(Not) my typical Monday

Yesterday was not a typical Monday, as you may have guessed from the title of my post. 🙂

I started the day teaching spin class at 5:15 am, which was rough! I teach at the same time on Tuesdays- but there’s something about Monday morning that makes it a lot tougher to wake up at the God-awful hour of 4:30. My energy was kind of low, and there weren’t a lot of people in the class, but I got through it.

The reason that I taught Monday instead of Tuesday was so that I could stay out a later (yeah- 9:00 is late for me!) Monday night, and the regular Monday instructor was kind enough to swap classes with me.

The rest of the workday was typical, and here were my bites throughout the day…

Overnight oats with blueberry, sunflower butter and partial protein muffin

The last bit of that gigantic grapefruit (pulp only!) while waiting for my French Press to brew

Coffee….

Lunch was a salad with roasted veggies, a 6 oz container of Skyr, a rice roll (love these!), and apple, the rest of my protein muffin and leftover Kombucha.

After-school snack: Smoothie with Vega Vanilla Chai Optimizer, spinach, a medly of frozen fruit, and a bit of cereal on top

…and some trail mix

My typical Monday evening consists of getting my gym stuff ready for the next morning (packing my bag, making a playlist for spin class, etc.), packing breakfast and lunch for the next day, making dinner, and getting in bed early to watch the Bachelor. But on this particular Monday, Greg and I had a meeting for Beer Club!

For Greg’s birthday, I bought him a membership to the Beer Club at Frederick Wine House. The beer & wine shop is owned by our friend Gary and recently hired a fantastic beer guy. Oh yeah, and his name is also Guy. Guy the beer guy.

Anyway- the beer club meets once a month to do beer tastings and talk about beer from a featured brewery, chosen by Guy. Three of my good friends’ husbands also got memberships to the Club, so it’s kind of a cool guys’ night out thing. But, for this first meeting, members were allowed to bring a guest, so I went along! And to make it even more fun, Sara went along with her husband Will, who is also a member of the Club. (My other two “wife” friends could not go- one was home with her kid and the other had a meeting at work.)

Sara and Will met up with me and Greg beforehand to grab dinner at Chipotle, which is in the same shopping center. Sara and I got (almost) identical salads:

I had carnitas (again) and she had chicken. Chipotle never disappoints. I’ll tell ya what though- I wish I had brought a bite of chocolate along with me, because I really crave a bite of something sweet after dinner! Beer would have to suffice.

When we got to Beer Club, we got a tasting notes sheet and some glasses. Well, Greg got a glass, I got a shot-glass size plastic cup. Glasses were for special people.

We tasted beers from Allagash brewery, which is in Portland, Maine.

Guy, the beer guy:

Guy is awesome! Very knowledgeable. Go ahead- ask him anything. He even put together a lovely cheese plate (cheeses that he thought complimented the beer well!)

I had a piece of starfruit and this awesome cracker- it was like a cross between a cracker and a cookie or graham cracker… anyone know what this is? It was amazing and I want to buy some asap!

We took tasting notes (at first)…

Club members’ glass:

We lost the focus to take many tasting notes, but it was a lot of fun!

Most of the beers were quite potent (but delicious) and luckily the tastings were very small (at least mine were). I probably had a total of 1 cup of beer, but it was definitely enough to feel the effects a bit!

When we got home a little after 9, I had my bite of chocolate, and then we watched the Bachelor on DVR. I just couldn’t wait a day to watch it, what can I say? So, I’m super tired today from staying up later than usual (even though I didn’t teach spin class this morning and got to sleep in until the late hour of 5:45am!) but it was all worth it. I can sleep tonight.

WW Points used: 33

Activity Points earned: 9

Do you know what that cracker is?….. Are you a beer drinker?

16 Comments on “(Not) my typical Monday”

  1. Lee says:

    The cracker could be a Carr’s Whole Wheat cracker. They taste sort of like cookies. I like wheat beers a lot and then some lighter lagers. I’m not into dark beers at all. I mostly prefer wine in general though.

    • Lauren says:

      I will definitely try to find those the next time I’m out. They were amazing!
      This is funny- we actually have complete opposite taste in beer. I like darker beers (stouts especially) and IPAs… I can only have a few sips of a wheat beer before I’m over it.
      I prefer beer over wine- only by a VERY teeny tiny margin.

  2. I has Allagash last night with dinner. It was great! What a fun Monday! Miss you!

    • Lauren says:

      Great minds think alike! Greg would be very impressed with you. 🙂
      Miss you too- let’s figure out a weekend for you guys to come up… we’ll be away this coming weekend, but are free after that! Maybe football and food on Sunday the 22nd? There’s a game at 3:00…

  3. I enjoy a beer here and there. And by here and there, I mean EVERYWHERE ALL THE TIME! Looks like it was a fun tasting! I’ve been wanting to go a tasting where it’s guided as opposed to simply searching for aromas and flavors on your own.

  4. Mmmm… beeeeer 😉 Looks like fun. Well, the 4:30 a.m. part didn’t sound like fun, but you know what I mean.

  5. The beer part is right up my alley. The 4:30am part is not. Good for you!!!

  6. That cracker looks like what we call here in England a digestive biscuit. One of the UK’s greatest inventions!!

  7. Maren says:

    How fun, I love brewery’s and trying a bunch of tasty beers. I’ve always been to scared to make a smoothie in a bowl but I want to…. oh dilemmas.

  8. Yum Yucky says:

    aha! I’m loving those time-stamped foodie photos. But you need to be sharing that 7am treat next time.

  9. I can never buy those Carr’s cracker (cookies) again! They are so addicting!!

  10. Girl, you get up SO early!! Props to you!

  11. That is an early morning! I’m switching shifts which means I’ll have to be at work at 5am but it’s a desk job not teaching spin…stupid government for not building enough desks…

    Looks like you guys have a delicious dinner and tasting event 🙂 I’ve never been to a beer tasting event before. Sounds like such a good present for a hubby or boyfriend!

  12. I want that to be MY Monday night every week. Love beer…but only if its really good beer like that. Looks so fun!


I love hearing your feedback! Feel free to leave a comment. :)

