Winter break is here!

Yesterday was my last day of work for the year!

The kids actually had a half day (teachers stayed the full day) and were off the wall with excitement. I don’t blame them- Christmas rocks! And so does having over a week of school off. By the last period of the day, I blasted Christmas music and let the kids make snowflakes and cards. In my years of teaching, I’ve gotten some nice gifts from parents- usually candy, coffee, ornaments, I even got a pair of Silpada earrings. But, I got a very unexpected gift from two former students that showed up to see me yesterday:

Nothing says “Happy Holidays” like your face on a cake.

Seriously, it was very sweet- no pun intended. They told me that they actually wanted to get me a throw blanket with that photo on it, but it was too expensive. I took the cake down to the faculty room and let everyone eat my face.

**
At night, we drove to Baltimore and met up with our friends James and Jenny to have dinner at Woodberry Kitchen. Our meal was AMAZING, but there are no photos to share. The lighting was too dark, and I didn’t feel like hassling with it. But here are the photos I did get:

Me and Jenny

James and Greg

This was only the second time I’ve ever been to Woodberry Kitchen, and the food was incredible again! It’s a farm-to-table restaurant and the menu changes daily. I got rockfish, which is not a surprise. If rockfish is on a menu, 9 times out of 10, I’ll order it.

We had planned to walk over to 34th street to see the insane light display, but it had started raining, and was gradually raining harder. Instead we decided to drive over, and apparently, everyone else in Baltimore had the same idea. After moving one block in about 30 minutes (and still being 4 blocks from our destination) we made the choice to turn around. It was a big bummer for sure, but none of us really wanted to spend another hour or two getting over there. On the bright side, we got to spend more time talking and laughing with James and Jenny in the car!

**

This morning I woke up bright and early and made my way downstairs to work out. I decided to pop in one of my Jillian Michaels DVDs (Banish Fat, Boost Metabolism), which I hadn’t done in about 6 months. I forgot how INTENSE it was! After 10 minutes, I was covered in sweat. It’s a pretty tough cardio circuit that gets your heart rate up crazy high with very few breaks in between. It felt good, though!

I spent the rest of the day finishing up Christmas shopping and visiting my friend Kelly, and then came home to tackle gift wrapping. Normally, I’m a very clean and neat gift wrapper and take my time with it. I also tend to “wrap as I buy.” Given that I put everything off until the last minute this year, I hadn’t done much wrapping yet- only gifts that needed to be shipped out or were given this week.

I have to pat myself on the back for always taking advantage of after-Christmas sales and stocking up on clearance gift wrap, bags, etc. I only bought one roll of wrapping paper this year. You’ll see in a second. πŸ™‚

Unfortunately, because of these two monkeys, we can’t put any presents under the tree, so they’re kind of stacked on our dining room table for now.

And here’s a close-up of the only wrapping paper I bought this year.

That’s right. It’s the Biebs. I used it to wrap all of my husband’s gifts. He will hate love it!

**

Tomorrow is brunch at my mom’s, followed by a visit with my Dad, stepmom and younger siblings, and then an evening at home watching Christmas movies. Hopefully some blogging will take place at some point- we shall see!

Have you finished your Christmas shopping yet?? πŸ™‚

4 Comments on “Winter break is here!”

  1. Lee says:

    I finished yesterday. Woo hoo!

  2. I just finished today. I had to go to Walmart for a few groceries so I snuck in some stocking shopping. Finally Done! I wish I had thought of getting Justin Beiber wrapping! Although I didn’t get Glenn anything because he just bought a dirt Bike so I said “Merry Christmas and Happy Birthday”. I love that he makes it so easy for me.

    Your dogs are so darn cute!!!


I love hearing your feedback! Feel free to leave a comment. :)

