Grapefruit and Food logging

Happy Thursday!

Sometime shortly before Christmas, I bought a huge grapefruit from Whole Foods. I really never eat grapefruit- but I love grapefruit-flavored things. And this might sound weird, but I have never in my life peeled and eaten a grapefruit like an orange. I grew up eating grapefruit that was sliced in half and using a ‘grapefruit spoon’ to dig out the little sections.

I brought this grapefruit with me to work yesterday because I figured I could peel it and snack on a few sections when I was hungry. And since it was huge, it would probably last me more than a day.

I tore off a section and tasted it…

and wasn’t that impressed. To me, it just tasted sour. I remember loving grapefruit as a child- maybe I put sugar on it? I don’t know.

I generally love citrus fruits, and am determined to love grapefruit, too. Does anyone have/know of any good recipes that use grapefruit? Or are there different varieties of grapefruit that are sweeter than others?

At least I had my 10 am coffee to tide me over…

Half coffee/half almond milk, made in my mini French press that I keep at work. I look forward to this every day.

**

I’ve been reading about several bloggers posting their daily eats this week- I guess it’s from all of the New Year’s resolution motivation. Some have been photographing every single thing they eat, and others just log it. Since I’ve been doing WW, I’ve been logging nearly everything that I eat- but I definitely don’t write down every single food that goes in my mouth. Usually, if I have some kind of mindless snack (like a few nuts or a small handful of cereal) I’ll just subtract point or two from my daily intake. The thing is- I’m probably eating more than I think I am. I’ve only ever been successful in weight loss when I was completely mindful of what I ate and only ate structured/planned snacks. I have a bad habit of snacking while I look for a snack. 🙂

When I got home from the gym yesterday, I was starving. I didn’t have a snack planned out and was too hungry to focus on what to eat, so I just kind of mindlessly grazed. Everything that I snacked on was “healthy”- a few nuts, a small handful of bran cereal, blueberries, a bit of leftover squash… but it was mindless. And even though it’s healthy, it’s still additional calories that add up. And I still ate my “real” snack of a protein muffin after that.

I’ve been thinking about doing the photo log thing. I know that doing that would hold me much more accountable… but it would require a lot of effort. And most of that effort is because I am picky about photos and think that I would have to lug around my SLR everywhere. But really- why would the quality of my photos really matter? Isn’t the point just to have a record of what I ate? I think that if I really saw all of the foods that I consume that I don’t really ‘count’ I would realize how much they add up. And knowing that I would have to photograph them would probably make me less inclined to mindlessly eat in general.

I know that I eat a very healthy diet full of whole-grains, vegetables and fruits and lean proteins. I was looking into the “Simply Filling” option that WW offers, and about 95% of the foods that I eat are on the list- so I don’t think I’d really benefit switching from tracking points. It is possible to have (way) too much of a good thing.

What do you think? Have you ever photographed your daily eats? And if so, did you find that it took a lot of time/effort to do? And more importantly, did it help you stay on track with eating?

18 Comments on “Grapefruit and Food logging”

  1. Grapefruit broiled in the oven with a little bit of sugar is delicious! I also love sipping on water with grapefruit essential oil in it–SO good.

    For the food thing -it is all about trying not to eat mindlessly too much–so do what works for YOU to achieve that 🙂

  2. Now I want a grapefruit. Those are soooo good, but I haven’t had one in a long time. I guess I just forget about them. As for food photos, I take a few for the blog, but I don’t “log” them regularly. I do use a calorie-counter app though, and that helps a lot.

  3. Maren says:

    I love grapefruit flavored things but I can’t eat a grapefruit to save my life. My Mom likes them with salt sprinkled on top and it really isn’t that bad. It’s the best way to eat them in my book. Sugar is alright too but for some reason the salt cuts the sour for me. Good luck with that grapefruit.

  4. I love grapefruit and eat it like an orange! I’ve also had it broiled with cinnamon on top, that’s a good “dessert.”

    Have you ever photographed your daily eats? Every day 🙂

    And if so, did you find that it took a lot of time/effort to do? Nope, I’m not aiming for perfection, just documentation.

    And more importantly, did it help you stay on track with eating? More than anything else I have ever done!!!

  5. Sarah says:

    I have never peeled a grapefruit ever. I like grapefruit but I’m lazy and don’t think it’s worth the effort.

    I don’t photograph my daily eats. After years of counting points and calories and being obsessive with food and what I was eating, I’m exhausted. I find that when I obsess and track everything, I find myself bingeing just from food frustration. I’m slowly beginning to believe that intuitive eating is a viable option for me. You just have to be willing to trust your body and shut off your mind. Now don’t get me wrong, I still have a mental calorie count but it’s not as obsessive. I just don’t want you to become overobsessed with food and losing weight!!

    • Lauren says:

      Ha- too late Sarah! I’ve been “obsessed” for years. But I’m more successful when I’m accountable + obsessed. When I don’t pay attention and stop caring I pack on the pounds. That’s just the way it is for me.

  6. Tiffany says:

    The thing that keeps me on track is logging it online like on Livestrong or Spark People. I do better if I see the numbers in front of me of how many carbs, cals, fat grams, etc, I’m taking it and it keeps me accountable.

    I’ve never peeled grapefruit either but am happy I’ve never done it if it’s nice like the half a grapefruit!

    • Lauren says:

      I log everything into WW and use the “points” system. But I can easily lie to myself about what I eat just by writing it down. Taking a photo (and posting it on my blog) is a whole other story.

  7. Corrie Anne says:

    Mini french press at your desk? That sounds awesome. I actually had a grapefruit today too. I think I had a better experience though!! I usually eat them the other way (cut in half). I’ve tried taking pictures of everything I eat — it does cut down on random snacks. Just really tedious to keep up with!

  8. Jenny says:

    I have never liked grapefruit or grapefruit flavored things. It tastes so strange to me, like it shouldn’t even be an edible option. I don’t think I’ll ever get over it.

    And if the quality of “daily eats” pictures effected my posts, I’d never post them! I just snap a pic with my phone quick before I eat and send them on to my email. It makes the whole process a breeze. If I remember to take a pic, that is. 🙂 So far, so good!

  9. Will says:

    Lauren, just eat the pulp, not the “casing.” Its a little more work, but way more delicious and way less bitter. Grapefruit rocks.

  10. […] Yesterday I mentioned that I was toying with the idea of photographing everything that I eat, but wasn’t sure if I was up for it, because it just seems like so much work. But, I also know that it will help me really think about what and why I am eating. And obviously, when you take a picture of everything, it holds you accountable. There is no lying to yourself about what you eat- the proof is in the pictures. I have a way of making myself believe that certain calories don’t “count”- particularly when it’s a bite of this, or a sip of that- all unstructured, unplanned, mindless eating. […]


I love hearing your feedback! Feel free to leave a comment. :)

