The bottomless pit

Wow… anyone else having a slooooooow week? It’s that time of year that it’s really easy to fall into the winter blues, but I am determined to beat it this year! I am purposefully planning out fun things to do on the weekends (to look forward to) so that the weeks fly by… but this week seems especially long.

Ever have days where you feel like your stomach is a bottomless pit? I do! I feel like my appetite has been much bigger than usual over the last few days. I can blame that on so much exercise and activity during the weekend and Monday, but yesterday it was just as bad (if not worse!). And yesterday was my rest day! That’s right- I did absolutely no exercise- not even yoga. My muscles (especially my quads) really needed that day off. Despite doing no exercise and not teaching my normal Tuesday morning spin class, I was as hungry as ever!

It may also be due to my monthly reminder that I’m a woman– my body seems to always be completely out of whack during those few days.

Anyway- here are the daily eats. I’m predicting that this might become like the movie Groundhog Day very soon- but I actually switched up a few things today.

For example, I did not have oatmeal for breakfast. I am trying to branch out a bit more with my breakfasts during the week to see what else will keep me full (there will be a full post on this in the very near future!). Yesterday I had Skyr (which is like 0% Greek Yogurt but better) mixed with 1 T of peanut flour and topped with a cup of mixed cereal and granola, 1/2 of a banana, a few berries and a bit of sunflower seed butter.

I ended up pouring a little almond milk over the top too- and this tasted fantastic!! It definitely left me full. More full than oatmeal usually does. However, that fullness didn’t last nearly as long!

The usual…

By lunchtime, I was ready to gnaw my arm off. Actually, by 10:30 I was ready to! I had a Flat-Out wrap with Twin Oaks tofu and some of the veggies from my roasted veggie/mixed greens salad. And a fuji apple, of course.

I was catching up on Tiffany’s blog (amongst others) while eating lunch. Love her!

I had a meeting after school and got home a little later than usual- hungry of course! I pulled out the amazing Vitamix and mixed up a smoothie using 1/2 scoop of Vega Vanilla Chai optimizer, 1/4 c Silken tofu, spinach, 1/2 banana, blueberries, frozen mango, ice, water and a tiny bit of guar gum to make it thicker. And topped it with a mix of cereal, Annie’s pretzel bunnies and 1 T of mixed nuts.

It is SO much more satisfying for me to eat a smoothie with a spoon, and from a bowl. If I drink it from a glass, it’s gone in less than a minute. This takes me at least 5 minutes to eat. πŸ˜‰

I ended up having another tiny little snack a bit later- a Pop-cake (like a rice cracker) with a little Goat cheese and tapenade smeared on the top. The combination of those two spreads is out of this world…

I had a few bites before I could photograph it. I couldn’t hold back.

Dinner was …. lazy. It was a bit last minute because Greg was not sure if he’d be home for it or not. Normally, if it’s just me, I make breakfast for dinner. He ended up making it home at a reasonable hour, so we quickly threw together some flat-bread pizzas. We will be in Florida on Friday, our usual pizza night, so I figured it was okay to do this on a Tuesday. πŸ™‚

I used a Flat-out wrap, topped with marinara, a million veggies, some Almond-milk cheese, and a few slices of Twin Oaks tofu. And a mountain of baked kale accompanied the pizza.

As I’ve said before- I put mustard on pizza. I’ve done it since I was a kid. Try it- it’s good. I promise!

Dinner was good, but I was still hungry after. Ugh. I had 2 “points” left and was planning on using them to have a bite of dark chocolate and a glass of almond milk. But then Greg suggested popcorn…

So I made a small batch of popcorn, along with some tea and a little bit of dark chocolate.

I hate eating anything that late, because I hate going to bed full. But, my stomach was growling and popcorn hit the spot. It pushed me over my daily points, but whatever. I try to use 5-10 extra points on work-out days, but stay on 28 for rest days.

All in all, I had used 31 points (WW set my points at 26, which I re-set to 28) and earned zero activity points (which was actually a good thing).

I definitely have not been eating enough during the day and want to focus on having a bigger lunch and smaller dinner. Breakfast is in the bag- I can easily eat a lot then… but I find myself packing lunches that are only 4-6 points, and then compensating for that after I get home (and can actually take the time to make something good to eat that I didn’t have to pack the night before). It’s a work in progress…

Do you ever feel like your stomach is a bottomless pit? Are you less hungry on “rest” days than on days that you work out?

