Friday’s bites

Here it is: My first full day of “daily bites.” This is how my Friday went:

5:45a: Wake-up

7:00a: Arrive at work, unload food onto desk. This is everything that I packed for breakfast and lunch today:

Packing food is seriously a huge pain in the ass, but it’s worth it to have a yummy breakfast and lunch each day.

For breakfast, I actually broke out of my oatmeal mold and tried out a “bake.” Really, it was just a double version of my standard protein muffin. I was inspired to try it for breakfast after seeing a similar bake on The Edible Perspective. This bake included 1/4 c. flour (2 T oat flour, 1 T coconut flour, 1 T buckwheat flour), a few frozen (defrosted) strawberries mashed up, a little mashed banana, 1/4 liquid egg whites, a little pumpkin puree, almond milk, stevia, cinnamon and baking powder. I baked it in the oven in a Pyrex dish at 375 for 30 minutes.

I topped it with 1/3 c 0% plain Greek yogurt mixed with 1 T peanut flour, 1/2 banana (sliced), blueberries, and a drizzle of sunflower butter. (all together 6 WW Points)

This tasted good and actually did fill me up. I was a little skeptical. I have a huge appetite in the morning, and nothing seems to stick like oatmeal.

A little before 10 am, I got my French Press ready to go.

I wanted a little bite of grapefruit so I ate two sections of “pulp” (thanks, Will!) along with my coffee (w/almond milk)

By lunch time I was definitely hungry again, and had basically the same exact thing as yesterday, minus the bite of Clif bar.

Leftover freekeh+turkey loaf, salad with roasted vegetables (adding roasted vegetables makes all the difference in the world!) and a small apple. I didn’t eat the clementine- I had it about an hour later. I was also into my 3rd bottle of water for the day- yeah!

I got home around 3:30 and it the weather was amazing- 63หš and sunny! If this is January, I’ll take it! I went out to the backyard and played fetch with the boys for a bit. (Greg caught the actions)

and we tried to take a picture of the two of us- but it was very bright out.

Since I had to teach Bodypump in the evening, I made myself a pre-workout-fuel snack of Ezekiel bread, peanut flour “butter” (peanut flour + almond milk) and sliced banana+a little drizzle of honey. I washed it down with some unsweetened almond milk.

and also had two frozen mango chunks. ๐Ÿ™‚

I got to the gym around 5:30 and did 25 minutes on the elliptical before teaching 60 minutes of Bodypump. Class was awesome- and packed!- but the gym was dead otherwise. I was very surprised by this, given that it’s the week after New Years! Maybe it was the nice weather…

I feel like I get a much more intense workout when I teach Spinning or Bodypump classes as opposed to when I take them- I guess it’s all the shouting and adrenaline. Needless to say, by the time I got home, I was beyond hungry. Luckily Greg had dinner ready!

Trader Joes Whole-Wheat Naan bread (what we use when we’re too lazy to make pizza dough) topped with crushed tomatoes, a gazillion vegetables, 1/3 c Rice Shreds, a little turkey and basil. Roasted kale on the side.

I also had a little glass of beer + water (of course). Good beer can come in the form of a can- 21st Amendment beer rocks! (Screw light beer- if I’m going to have beer- it’s going to be good.)

Dinner was scarfed down in a matter of moments. ๐Ÿ™‚

A little later, I was hungry again and made some “dessert” smoothies. I used this awesome Vega chocolate protein powder for mine:

This stuff is SO good, literally the best chocolate protein powder I’ve ever had! Up until now, I had only used a theย  Vanilla Almondilla flavor in my overnight oats when I was in New York.

I mixed it with ice, almond milk, some frozen banana and a splash of homemade Kahlua.

and also added a few Dairy-free (Almond Dream brand) chocolate chips and cereal for crunch.

Man, this was good. I could have this for dessert every night (or breakfast every morning…)

I also had an Adora calcium supplement, which didn’t get photographed.

It was a day of good bites- and no mindless snacking! I don’t think I’m going to post every single bite each day- it’s going to get boring. But at least shooting a photo of my bites with my Droid phone might actually help me stay away from the mindless munching… we’ll see. ๐Ÿ™‚ Oh- and the points total was 31 (and 10 activity points- at least… I never know how to calculate Bodypump)

What’s your favorite “healthy” dessert? Do you eat “healthy” pizza?

14 Comments on “Friday’s bites”

  1. Lee says:

    I really like that Trader Joe’s naan bread. I use it for pizza a lot too. And yeah, I guess my pizza is healthy. I normally try to put a lot of veggies on it to bulk it up because let’s face it, those naans aren’t the biggest thing!

    • Lauren says:

      I know, Lee- I use those Flat Out wraps a lot, which are paper thin, but you can pile on a gigantic mountain of toppings. And they are only 2 points, so I make up for that by using real mozzarella. Or by eating popcorn. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. I am definitely in an oatmeal rut. I agree that is is the only thing that really fills me up. Maybe I should try a bake. And roasted veggies on salads takes it to a whole new level.

    • Lauren says:

      I love oatmeal, and never get tired of it- but just want to try some different things. I’ll be showing whatever that is throughout the week- hopefully I don’t pack anything that leaves me too hungry, because I’ll be forced to wait until lunch to eat again anyway!

  3. Y’all are too cute! You’ve seen my dessert smoothies this week and I’m loving them!!

  4. Maren says:

    All your eats look so good! You’re one healthy Chica. I love the protein bake thingy.

  5. Stephanie says:

    I got some vega packets from the common market one day. I wish they were cheaper because it’s so good for you and tastes great, but honestly is way too expensive…sort of like kombucha ๐Ÿ˜‰
    Have a wonderful weekend!!

    • Lauren says:

      I bit the bullet and bought a container of one from Vitamin Shoppe (I had my rewards certificate, which helped!) and other from Whole Foods, because it was on sale. It’s really so worth the money…

  6. lgsmash says:

    YUM! IPAs are my favorite! i love the hops.

    i try to bring my breakfast and lunch to work too – it’s definitely a process to pack/unpack everything but it saves money and calories!

    • Lauren says:

      I JUST started loving IPAs last summer. I wasn’t crazy about them before- I don’t know what was wrong with me! I can’t wait to go back out to Colorado with my new-found love for them!

  7. Paige says:

    Wow! OK, so what do you put all that Tupperware in to take with you to work?
    And I agree – packing food is a pain, but totally worth it ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Lauren says:

      Those containers are full of LOTS of healthy food. Whenever I complain about packing, I think about how happy it makes me to open up a delicious lunch at work.

  8. CUTE pic of you guys!!

    In BodyPUMP (I wear the BodyBUGG usually so I know) I burn about 350-ish when I take it, and about 400-450-ish when I teach. Hope that helps!

    • Lauren says:

      Oh- awesome- thanks for sharing!! I figured it was quite a bit more when teaching!
      I estimate that I burn a lot more calories when I teach spin, although I feel much more worn out after teaching bodypump!


I love hearing your feedback! Feel free to leave a comment. :)

