it. I drink 2x more water at least! its just very convenient, I am a college student so I am in class most the day, and the metal ones are loud and you have to tip them back and unscrew the lid. With the straw feature, I dont have to raise my elbow up to drink in a crowded lecture hall. SERIOUSLY recommend the straw bottles to everyone šŸ™‚

  9. I need to drink more water!! I’m just bored with water.


I love hearing your feedback! Feel free to leave a comment. :)

