The proof is in the pictures

It’s Friday! Yay!

Yesterday I mentioned that I was toying with the idea of photographing everything that I eat, but wasn’t sure if I was up for it, because it just seems like so much work. But, I also know that it will help me really think about what and why I am eating. And obviously, when you take a picture of everything, it holds you accountable. There is no lying to yourself about what you eat- the proof is in the pictures. I have a way of making myself believe that certain calories don’t “count”- particularly when it’s a bite of this, or a sip of that- all unstructured, unplanned, mindless eating.

When I got home from work, I thought I would give the picture-taking thing a try. Since I didn’t take any pictures of my food for breakfast and lunch, I’ll give you a breakdown of how my day went:

5:45- alarm goes off

7:00- arrive at work- at a bowl of oatmeal (1/4 c. oat-fashioned oats, 1/4 c oat bran, 1/2 banana, 1/4 c egg whites, cinnamon, stevia, 1/2 T chopped walnuts) topped with about 1/2 T of sunflower butter

10:00- coffee with almond milk

11:45- lunch: leftover freekeh-turkey loaf; salad with mixed greens, roasted veggies, feta and balsamic vinegar; small apple; 1/3 of a Clif Z bar that was leftover from the day before

2:30- 1 hour of yoga in my classroom (Bob Harper “Yoga for the Warrior” dvd)

And that brings us up to speed. I got home a little before 4 pm. Normally when I get home, I am so hungry that I head straight for the pantry and grab a handful of whatever while thinking about what I am going to make for a snack. I resisted the urge this time, since I knew I would be photographing it. I decided to make a pumpkin smoothie. While I made the smoothie, I did snack on a few blueberries and maybe like, 5 almonds.

In this bowl of smoothie: 1/4 container of Mori-Nu Lite Firm Silken Tofu, 1/4 c peanut flour, 1/2 c pumpkin puree, 2 frozen mango chunks, stevia, cinnamon, unsweetened almond milk, ice; topped with blueberries, a few chopped up nuts and a small handful of cereal (puffed kamut and TJ’s high fiber twigs)

Greg had put together dinner in the crockpot this morning, and we were both hungry by 6:00. I asked him to throw together the ingredients for a lentil stew that I had seen on Tiffany’s blog yesterday. I didn’t want a whole bunch of leftovers (we still had some!), so I cut the recipe in half. I also modified a few things: I didn’t have any canned tomatoes, so 3 fresh diced tomatoes were subbed. I also threw in chopped onion and a whole bunch of fresh kale in place of frozen spinach. And for the sausage, we used 1 link of chicken Italian sausage from Whole Foods meat counter.

We ate dinner at our kitchen table, instead of the dining room. I broke the rule of  “no tv during dinner” because we both really wanted to see Wednesday night’s episode of Top Chef.

I had a small bowl of this (which was very hearty and spicy!) topped with some “Mozzarella” Rice Shreds and a teeny little roll leftover from my bread-baking day. To drink, I had a glass of Celestial Seasonings Cherry Berry brewed tea. I love that stuff!

Insert spoon in mouth.

Oh yeah- had a few sips of Greg’s beer too.

(Note that another short-term goal is to grow my nails again. They were so long and beautiful this summer- winter kills them.)

We also had foot-warmers during dinner.

I probably would have eaten a little bit more for dinner, but knew that I would be hungry again later, since we ate earlier than usual.

After dinner I made my lunch and breakfast (which was actually something other than oatmeal) for the next day, and then finally sat down to relax for a bit.

Around 7:30, we were both hungry again, so I made some our typical “dessert” of air-popped popcorn. Both of us have a severe popcorn addiction, but I guess there are FAR worse things we could be addicted to, right? I buy kernels in bulk from my co-op and pop them in my awesome Orville Reddenbacher air-popper.

The dogs get all excited when they hear the air popper because a few wild kernels tend to fly out.

Check out that bad boy in action!

I drizzled a little melted butter (a little less than a tablespoon- a little goes a long way) and sprinkled sea salt on the popcorn when it was done popping.

Along with popcorn, I had a cup of tea. I am a loyal Celestial Seasonings tea drinker- ever since I first visited them in Boulder and learned what they were all about- I’m proud to support this company! And I love this flavor. I’ve been hoarding boxes of it since it’s seasonal.

And for a little something sweet, had my Adora calcium (which is just an excuse to eat dark chocolate) and the last little bite of macaroon that I had.

I don’t know if you’ve ever seen these macaroons before, but they are fabulous. They are a little pricey and only three come in a package, so I tried to make them last. Each macaroon is 60 calories, and I think I had about 1/3 of one left. But man, that was probably the single best bite of my day.

I didn’t photograph this (tsk, tsk) but I also had another small piece of dark chocolate and 2 Go Raw super cookies (which are 10 calories a piece- big deal). But since, I’m being accountable, I had to put that out there.

We sat and watched some television for a while and enjoyed being lazy for a bit. Usually the dogs pass out in the living room during this time, but they both escaped upstairs. When we decided to call it a night and head up to the bedroom, this is what I saw:

Lance was in his bed (see him?) and Jackson was in ours. Typical.

