The last few days

It’s the last day of 2011! Hard to believe, but it’s true. The biggest event of the year for me was that I got married- that pretty much sucked up most of my free time up until July, and then my honeymoon rounded out the rest of summer. It was a good year, but I’m looking forward to 2012 being a little more relaxing.

I’ve been off work all week, and I wish I could share some really cool things I’ve done, but the truth is- I haven’t done a whole lot. And that feels pretty good.

I’ve made a lot of stuff in my Vitamix, including several drinks, salad dressing, frozen desserts and this hummus:

It has chickpeas, black sesame seeds, roasted pepper, lemon juice, cumin and olive oil. And it tastes delicious!

Yesterday morning I taught my very first solo Bodypump class (as in not team teaching and I got paid). I have a few nerves going into it, but the moment that the music started, I was fine. There were several familiar faces, which was definitely nice. I felt like I did a really good job- my cues and choreography were pretty spot-on. I just have to keep on teaching and practicing and know that certain things are just going to improve with experience, like making the transitions seamless and giving instruction for the next track while everyone is switching out their weights. I was proud of myself though and got a lot of good feedback. Several people came up to me after and remarked that they couldn’t believe it was my first class. That’s nice to hear!

I’ve still yet to film the video because of logistics and the craziness of the holidays, but it’s got to be done soon. It just seems hard to coordinate to make it happen- but I have to finish it in January and finally get my certification. What a lengthy process this has been!

**

This morning, Greg and I took the boys on a long hike on the Appalachian Trail. There’s a great trail head about 20 min from our house that we frequent, and had to take advantage of the mild weather we are having. It’s been in the 50s today, and will continue through tomorrow, but then is supposed to be FREEZING next week. I’m going to be outside as much as possible for the next two days!

We extended our usual route a bit and found these gigantic rocks to climb up on. So, we took pictures of each other sitting and standing on them.

Jackson got really excited when I was taking a picture of Greg and somehow climbed right up the rock to get to him. Poor Lance tried, but couldn’t make it.

Jackson is our little spider-monkey.

Poor Lance. No climbing skills whatsoever.

The only issue with Jackson being up on the rock, was that he couldn’t figure out how to get down.

Greg had to carry him.

It was a great morning hike. πŸ™‚

**

I ended up canceling my party for tonight and am going out to dinner with Will and Sara instead at a restaurant in Virginia that none of us have been to, but seems like it will be great. I have to say- I was looking forward to having a few friends over, but I’m just as happy keeping it low-key and just going out. And honestly, I don’t care about staying up until midnight. I have to teach spin class at 8:30 in the morning, and will be surprised if I’m up past 10:30 tonight- and I am completely fine with that. I’ve never not stayed up until midnight on New Year’s eve, but for the past few years, I’ve fought to last until midnight, and then promptly passed out about 10 minutes later.

When I wake up tomorrow, it will still be New Year’s day.

And… it’s also Greg’s birthday. πŸ˜‰

Do you have any fun New Year’s plans? Do you stay up until midnight?

 

4 Comments on “The last few days”

  1. Lee says:

    Haha, that picture of Jackson in Greg’s arms is pretty funny. Big dogs have the best expressions when they’re being carried.

  2. Sarah says:

    Sometimes you just need to rest! And doing nothing feels great!

    Congrats on your first BP class:)

    I think NYE is kinda overrated. This year I’m feeling sick so I’m going to nap on my parent’s couch. Have a good night tonight!

  3. Stephanie says:

    I wish I had a food processor or (on my wish list) a vitamix to make homemade hummus. Lately we’ve been getting the original flavor from Wegman’s and its soooo good!! Happy New Year πŸ™‚


I love hearing your feedback! Feel free to leave a comment. :)

