Pancakes and Hiking

Hi friends!

This (Thursday) morning happened to be one of the only mornings during my entire break that I didn’t have to wake up to an alarm, so I ‘slept in’ until 7:30- it was great! I made my way downstairs and checked the temperature outside- it had barely cracked 30˚. I had thoughts of hiking later in the morning, but decided to see it would warm up at all before heading out.

I decided to whip up a batch of pancakes- the same ones that I made for myself on Christmas morning.

They were SO good- and filling! Pancakes are usually the type of food that fills me up for a good 30 minutes, then I’m hungry again. But these actually kept me full all morning. I ate them while catching up on blogs- just like the way I like it.

Coconut/Buckwheat flour pancakes (serves one hungry person)

3 scant T coconut flour

1 T buckwheat flour

1/2 tsp baking powder

dash of salt

Stevia, to taste

2/3 c liquid egg whites

dash of almond milk (more depending on how thin you want your pancakes)

chopped up fruit, if desired (I mixed strawberries, bananas and blueberries)

Combine all ingredients in a large bowl. Cook in a large skillet over medium heat- flip over when edges are fully cooked, then cook for an additional 2 minutes on the other side.

I topped mine with the same combination of fruit that were in the pancakes, and nuked it in the microwave so it became more sauce-like.

Man, these are yummy. I also put some almond milk and a few frozen peach slices in the Vitamix for a very refreshing and delicious drink!

I am so in love with my Vitamix- don’t be surprised if I reference it in every single blog post. πŸ™‚

**

After breakfast, I did a little cleaning around the house and decided to head out for a hike, even though the temperature had only risen to 32˚. But really, hiking in the cold doesn’t bother me at all- I even went snow hiking on my birthday this year with two of my friends!

I figured I would just layer up and test out the new Thermal Under Armour top that my mother-in-law gave me for Christmas. I packed up Jackson in the Subaru and headed up to the mountain. One of the really nice things about where we live is that it’s 6 miles from Gambrill State Park, which has a lot of great hiking/mountain biking trails. It takes about 10 minutes to get there, depending on who you get stuck behind driving up the mountain.

It’s always a few degrees colder up on the mountain, but it didn’t feel too bad once I got moving. I did resist the urge to run though, since this was technically my ‘rest’ day. πŸ™‚

Jackson’s such a great hiking buddy.

We stopped at the overlook so that I could try to get a self-timer pic (that’s my new warm Red Sox jacket)- ignore my air-dryed hair, please. I do not dress up or put on make-up to go hiking. πŸ™‚

Our hike was great! And strangely enough- we didn’t pass a single person on the trails. It was so quiet. It also started snowing very lightly about 45 minutes into our hike, but we were pretty close to being done by then. And when I got home- it was still snowing and had actually accumulated on our patio table (not on the roads though).

Everyone is itching for a snowstorm around here, but I’m fine with it holding off for a little longer. I’m sure we’ll see enough over the next few months.

**

Tomorrow morning I’m teaching Bodypump SOLO (and actually getting paid) for the first time! I should know it in my sleep by now, so I hope I am completely comfortable and confident tomorrow. I still get a little bit nervous when teaching something new to a new group of people- hopefully it won’t show. πŸ™‚ Wish me luck!

What breakfast foods fill you up?

Do you like hiking?

12 Comments on “Pancakes and Hiking”

  1. Jenny says:

    Oatmeal! But you already know all about that. I like to hike but I’ve only gone twice. Ever. These ankles don’t mingle well with roots and rocks and such. Both times that I have gone I spent the entire time looking down to make sure I didn’t trip over something. It’s sad.

    • Lauren says:

      You get used to stepping around the rocks and roots the more you hike. I was like that when I started trail-running, looking down at the ground the whole time. And there was a lot of falling. The key is to get back up and keep going! (Isn’t that motivational?!) πŸ™‚

  2. Sarah says:

    Good luck with teaching BP tomorrow! I’m sure you’ll do great!

    I love hiking. I’ve hiked pretty much every trail in the Shenandoah. It feels so peaceful (especially if there aren’t many people on the trail) to spend so much time outdoors away from civilization.

    Honestly, it depends on the day. Some days oatmeal leaves me super full for hours and some days I’m hungry in an hour…weird, huh.

  3. I have to say Oatmeal is always my breakfast of choice. I always add liquid eggs to it for extra staying power. I eat it all year long, it never gets old.

    I love your backyard.

    • Lauren says:

      I’m with you! I add egg whites too- I love the eggy, custardy flavor (and of course, the extra protein). You’re right- it never gets old. After 10 years of eating it every morning (just about) I still look forward to it for breakfast!

      We love our backyard too- it’s actually pretty small (less than 1/3 of an acre) but it’s the perfect size for us. And it doesn’t take too long to mow. πŸ™‚

  4. InspiredRD says:

    I just found your blog and look forward to checking out some of your recipes. Jackson is such a cutie! Is he a golden? We have a golden named Hobbs, and we love taking him on hikes. The pancakes look delicious!

    • Lauren says:

      Hi! Thanks for stopping by! Jackson is a Golden- so is our other dog, Lance (who also appears all over the blog). They are actually littermates, but look completely different.
      I checked out your blog and your recipes and photography are beautiful! I love the oatmeal pancake recipe especially- it looks so delicious! I look forward to reading through more. πŸ™‚

  5. Lee says:

    One of the only breakfast foods that seems to fill me up is eggs. Anything else and I’m hungry again in an hour. I do like pancakes though.

  6. Michelle says:

    I love hiking! Alaskans brag that hiking trails are in their backyard (which they are), but I’m glad to know they aren’t the only ones!

  7. Melanie says:

    What a great way to spend a morning!!! I am enjoying your blog so much and look forward to reading it daily!! I also love (sorta) body pump and spin class! I just ordered a Vitamix so please keep sharing your Vitamix creations!!! Happy New Year!

  8. […] recently came across Lauren’s recipe for coconut buckwheat pancakes and knew immediately that I needed to try them myself.  Of course, I can’t stick to a recipe […]


I love hearing your feedback! Feel free to leave a comment. :)

