Happy things and a survey

Even though I’m still sick, two things managed to brighten up my morning.

#1:

We got our plane tickets for Colorado in May! Greg and I usually don’t book travel this far in advance, but tickets were going for $129 one-way. Crazy! I’ll be attending the Blend retreat while we are out there, amongst other things like hiking, visiting family, and drinking a lot of craft beer. So excited!!

2. My mother-in-law emailed me a photo of her breakfast this morning:

Oat bran with berries! I’m so proud!

**

Because I’m not feeling creative or motivated in the least, and also because I like to talk about myself, I’m posting a little survey stole from Lee, who stole it from Janetha.

1) What is one of your favorite ways to spend a Saturday?

Sleep in until at least 7:00, do some yoga, eat breakfast while reading blogs, hit the farmer’s market, go for a hike with the dogs and husband, make a fabulous dinner at home with my sous-chef (Greg) and watch a movie. That’s my perfect (and wild and crazy!) Saturday!

2) List your top three favorite TV shows.

My three favorite shows of all time, in this order are: Six Feet Under (just like Lee!), My So-Called Life and Felicity

(Freaks and Geeks and The Wonder Years would be next!)

Of the shows that are currently on tv: Parenthood, Modern Family, 30 Rock (I didn’t list any trashy reality shows! ;))

3) Would you rather be in pictures or take them?

I love to take pictures, obviously. I don’t mind being in them- but have to approve them first. ๐Ÿ™‚

4) Why do you blog?

I love to share my ideas with others- if I find something that I love, I feel the need to spread the word! I have always been a fan of keeping a journal- whether it’s a hand-written diary or a LiveJournal like I did in college. It’s fun to look back at where you were at a certain time in your life!

5) Share five websites that you visit regularly

WordPress.com

Facebook

GMail

Washingtonpost.com

Amazon.com

6) If you could have lunch with one person from your Twitter list who would it be?

I don’t “tweet” but if I could have lunch with a celebrity, I’d probably choose Bob Harper. LOVE HIM.

7) List a few of your favorite snacks.

Smoothie made with Vega Health Optimizer, Greek Yogurt + Fruit, Cereal, Protein muffins, Any fruit

8 ) Do you have a pet? If so, what kind?

I have two fur children named Jackson and Lance that I LOVE TO DEATH and spoil rotten. They are 2-year old Golden Retrievers that are from the same litter! I’ve had them since they were 8 weeks old. ๐Ÿ™‚

9) Which three material possessions would you struggle to live without?

iPod

My Subaru wagon

Camelbak Groove water bottle

10) Whatโ€™s your favorite drink?

Beer. Good beer. CRAFT beer.

11) Do you enjoy cooking?

I love cooking! I just wish I had more time for it.

12) Do you have children?

Not yet. Maybe in the near-ish future… I’m so spring chicken.

13) What are your favorite hobbies?

hiking, playing with my dogs, blogging (and reading blogs), working out, hanging with my husband, browsing through Whole Foods and similar stores

14) Would you consider yourself to be shy or outgoing?

Very outgoing. I teach high school as my full-time job and teach group exercise as a part-time job. That kind of breaks you out of your shell. ๐Ÿ™‚

15) If you could change one thing about yourself, what would you change?

I wouldn’t be so hard on myself and always strive for perfection (which is impossible).

16) Who is your favorite actor/actress?

I love Paul Rudd. I don’t know if I’d say he’s my favorite actor of all-time, but he is certainly my favorite “current” actor. I guess I’d go with Tina Fey as “current” actress?

17) Whatโ€™s the coolest thing youโ€™ve done this week?

In the last two days? Came home to my two loving pups after being away from them all weekend. ๐Ÿ™‚

18) Do you live near your family or far from them?

Very close. I’m about 30 minutes away from either of my parents. I’ve never lived outside of Maryland (which will hopefully soon change).

19) List three of your talents.

I am a great public speaker. I rarely get nervous- I think a lot of this is due to years of being a teacher.

I’m pretty good at making healthy versions of high-calorie recipes (and making them taste good!)

