Feeling human again

Yesterday was not a fun day at work. I was feeling the teeniest-tiniest bit better, but didn’t have much of a voice. As a teacher, not having a voice is not a good thing! How am I supposed to yell at all of those wild kids?! πŸ™‚ Luckily though, I didn’t feel worse. I think I was mainly tired from being up so late coughing.

Even though I wrote the date out at least a dozen times yesterday, I didn’t realize that it was my 6-month wedding anniversary!

My husband actually reminded me of it, and came home with flowers!

Go, Greg!

I think I’ve shown a few of these bottles before on this blog, but here was last night’s:

My friends put together a basket full of little wine bottles to open each month for the first year of our marriage. Each bottle has a special little message for us that was written out by various family and friends. πŸ™‚

It wasn’t snowing, it actually got up to near 60˚! (It was 80˚ on our wedding day.)

I had let some chickpeas soak the night before and figured that I would seek out something to do with them during the day. Luckily, I came across this recipe from Ashley’s blog first thing in the morning! (It must be fate!) I had to try it out for myself. I made ten little “sliders” and cottage cheese with eggs, along with some kale (shocking, I know).

I topped the burgers off with the Greek yogurt recipe on the same page and some chopped up Granny Smith apple (which was what was left from the recipe).

A little Siracha made it’s way onto my eggs…

This was a winner! I had leftover chickpea burgers for lunch today and still have some left for tomorrow!

**

When I woke up today, I finally felt human again! I could breath! I could speak! I could yell!

I’m still not back to 100%- maybe more like 75. But that is way better than where I’ve been for the last few days. My first instinct is to get right back into my normal routine, but I had to have a talk with myself to “ease into it.” The new launch for BodyPump 80 was today, and I really, really wanted to be there for it. When I got home from work, I still felt okay, but thought it would be wise to stay away from something as intense as BodyPump for the next few days.

However, I did feel good enough for this:

Thank goodness for my spin bike.

45 minutes later:

It felt SO GOOD to sweat- and have it not be from having a fever!

I had set up the makings for Kath’s Dough Boy Smoothie in my fridge before I left for work in the morning, so that it would be ready for me in the afternoon.

I topped it with a little peanut flour “butter” and some protein muffin. It was a good snack- definitely not big enough for a meal, but it got the job done.

**

I’m hoping that I wake up feeling even better tomorrow and that I’m back to myself by the weekend. I also hope that I didn’t push it too much by exercising today (I had only planned for 30 minutes, but felt good enough to keep going for 45). I took a whopping 4 days off from working out- which is the longest hiatus I’ve had in years… since the last time I was sick I guess. It’s all worth it if it makes me better!

Do you exercise when you’re sick? Do you ever take an extended break (rest period) from working out “just because?”

18 Comments on “Feeling human again”

  1. Lee says:

    Happy Anniversary! Surprisingly, we do not have the same anniversary at all. Mine is in June of 2010.

  2. Gil says:

    Glad you are getting back to normal! That oatmeal smoothie thing sounds pretty tasty…I set myself an alarm so I remember to put it together tonight for the morning πŸ™‚
    I really love hot sauces and I definitely love me some Sriracha! When I found out its birthplace is only a few hours from Bangkok, I HAD to go there…and ate what holds the #1 spot in the Best Meals of My Life category. Mmmm

  3. Sara R. says:

    I took a week off when I was sick earlier this month and started back before I felt 100%…it didn’t seem to set me back so I think you’ll be fine with working out. I can’t wait to do release 80 tomorrow, even if it is harder than 79! And also, I made the chickpea burgers and cottage cheese eggs for dinner tonight! I ended up packing them up and then throwing them all over my car though so your pictures are much much better πŸ™‚

  4. Corrie Anne says:

    That wine gift is such a good idea!!! It’s the gift that keeps on giving. And what a gorgeous wedding picture!! That’s so fun that you have a spin bike. I haven’t been sick in quite a while. I had like a pre-cold last month, but it went away!! Yay!! I usually push through unless I’m puking, of course!

  5. Congrats on the wedding anniversary! I love your wedding pic! And seriously, your dinner looks delicious.

    I hope feel 100% soon πŸ™‚

  6. Happy 6 months!! SO exciting πŸ™‚

    It feels good to sweat, no matter what–BUT if I have flu like symptoms I stay in bed. And stay put and SLEEP. So mostly yes I do something–(usually I am teaching) but if I have the flu I sub out and stay IN.

    Glad your’e getting better!!!

  7. Hi Laren, just found you blog via your comment on Beth’s site. Love the site, love your photos (especially the puppy shots on yesterday’s post, and look forward to reading your older posts. Glad to read already that you are on the mend. All the best..

  8. Happy Anniversary!! Neal and I keep saying “this time next year we’ll have been married for 6 months”. Crazy!

    I’m glad you’re feeling better— I tend to workout when I’m sick. I feel like I sweat the yuck out.

  9. Happy Anniversary! Love that wedding photo & the wine bottles idea, that is really cool! Feel better soon!!


I love hearing your feedback! Feel free to leave a comment. :)

