Strange flavor combination = the BEST breakfast (for dinner)

One thing that you might notice about this particular daily bites re-cap is that I ate a lot of “breakfast” foods throughout the day. That’s because I love breakfast foods, and prefer “sweeter” in the morning and “savory” in the evening. Yesterday had the perfect balance of both, including a new-to-me breakfast recipe that might be my favorite thing ever.

But I’ll get to that later.

After not being full for long enough from breakfast on Tuesday, I went back to old faithful- a warm bowl of oats, topped with banana, berries and sunflower seed butter.

And I was full until lunchtime. Hurrah!

Groundhog day 10 am coffee:

For lunch, I repeated the awesome goat cheese/tapenade combination from Tuesday, and spread it on an Ezekiel sprouted-grain wrap, along with greens and and roasted veggies. Whenever I make a wrap, I just take half of what’s in my salad and place it in the wrap, and eat the rest of the salad from the bowl. And, I had an orange. Way to switch things up!

After school, I had an apple to give me a little bit of fuel for my afternoon workout.

Here’s a fun fact: The stickers on produce are actually edible. I know this because my massage therapist’s father invented them! That being said, I still peel them off. But if you accidentally eat one, it won’t harm you!

For my afternoon workout, I rode my spin bike for 30+ minutes, followed by a very intense Bodypump session with the Instructor DVD, so that I could make sure that I have nailed all of my coaching and cues. I have my filming tomorrow!

After the workout, I was craving some protein, so I made some super protein-y muffins using two flavors of Vega Health Optimizer.

The greenish one is Vanilla Chai, and the brown is Chocolate. They might not look appetizing, but they tasted great (so great that I even made some for breakfast today!). I topped them off with a little Greek yogurt, nut butter and jam, which did not get photographed because I was starving. Sorry for the horrible lighting and shadows- as I said, I was too hungry to care about perfection.

I also had a bite of trail mix…

And now, the meal you’ve been waiting for: the BEST breakfast for dinner…

Greg had to work late, so I was on my own for dinner. This almost always means that I make breakfast for myself. I had read about an intriguing flavor combination posted a few days ago by Sara, who is also documenting her daily bites. Her breakfast sounded weird (which she said) but also awesome – and I had to try it. Since it wasn’t something I could make for breakfast until the weekend, I decided to try it for dinner!

For my version of this “strange” combination, I cut a Rudi’s Harvest Seeded English muffin in half and topped each half with 1/2 T peanut butter, a few slices of apple, a piece of nitrate-free ham and 1/2 oz sharp cheddar cheese and placed it into the toaster oven. I switched it to broil for the last minute to get the cheese nice and melted and bubbly. I ate this along with an egg on top of a lovely bed of baked kale, salsa on the side.

I can not even explain how delicious this was. I ate it with a knife and fork and savored every bite. You MUST MAKE THIS asap. Think about it: Apple+pb=good; Cheddar+apple=good; Ham+cheddar=good… why not put them all together? 🙂

When Greg got home, I showed him the photos and raved about it, and even sent a photo text to Sara and thanked her for introducing it to me. Yes, I am a food geek to a ridiculous degree, but luckily, so is Sara (and her hubby is to!). I’m still trying to get Greg on board.

Even though I was 99% full from dinner, I had a couple of Super Cookies and an Adora. Perfect ending to my meal.

As I cleaned up from dinner, I noticed that it was strangely quiet in the house. The dogs are usually right at my feet when I’m in the kitchen. Then I spotted them in the living room:

Ignore our curtains. The living room is a work-in-progress….

That was my Wednesday.

Total WW Points used: 32. Activity Points earned: 13

**

I was woken up by Jackson at 5 am today (Greg had already left for the gym) and decided to just stay up and do Power Yoga with Bob. I wasn’t happy to miss out on that extra 45 min of sleep, but yoga was a great way to start the day! We’ll see how I feel about it in a few hours.

What’s the strangest flavor combination that you love? Do you get “geeked up” about food?

11 Comments on “Strange flavor combination = the BEST breakfast (for dinner)”

  1. Looks great Lauren!! Question: How do you prepare your kale?

    • Lauren says:

      I’m repeating myself from your blog, but I roast it for about 5-8 min at 400˚. I spray a little TJs canola oil spray and add some seasoning first (usually just garlic + salt). It is AWESOME.

  2. I love weird/interesting flavor combinations. Except PB and cheese sounds kinda weird to me. But I’ll try most anything once.

    And salsa’s the best 🙂

  3. Gil says:

    I just ate breakfast, but now I want this! My favorite brunch at my favorite NYC brunch spot (“Egg”) is a biscuit with country ham, fig relish, cheddar and grits….I could eat that thing every morning. Egg also owns its own farm, and all the scrawny hispter waitstaff have to spend 5 days a month working on it, which kind of amuses me (but also makes them super knowledgeable about the food!).

  4. Maren says:

    I love breakfast for dinner! It’s the best. Waffles for dinner are my favorite. I love all your bowls by the way.

  5. Sara R. says:

    Glad you enjoyed it so much! And I like how you proved that it was tasty with mathematical logic 🙂

  6. Yummy, love me some ‘brinner’! Have fun on the instructor filming! They are releasing Bodypump 80 down here at 24 Hour Fitness this wknd! I will have to check it out 🙂

  7. Corrie Anne says:

    I geek like crazy about food. If we’re at a restaurant, and we’re enjoying the food – I’ll say something about it like 20x times in a row. And start saying “mmm” a lot. It’s very exciting! Your dogs are too beautiful. I’m going to have to ask for a daily picture of them. What are their names? This is very important info!


I love hearing your feedback! Feel free to leave a comment. :)