I’m pretty crafty and whip up some great DIY projects

20) What is your greatest attribute?

I don’t know… maybe my ability to teach others? Or maybe my organizational skills? This is a hard one.

 

I want to hear from you: Pick one (or more!) question on this survey and answer it!

21 Comments on “Happy things and a survey”

  1. “15) If you could change one thing about yourself, what would you change?

    I wouldnโ€™t be so hard on myself and always strive for perfection (which is impossible).”

    That would be my exact answer as well! Seriously being a perfectionist pretty much sets you up for disappointment. We can both work on it.

    Have fun in Denver!! I’d love to move out of the DC area too but unfortunately my job market for my skill set is pretty limited to DC…

  2. FUN survey!!

    Hope you feel better ๐Ÿ™‚

    Fav actress (s) : Reese Witherspoon!! Julia Roberts, Claire Danes, and Jennifer Aniston

    Hobbies: skiing, swimming, dancing, running, anything with my husband, laughing, reading

  3. Corrie Anne says:

    Oh I love happy things. I had to read this one right away. Ok. The puppies. So happy. They are so beautiful. I can’t get over it. I’ve been an out of control dog person ever since moving to Denver. Everyone here has a dog! Seriously, everyone!! My favorite way to spend a Saturday would be sleeeeeping in, going to Starbucks, going for a long run, going to a salon, and then eating fro yo. Haha. That was so predictable. And tanning!! I’m freezing my butt off over here!

  4. Lee says:

    I can’t believe I forgot Gmail on my top website question. I definitely look at that the most.

  5. 17) Whatโ€™s the coolest thing youโ€™ve done this week?

    I rarely do “cool” things, so I’m so excited to have an answer…..
    Go to Green Bay for the Giants/Packers play off game. Truly an amazing experience from start to finish. Go Big Blue!

    I love surveys…as a chronic procrastinator they’re my best friend ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Lauren says:

      That is AWESOME! I bet that game was insane! Congrats on your team’s win- it’s a good feeling, isn’t it? (I’m a Ravens fan!) Maybe we’ll face off in the Superbowl!

  6. Jackson & Lance are precious! That photo made my day ๐Ÿ™‚

    Absolutely love cooking!

  7. Ashley says:

    I would love that bowl of oats in your header riiiight now! And those puppies…ahhh! ๐Ÿ™‚ Sounds like we have a lot in common!

  8. Loved getting to know you better, great Q & A. I blog because I have a horrible memory and I want to capture my life, thoughts and our family. I didn’t expect this great blogging community to be so friendly and it has definitely been a wonderful surprise to have the support and communication. I adore your dogs.

  9. Amanda says:

    We have the same taste in current TV. I’d say Modern Family takes the top spot for me right now, but 30 Rock is a close second. I’ve also been getting into Parks & Rec. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Your fur children are so, so adorable! What a great picture.

  10. Jenny says:

    Why do you blog?
    Because it holds me accountable. And because I love writing. And talking about myself, obs. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  11. 2) List your top three favorite TV shows.
    -People’s Court (What? Don’t judge)
    -Modern Family
    -Hoarders

  12. Tiffany says:

    More puppy pictures of them—yes! I seriously cannot get enough of them.

    I’ve heard what a great show Freaks and Geeks was but have yet to see it. I’m gonna see if my library has it on hand because they have so many shows, it’s worth a shot to see!

    And hooray for the Blend retreat-can’t wait to meet you ๐Ÿ™‚

  13. Liz says:

    So excited you are coming to CO! I am not sure about the blend retreat, to be honest I don’t know anything about it. But we should try to meet up either way.

    • Lauren says:

      Check out their website, Liz- you should go!
      But either way- we should definitely meet up! I’ll also be out there for a week in July. I can pick your brain about how to get out there permanently!

  14. wowzas!!! I bought my ticket to the retreat as well. Not 100% sure I’m going but I got it JIC!! My so called life was my fave show as well!! Too bad I haven’t watched it since it came out…I still dream of Jordan


I love hearing your feedback! Feel free to leave a comment. :)