15 Comments on “The bottomless pit”

  1. Gil says:

    Egg white omelets for breakfast keep me full for sooo long, and I think I have more energy when I start the day carb-lite. But I just DO NOT have the patience to cook them in the morning, and am usually in the mood for something slightly sweet (and grainy). My tummy wants it, but the rest of me just cant get on board very often.

    • Gil says:

      Oh, also, my WW meeting leader always said you are only supposed to use daily points on “real” food (ie not beer/wine or non-nutrient rich sweets) and to always use those allowance points for those…that way your body is getting the right amount of sustenance, and then you have some extras for the chocolate…Maybe that would help the hunger??

      • Lauren says:

        That is a really good point, Gil… I’ll have to take a look at my diet and factor that in! I usually only use 2-3 points for “bad” foods, but that could make a difference. πŸ™‚

  2. First off, your meals look freakin’ amazing!!

    Second, I totally have days when I’m a bottomless pit. It’s usually the few days after I finish my period.

    Lastly, you should go to Fitbloggin http://fitbloggin.com/

  3. Oh yes of course I have those days. I amaze myself at how much I can eat sometimes. But then the next morning I try and get back to eating like a normal person. All your food looks delicious as usual! I love your dishes too.

  4. Lee says:

    I’m really bad at having a bigger lunch and smaller dinner. I’m always either really hungry by dinner time, or I’ve just conditioned myself to think I am.

    • Lauren says:

      Sometimes when I try to eat a bigger lunch, I’m just as hungry, and still eat a big dinner. And then I’ve just consumed way more calories than I need. I have to wonder if when you eat REALLY matters- there are so many conflicting opinions about it. I just know that if I go to bed with a full stomach, I don’t sleep well, and lack of sleep is supposed to make you fat!

  5. Maren says:

    I’m always a bottomless pit around my womanly time too! It’s ridiculous. At least all your eats look fabulous. I want all of them right now.

  6. I pretty much always eat a lot every day πŸ™‚ But yes, on rest days (SUN for me), I tend to eat more. I think my body is catching up with my activity levels–like AHHH time to eat πŸ™‚ Of course, it is usually craving lots of veg and more fruit and such–but I tend to eat more sugary foods on those days too. It’s all about balance.

    I agree though–eating more at lunch helps me SO much. I hardly just mindless snack any more in the evening. I have 1 snack after dinner and that’s it (just posted about this all today, actually. Haha!)

    • Lauren says:

      You and I are lucky that we actually crave GOOD foods. I don’t know what I would do if I craved bad stuff- I guess years of healthy eating has luckily trained my body to know what it needs! Like, I would never in a million years crave fast-food. Barf. I’d much rather spend those calories on some great bread or dark chocolate!

  7. Tiffany says:

    Hey a shout out–thanks girl πŸ™‚

    That tapenade from TJ’s sounds awesome, I miss having a TJ’s right around the corner (along with Chick Fil A but thats a different story for another time!)

    Bottomless pit days suck maybe having more protein throughout the day would help keep you full? it works for me sometimes and other times not so much but it’s worth a shot right? I tend to be hungrier on rest days than when I work out….like today. I had butternut squash ravioli a little while ago….then some chocolate…..and coconut cream pudding….I can’t stop!!

    PS-Florida? FUN! Please send a tan my way-thanks πŸ™‚

    • Lauren says:

      Oooh your eats sound great! Can I have some of each? Coconut cream pudding? Yum!!
      I can’t believe that there’s not a TJs in Colorado! Looks like someone might need a little care package sent her way. πŸ™‚

  8. Corrie Anne says:

    I swear to you… i am ALWAYS hungry. Lol. Okay. Not always. But two hours after I eat, I’m always hungry again. I totally love those flat out wraps too!

  9. Alyse says:

    I always eat smoothies with a spoon, too! It tricks me into thinking I’m eating dessert πŸ˜‰

    I also feel like bottomless pit around that time of the month. I try to embrace it and just let myself do what my body needsβ€”because in the grand scheme of things, that chocolate or extra slice of pizza is not that big of a deal.


I love hearing your feedback! Feel free to leave a comment. :)

