One big crazy Friday: Part 1 (+ super protein muffin bowl for the win!)

Today is not typical. At all. Maybe because it’s Friday the 13th????……

I’m not going to post yesterday’s bites, but I will share a few things. I stopped by Wegmans after work yesterday to pick up a few things for Florida, and noticed that this was on sale for $2 (for a 4-pack):

Although I am not a soda fan (except for Diet Virgil’s), I just had to try this. And I figured that I could take my sip and Greg would finish the rest. But, the 4-packs were always $5.99, and I am NOT paying that much for a sip of soda. The verdict? It was good. Nothing special.

I’d much rather have this:

I’ve been hoarding the last two pumpkin beers that we had- last night was a good time to break one out.

**

I want to take a minute to reflect on my breakfasts from the week. I’ve switched it up a bit to find other things (besides oatmeal) that will keep me full until lunchtime (which is almost 5 hours after I eat breakfast). It’s not that I ever get tired of oatmeal, but sometimes change is good! My breakfast yesterday was a winner- it tasted great and kept me full until lunch. And even by lunchtime, I was hungry at a “comfortable” level. I made two larger versions of the Vega “super protein” muffins previously made for a snack the day before. As I said before, I had never used protein powder in a bake or muffin before, and was a little skeptical. The protein in my muffins is usually just from egg whites and the nut butter that I spread on top!

Vega Super-Protein muffins (makes 2 large muffins)

2 heaping T Vega Health Optimizer (I divided the recipe and used Vanilla Chai and Chocolate)

2 heaping T other flour (I used oat and coconut)

1/2 tsp baking powder

dash of salt

2 T canned pumpkin

1/4 c liquid egg whites (could sub for one flax egg to make Vegan)

2-3 T unsweetened almond milk

Optional add-ins: fruit, chopped nuts, chocolate chips, etc.

Mix all ingredients together in a bowl. Batter should be somewhat thick, but able to easily pour (think pancake batter). Divide ingredients into two small bowls or ramekins. Microwave each on high for 3 1/2- 4 minutes, or until fully baked. Do not overcook.

 

I cut up both muffins into bite size pieces, but them in a bowl and topped it off with 1/2 c Greek yogurt, banana, berries and a tiny bit of sunflower butter (all I had left!)

Each bite looked like this:

Heavenly. Seriously- I enjoyed this so much. Looks like oatmeal has some competition!

Other breakfasts of the week included Overnight Oats on Monday:

Very filling- and able to sustain me through lunchtime.

Tuesday was Greek yogurt + cereal + fruit + nut butter

Delicious and filling at first, but I was hungry again 2 hours later, and ready to gnaw off my own arm by lunchtime.

Wednesday was old faithful warm oatmeal:

Always a winner, always filling.

Everything kind of looks similar, doesn’t it?

I bring my breakfast in storage containers and assemble it when I get to work- and pretty much always use the same bowl. And yes- I wash it. 🙂

Today I made a small smoothie w/ 1 T Vega Health optimizer, a handful of spinach, a few frozen fruit cubes, ice + water to get me through the first part of the morning. It’s dark and cold at 6:30 am…

I only came into work for a few hours this morning because I have my BODYPUMP ASSESSMENT FILMING today!! I’m going to eat something a little more substantial when I get home- something with carbs and fat for fuel! The filming is at noon, and I can not wait to get it over with. I’ve been busting my butt for 3 months to be ready for this, and it will be a huge weight off my shoulders (and hopefully I will “pass” and be completely certified!)

I started getting a sore throat last night (probably because I mentioned the other day that I never get sick- maybe once every 2 or 3 years!) and literally did not sleep a wink last night. Seriously- I laid in bed for 8 hours trying to fall asleep. I think it was a combination of the sore throat and excitement for today’s filming AND the fact that we are flying out to Florida tonight. I’m a total zombie today, but hope that I can pull it together and teach an amazing class at noon- I just have to dig really deep!

I’ll let you know what happens in part 2….

 

 

6 Comments on “One big crazy Friday: Part 1 (+ super protein muffin bowl for the win!)”

  1. Lee says:

    Good luck with the filming.

    I’m going to have to try those muffins. I have a different type of protein powder, but I’m assuming it’s all the same.

  2. Gil says:

    Good luck!!!

  3. The muffins with all the toppings looks great, I may have to buy some protein powder and duplicate your bowl. I actually do love the bowl itself too.

    I am a sucker for different food products as well. Especially if they’re on sale. One I’ve just found and loved are cocoa pita chips. They are not too sweet, very cocoa-y and go great with yogurt. They satisfy your urge for a crunchy cookie.

  4. EEEEKKKK! Good luck!!!! I’m sure you will pass with flying colors 🙂

  5. GOOD luck!!!!! Sending happy vibes YOUR way 🙂 It is over fast–and you’ll totally pass 🙂

    Those muffins look awesome! I too could hardly sleep last night….b/c of tomorrow’s BIG day with the new class and NEW release. Ahhhhhh

  6. Tiffany says:

    Filming? Look at you baller–hope it went well!! I love your muffin creation, it looks so hearty and flavorful. And pumpkin beer is the jam, I’ve never met one I didn’t like but I didn’t even know that had that. I think I could get on board with that since I’m equal opportunity when it comes to pumpkin. Hope FL is treating you well!


I love hearing your feedback! Feel free to leave a comment. :)