I got into bed around 9:30 feeling a bit full. Although I love my popcorn, when I eat it at night, I always go to bed feeling a little too full. Maybe I should learn a lesson from this…

It wasn’t that hard to photograph what I ate, and it certainly did keep me from the amount of mindless snacking that I normally do. All in all, I ate 30 WW points plus for the day. I am allowed 26, which I changed to 28 because 26 is not enough for someone at my activity level. Since I earn back anywhere from 4-14 activity points depending on the day, I almost always eat between 30-35. I don’t use any of the ‘extra’ points that WW gives, but use a fair amount of my activity points. I’m not exactly sure what the right formula is for me- still trying to figure that out.

I’ve photographed all my food so far today and will continue to until my last bite. I’m also teaching Bodypump tonight and am curious as to how packed the gym will be, since it’s the first Friday after New Year’s!

I will post a full-day’s recap tomorrow of how today’s food documentation went. And if I’m still into the idea, I’ll keep it up. 🙂

What was the best bite of your day? How do you hold yourself accountable?

15 Comments on “The proof is in the pictures”

  1. I think it’s so awesome that you do yoga in your classroom. I could never log everything I ate but it’s a very good tactic to keep yourself accountable.

    Popcorn is something I never crave until I smell it. Then I think it’s the best thing on the planet.

    • Lauren says:

      It is impossible to smell popcorn and not want it. Even at the movies- and I am actually NOT a fan of greasy movie theater popcorn! I’ve been known to bring my own!

  2. Sarah says:

    I’m slightly obsessed with popcorn. I used to starve myself all day just have a bowl of popcorn in the evening. I’m trying to limit my popcorn to one night/week to lessen my “emotional” dependance on it.

    Do you find it easy to record everything that you eat? I know that I used to religiously write everything down but now I don’t have the energy.

    I wish I could do yoga during my work day!

    • Lauren says:

      It’s very easy to record everything I eat, because I use the e-tools from WW. I have the app on my phone and my ipad too, so that makes it super easy. I can’t “write it down” but for some reason, typing it on my phone is so much easier. And i can always remember what I ate, in case I didn’t have time to track it then. Plus, I eat pretty much the same thing for breakfast and lunch during the week, so I just have them saved as favorites.

      I don’t do yoga during work- i do it right after. I like to do it in my classroom rather than when I get home, because it’s so quiet and there are no distractions. If I wait until I get home, I’m more tempted to skip out on it and just play with the puppies, and doing yoga is ALWAYS worth it.

  3. Jenny says:

    I usually (and by this I mean at least every other night) resist getting seconds at dinner because I know I want to eat a fat bowl of popcorn later! We have a stove top cooker thing that uses a drizzle of oil, so I just pop, salt, and eat. I, too, struggle with the too much popcorn, full before bed syndrome.

  4. melanie says:

    Ahhh!! Do your puppies often sleep with you guys in your bed? My parents have a golden retriever who is a real snuggler but they don’t allow her in the bedrooms. I think a warm golden in bed would be a real treat!ha! Mind you she would totally hog the whole bed!!

    • Lauren says:

      Yes.. both of them. We have a big bed, but they are both bed hogs. They are like little space heaters, which is good because I am always cold!

  5. Are you drinking the Celestial Seasonings tea cold? I’m trying to get into tea!

    • Lauren says:

      Yes! I brew 4 tea bags and let it steep for a few hours, then put it in a pitcher and fill it up with water. The black cherry berry is SO good (and so are many other varieties.) It goes FAST in our house.

  6. Lee says:

    I have the same popcorn popper. I like to put hot sauce on my popcorn. In fact, I might have some now.

    I’ve been tracking my calories online but am sure that I forget things. However, I just don’t have the patience to take a picture of everything that I eat. When I first started the blog, I wanted to (hence the name) but then I realized that it wasn’t going to happen.

    • Lauren says:

      Hot sauce?! Aghhh! I vowed that I won’t eat popcorn tonight, but now I want to try that! Guess I’ll have to hold out for the weekend.
      We’ll see how long the photo thing lasts… I’m hoping that it will just make me more intuitive and aware in general, and after a while I won’t need the camera.

  7. Oh I LOVE popcorn!! SO tasyt–and filling (in a good way) 🙂 I don’t like greasy or buttery popcorn though (I had a BAD experience as a child and threw up all over a theater-yuck). So go you for making good choices!

    I think it’s great that you’re being accountable–this is a HUGE step toward meeting any goal 🙂 How’re you liking bodyPUMP teaching???!

  8. Celestial Seasonings sugar cookie tea! I just got done drinking some, it’s amazing! I also love their nutcracker sweet holiday tea!

  9. Tiffany says:

    The stew looks like it turned out well, way to use what you have on hand!

    I am addicted to popcorn and really need to invest in an air popper-do you just throw the kernels in and then it does all the work? I’m clueless as to how it works.

    PS-What kind of beer was hubs drinking? I love the color.


I love hearing your feedback! Feel free to leave a comment. :)

