Toot toot, Beep beep

Hey- look what happened overnight…

A whole inch of snow (and ice) here!

**

So, I have to toot my own horn a little bit here. I have been rocking the house this week with my mindful eating! When I got on the scale this morning, I was down a little over 2 lbs. Whhaaaaattttt?!?!?

Happy Dance!

I think it was a weekend of feeling horribly sick and eating too much (and not being able to exercise because of being sick) that finally kicked things into gear. I haven’t felt this good about my progress in a really long time! Sure, I’ve had a day here or there in the past few months where I can honestly say that I feel good about all of my food choices (and the amount that I ate), but in this case, I’ve had a whole week of feeling this way.

One thing that has really helped me stay on track is documenting every single thing I eat with my camera phone. Even when I was posting my daily bites, I wasn’t photographing every single thing I ate or drank. A few things slipped through the cracks. I decided that instead of taking photos with my SLR and posting them on my blog, I would just quickly shoot a photo with my phone right before I eat whatever I eat. I haven’t even really gone back and looked through the photos and will just delete them off my phone, and no one will see them but me.

Why does this work for me? I have no idea. But, it does, and that’s what’s important.

One of my biggest “triumphs” was staying away from all of the free samples at MOM’s (one of our local organic grocers). I went shopping there after work on Tuesday, and for some reason, they had 10x the amount of samples that they usually do (and everything is good- high quality chocolate, snack-y stuff, cheese, bread, etc.). I was very tempted to grab a little bite of each sample, but then thought “no, you don’t need that.” And I was just fine. I know it might sound silly, but overcoming little temptations like that (which would have ended up being a few hundred mindless calories) is a big deal for me!

One major thing that I have noticed from a week free from “grabbing a handful of this or that” from the pantry is just how much food I have in my house. Seriously, am I a food hoarder or what? I have enough food in here to last for months- yet I still go to the grocery store several times a week! To be fair, the majority of the items that I buy from the store are perishable and get stored in the fridge. But still.. is it really necessary to have 10 types of grains and 10 varieties of legumes in your pantry at one time??

I’m planning to do a major pantry inventory today. I want to make a list of all of the items that exist in my pantry and then come up with another list of recipes that I can create from them. Has anyone done this?

Sorry for such a short post- I will be following up in depth about my pantry overhaul later on. 🙂

7 Comments on “Toot toot, Beep beep”

  1. Lee says:

    I struggle with little temptations too, whether it’s free samples from a store or just something from my house. While I have no trouble turning down, say a donut, a little bite of something is totally different and then I have another little bite, and then another…

  2. Corrie Anne says:

    The phone idea makes sense. So much easier, but still kinda holding yourself accountable. Love the backyard pic. Is that your backyard? it’s awesome!

  3. Sara R. says:

    Great job on the weight loss Lauren! I know you’ve been waiting for a loss like that. And I couldn’t agree more with the rest of your post. Taking pictures of everything I eat has helped me immensely, I find it super-tough to avoid all the samples at M.O.M. (it helps that I usually bring 2 snack monsters with me though, I feel bad enough taking 2 samples of everything, let alone 3!), and I have also realized how much food I have now that I’m not eating way too much of everything! I need to clear out my pantry too, doing an inventory is a great idea!

  4. Tiffany says:

    AWESOME job on the loss, that’s always such a nice surprise to see! I want to weigh myself but it’s a certain time right now so yeah, thats all I need to say. The free samples kill me at the supermarket. When I lived in Charlotte, I would go to Harris Teeter on the wknd and joke that I could get a free meal just off of their samples alone. And now I just remembered I’m going to Sams Club in an hour or two, I need to stay strong!

  5. […] Toot toot, Beep beep […]

  6. Gil says:

    Awesome!! Keep it going!


I love hearing your feedback! Feel free to leave a comment. :)

