Butternut + sage turkey burgers (and ugly Christmas sweaters!)

I LOVE ugly Christmas sweaters. In fact, I love ugly sweaters, period- they make me laugh so much. I always think of Jack Black’s character in High Fidelity saying “It’s a Cosby sweaterrrrrr…..” (One of my top 5 favorite movies of all time ;))

I wanted to have an ugly Christmas sweater party, but just didn’t have the energy to plan it. Instead, I’m having a few friends over on New Years eve for an “Ugly Sweater Party;” Christmas or otherwise. I’m planning on hitting the after-Christmas sales for the ugly knit sweater I can find! And one for Greg too, of course.

One of my students was wearing quite possibly the ugliest (yet- fascinating) Christmas sweater I have ever seen yesterday, so of course I had to get a photo of it.

It’s the 12 days of Christmas! He said it was a hand-me-down from his mom. 🙂

**

The other day, I was browsing through blogs and stumbled across Stories and Sweet Potatoes. The author (Sara) had posted a recipe for Christmas Turkey burgers, which sound right up my alley. But, the photo of her plate with a burger and sweet potato helped me make up my mind for dinner that night. So, thanks Sara!

I didn’t make her burgers, but did use turkey. I threw together my trusty combination of sage + butternut squash (along with ground turkey and a few other ingredients) and ended up with some pretty tasty burgers!

I served them along with a Jewel sweet potato and cold green bean salad. Very simple and quick to assemble.

Yum.

Butternut sage Turkey Burgers

(Makes 3 patties)

1/2 lb. ground turkey breast (I used 99% lean)

1/3 c. roasted butternut squash, mashed

2 T sage, chopped finely

2 T finely diced red onion

salt, pepper + garlic powder to taste

Mix all ingredients together in a bowl. Form into three equal size patties. Cook until internal temp reaches 160.

These were really tasty- slightly sweet even- but I would have probably caramelized the onions beforehand for a little extra flavor.  I cooked them in a pan over medium heat until they were browned on each side, and then finished them off in the oven to cook all the way through.

**

It’s the last day of work for me this year! Hooray! Tonight I am meeting some friends for dinner at one of my favorite restaurants in Baltimore and then walking down 34th street in Hampden to see the crazy Christmas displays! Hopefully lots of pictures to follow…

Do you own any ugly sweaters?? 🙂

11 Comments on “Butternut + sage turkey burgers (and ugly Christmas sweaters!)”

  1. Patty says:

    Hi Lauren, How about where to buy that ugly Christmas sweater? I need suggestions.

    I love your blog. Please tell Sara Hi. She used to take my step class before her daughter was born!

    Patty

  2. I love the ugly sweater!! SO funny.

  3. Ok, I am bookmarking this recipe because it’s so funky but it sounds AMAZING! I never cook that much with sage but when I do, it always turns out well and leaves me wondering “Why dont I cook with sage more often??” Plus butternut squash in a burger? Genius idea!

    And that sweater is one of the ugliest things I’ve ever seen, I kinda want it. And now I have the 12 days of Christmas in my head….

  4. Gil says:

    Happy Vacation!!

  5. Lee says:

    I think it’s so funny when people get these ugly sweaters from their moms. I mean, what mom thinks that is attractive?!

  6. haha, that sweater is classic, I love it!!!!

  7. That is a great sweater. My daughter had ugly Christmas sweater day at her school but by the time we ran to the goodwill they were all out. I guess it’s a popular thing to do. She had to settle for a not so cute Christmas sweatshirt. Merry Christmas!

  8. mmmm I love me a good turkey burger!SOunds delish. P.s. that sweater is AWEsome. Wow.

  9. Maren says:

    I love this recipe. And christmas sweaters are the BEST!!! Ugly sweaters are a staple in my winter wardrobe………. don’t know why I shared that.


I love hearing your feedback! Feel free to leave a comment. :)

