DIY gifts from the kitchen

I’ve said it before: I am not a baker. It’s not even that I don’t like to bake- it’s that I can’t bake. Or maybe, I’m just too much of a rebel to bake. My problem is that I don’t like to measure things and I don’t like to perfectly follow recipes. And I burn stuff- always. BUT I did bake these cookies (and they did not burn). And they are delicious.

Because I’m cheap creative, I like to give DIY gifts from the kitchen to the other art teachers at my school each year for Christmas. Alright, I’ll be honest. I’m not that creative. I stole the recipe idea from Whole Foods recipe site, as I have for the past few years. The recipes are awesome and include both edible and non-edible gifts and even have a downloadable gift-tag. I’ve made some awesome stuff in years past, including Cinnamon Pancake Mix, Sugar-Dusted Whole Wheat Graham Crackers, and Chocolate-Dipped Figs. This year I had my eyes set on making Cranberry-Pistachio Oat Lace cookies. But, I substituted the pistachios for walnuts, because I thought that just sounded better.

I wanted to give jars of the mix, as well as a few cookies that were already baked. They were pretty easy to make, and I was able to quell my rebellion and just follow the darn recipe the way it is listed (except for the nut substitution). I used a tablespoon to measure out each dough ball, and ended up with just under 3 dozen cookies. Parchment paper was a must!

I guess if I actually baked more than once a year, I would invest in a Silpat.

I showed great restraint with this pile of cooling cookies.

 

Of course I did have one. And a half. My husband had four.

These cookies are really, really good. The cardamom flavor just adds something really special and unique. But, we both agreed that they would probably be just as good (if not better) with a little less butter- they are really heavy. And for my taste, a little less sugar would be fine, too.

I assembled all of the jars with the mix, and attached a ribbon and the gift tags (I now notice that I didn’t change the ‘pistachios’ to ‘walnuts’ on the front of the tag. Oh well).

The other side of the tags lists the baking directions

And I bagged up a few cookies for each of the teachers.

All done for about $10. Not bad!

Here’s a gift I got from one of the other art teachers this year:

Last year Tracy made homemade Limoncello, which was great- but I am really excited about this one! Homemade Kahlua- who knew?

Two more work days left…

Do you make DIY gifts?

 

10 Comments on “DIY gifts from the kitchen”

  1. $10 is great! I’ve received cookie jars a few times in the past, and it’s always a fun gift.

    And I definitely didn’t know about homemade kahlua πŸ™‚

  2. What cute gifts for so little money, great job! I prefer homemade gifts, I just love the thought put into it. I do make goodies every year. This year I am making white chocolate caramel corn and rosemary cranberry pecans.

  3. Gil says:

    Hahaha, and wasn’t baking fun?? Those cookies look perfect. (And once you get the hang of it, you really CAN improvise, I swear…no recipes needed.)
    Also, everyone is getting DIY gifts from the impoverished grad student this year….but I’m still really excited about the stuff I’m making!

  4. That is a GREAT gift idea!! Wow. I like the DIY theme–makes it more personal and festive. Great job! I want a cookie now….. πŸ˜‰

  5. raceready says:

    The recipients of those gifts are lucky! I wish I was more crafty and put together something like this.

  6. Love the holiday tips. & that Kahlua! Perfect gift. πŸ™‚

  7. […] powder. I also added a hint of cardamon. I can’t get enough of this spice ever since I made these cookies last week. I forgot how much flavor it can […]


I love hearing your feedback! Feel free to leave a comment. :)

